We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Inn

Main Road, Hursley SO21 2JY, England
+44 1962 775209
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“chips salad” (2 reviews)
“lasagna” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Road, Hursley SO21 2JY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 154 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2017

Stopped here on the way to Winchester, Atmosphere,atmosphere,atmosphere. GREAT. This Inn has the lot beams and all.

1  Thank Dave B
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We were thrilled to read you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you to The Dolphin again soon

Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile

We regularly visit the Dolphin and we haven't been disappointed yet. It isn't fancy food, but it's decent pub grub and good for children too. They also have a nice garden too.

1  Thank Groom727
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We were thrilled to read you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you to The Dolphin again soon

Reviewed July 21, 2017 via mobile

We went here after a recommendation and we were not disappointed. Lively bar atmosphere was enhanced by friendly attentive staff. A nice choice of beers and coders was followed by delicious main course meal and very tasty desserts. We enjoyed it that much the next...More

3  Thank MrScales
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We were thrilled to read you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you to The Dolphin again soon

Reviewed July 10, 2017

Today for lunch another family gathering, I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. Ordered the special deal two Rumps chips salad and bottle of wine for £20!!! Gone were the frozen peas and gone were the hard dry frozen chips, replaced by edible frozen...More

3  Thank Peter S
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We were thrilled to read you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you to The Dolphin again soon

Reviewed June 23, 2017

We popped in for a light bite and a drink but the food took 30 minutes to arrive. We only ordered cheese sandwiches so it should have been an easy item to obtain as we were in a hurry. When the sandwiched arrived the presentation...More

4  Thank RobertKent73
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Mr Kent, Thank you for taking the time to review our family run business. I was very disappointed to read you had not enjoyed your visit. Our production in the kitchen is not based on simplicity, with tickets being produced in the order in...More

Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

With a friend we lunch here about once a month. Really glad Doombar back on tap, always a great pint here. Very friendly staff and good lunchtime food.

1  Thank Mark L
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our family run business. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you to The Dolphin again in the near future.

Reviewed June 14, 2017

We have been here on a number of previous occasions and been happy however this time the service was very slow and the food was below pub food standards with the Naan bread being too hard to eat which we comment on to no response....More

Thank Bob A
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Bob. Thank you for taking the time to review our family run business and please accept my sincere apologies that on this occasion you did not enjoy your experience. If you would mind taking the time to email us at thedolphinhursley@mail.com with the date...More

Reviewed June 5, 2017

Tried the Monday night special, two steaks and all the trimmings and a bottle of red or white for £20. nothing cheapskate about it, steak, chips mushrooms salad with coleslaw, two eggs, although my wife had onion rings instead of eggs. absolutely lovely meal. I...More

Thank Roger S
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our family run business. We were delighted to read your comments and have passed your kind review onto our team members. We look forward to welcoming you to The Dolphin again in the near future

Reviewed June 4, 2017

The setting is pleasant enough - clean and fresh. Otherwise, the evening was a disappointing. The service was poor, and after we were served our food we were ignored. We gave up on dessert or coffee. One of our servers was new - but the...More

Thank Pam307cc
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Pam. Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. I was disappointed to read your review and of course we would love the opportunity to show you that this is not the usual standard of service. If you could take the...More

Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

This place is really lovely. 5 ladies on a quiet Hen do. The place was just what we wanted. The rooms were good, bathrooms could be updated though, and the windows in the room didn't open, so no fire escape, but more concerning was that...More

Thank shoegal73
KSheridanTheDolphin, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our family run business. We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. We have passed your safety concerns on to our safety management representatives for review. We look forward to welcoming you to The Dolphin again...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Hursley Hotels
Travelodge Southampton Eastleigh
313 reviews
1.50 miles away
Travelodge Eastleigh Central
277 reviews
2.49 miles away
Premier Inn Southampton (Eastleigh) Hotel
641 reviews
2.50 miles away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
784 reviews
2.52 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Otter Public House
216 reviews
.54 miles away
The Old Forge
663 reviews
.20 miles away
The White Horse
375 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Otter
42 reviews
.54 miles away
Hensting Alpacas
171 reviews
.58 miles away
Chandler's Ford Library
13 reviews
1.69 miles away
Twyford Waterworks
24 reviews
1.73 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Margaret K
September 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from peterjp57 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. You need to contact the Dolphin pub.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Hursley SO21 2JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hursley
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 775209
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;