We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George at Backwell

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Soups
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
125 Farleigh Road, Backwell BS48 3PG, England
+44 1275 462770
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thu - Sat 10:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 423: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old atmospheric pub, very welcoming. Was there with family and friends - had a marvellous Christmas lunch. The food was beautifully turned out and tasted wonderful with lots of nice little touches - very good for a pub. Our starters were fresh and tasty, the meat and fish dishes were perfectly cooked - and the puds (which we shared)... More 

Helpful?
Thank penniesun
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Very many thanks for recommending The George and for letting us know you enjoyed your festive meal. We hope to see you again soon. More 

s glos
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here on way to dropping people at Bristol airport . What a find ! As you walk in it is clean beautiful decor a roaring fire and well presented friendly staff . The bar area is good with high bar tables to have a drink before your meal which we like the tables and chairs curtains etc are lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank walkerpayne
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your first visit to The George. We hope to see you back soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited The George at Backwell recently with my family and 2 other families - 13 of us in total. An early evening visit after a day out in Bristol. We booked ahead, giving details of our party, 6 adults and 7 children.We were seated in comfort in the conservatory area of the pub where we could all relax, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review and for giving us detailed feedback. We regularly review our menu and pricing so thank you for your constructive comments. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited The George to take away the post Christmas blues. Sat by a lovely warm fire and had some great tasty food. The menu is really diverse and there were some options that were way beyond what you would expect of a gastropub. Also a big range of specials which is always a good sign. The service was great, everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank oliviabuchan
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your festive visit to The George. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on bank holiday Monday. To be fair the restaurant and pub were very busy. There were six of us and we were sat on a lovely round table in a corner. As soon as we sat down we were asked to order our food so asked the waiter to give us a couple of minutes and that was... More 

Helpful?
Thank JMP234
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for all your feedback. Clearly, we did manage to look afer you well enough and will be reviewing why you did not experience our normally high levels of service when you visited. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for a party of 6 at 2pm, food eventually arrived at 3.30pm and was almost All inedible. Nobody ate the food. Limited communication from inexperienced floor staff, only 1 person in the kitchen.... manager apologised and said she wouldn't charge us which I guesssed saved us saying weren't paying.

Helpful?
Thank Colin J
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

We are very sorry we weren't able to look after your properly. Thank you for alerting us. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely evening of birthday celebrations , the food was great as was the service. We had Dani an excellent waitress serving our table. Great night thank you all very much :-)

Helpful?
Thank mjeCardiff
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to publish a review. Our team will be really pleased your special evening was a success. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Plenty of choice on the menu and we were all very pleased with our choices as our starters and mains were delicious. Fantastic service from everyone, in particular Liz who was helpful, personable and very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank m0use16
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

What lovely feedback. We are all really pleased to know you enjoyed very good service and food during your visit. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for 1.30pm for Sunday lunch. Ordered drinks and were asked to find a seat in the bar as it wasn't ready. No probs with that, there were some empty tables and a couple of waitress's waiting by the till as it wasn't that busy.1.30 came and went , one of the young waitresses came over and asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

I am so sorry our lack of communication meant you were not looked after. We are passionate about offering a high level of service and we will make sure we alert our team so your experience is not repeated. Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your previous visit to The George. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The new chef, Charlie, at The George has already made his mark with tasty, well-presented and imaginative dishes which were served in good time by a young staff who are clearly enjoying having inspiration at the helm. And he's only been there for two weeks! Such a contrast to the dull, poorly tasting fare of the previous incumbent. Well done... More 

Helpful?
Thank JoannaBristol
Samantha R, Owner at The George at Backwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The George at Backwell also viewed

 
Flax Bourton, Somerset
Backwell, Somerset
 

Been to The George at Backwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Soups
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
10:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 125 Farleigh Road, Backwell BS48 3PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Backwell
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 462770
Description
Delicious food, freshly prepared and very good value. Excellent selection of cask ales and wines. Private dining and functions catered for. Now also enjoy Bed & Breakfast thanks to 7 lovely en-suite bedrooms. Full details and online booking available on The George's website.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The George at Backwell and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Tintern, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The George at Backwell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?