We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 10/27
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$20 - $39
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Thai, Bangladeshi
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
206
58
27
17
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
206
58
27
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry poppadoms chicken onion bhaji best indian indian food extensive menu side dishes many years friday night warm welcome be visiting again bedar takeaway reputation miles booking
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 4, 2020

After so many months of lockdown my husband and I with our daughter ventured to the Madhuban for a dinner treat . Oh my ... sooooo good - staff spot on with professional PPE... food exceptional.... restaurant was welcoming and amazing ... felt very safe...... thank you to Bedar and his amazing team (gotta mention Fleur!) . Fabulous well done guys. 🙏🏽More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Bedarmiah, General Manager at Madhuban, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

Thank you for your kind comments hope to see you soon!

Reviewed May 12, 2020

We thought we'd treat ourselves to a rare takeaway and knew that the Madubhan had a good reputation. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement! We paid £60 for a takeaway and threw 3 chicken korma's, a chicken tikka and an aubergine bahjee...in the bin, as they were so inedible. Such a shame, we had high hopes too.More

Date of visit: May 2020
Helpful?
Bedarmiah, General Manager at Madhuban, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2020

I’m sorry to hear this you didn’t feel like you should call us to discuss your issues far as everyone else all was excellent! Thank you.

Reviewed February 29, 2020 via mobile

We had a booking on a Friday night to celebrate two birthdays in the family. We had been to this restaurant previously but many years ago when it was superb. We arrived to a mediocre welcome from a lady that struggled with her English. We...were put to one side until able to confirm our booking with the maitre’d who was on the phone on our arrival and looked very busy. There were quite a few people waiting for takeaway orders which I’m sure doesn’t help. The restaurant had been refurbished since we were last there and looked lovely - immaculate decor. Once at our table, we waited for the rest of our party to arrive. We ordered drinks but the children’s drinks didn’t arrive. They eventually arrived after asking for a third time and 20 mins later. We also found that these drinks had been added to our bill twice which added insult to injury. Once our party arrived in full, poppadoms were ordered which did arrive quickly. Main courses were ordered soon after but these took over an hour (70 mins) to arrive for the adults and 45 mins for the children. The restaurant looked full but that’s not good enough. Add to that just generally sloppy service where naan breads that had been ordered didn’t arrive with the food, we struggled to get attention when needing drinks or the bill etc. I would say that the service is inconsistent because the lady who took our order was very good but the kitchen is clearly overloaded and the rest of the waiting staff need to be more attentive and listen to what is being ordered. The food however was very delicious but that alone is not enough so it’s unlikely we’ll be returning. Hopefully this will be taken on board because this restaurant has a captured audience in Liss with little other choice but I do hope it returns to its glory days.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Bedarmiah, General Manager at Madhuban, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2020

Hi we thought you were happy as been asked everything’s ok response was all good however your comments do raise few questions on arrival we ask our patrons do they like to have drinks at the bar or wish you go to the table far...More

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

If you want the best food the best service and a great atmosphere then you need to come here! Food is exceptional and everyone is so friendly, can’t fault anything!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Bedarmiah, General Manager at Madhuban, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2020

Thank you for your ratings hope to see you soon!

Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

A good friend had talked about this restaurant on several occasions with me when we got talking about curries. I’d promised myself I would either eat in or get a takeaway so last night (10/01/20) I did. Takeaway it was as I was still in...my work clothes. It’s a beautiful restaurant and I was struck by its cleanliness and decor. There is a nice bar and several people were sat at it having a drink. This looks great I thought. Several tables were already occupied and the staff were numerous and attentive. I was spoken to quickly and provided with a menu which is extensive. I was impressed by the different dishes and selected three main courses I’d never tried and three side dishes plus a coconut rice. Once home I promoted eating over a shower as I was excited. I plated up the duck yak-a-tan, Madhuban special chicken and jardaloo sali boti and partnered this with mushroom bhajee, sag aloo and tarka dall with the coconut rice. Well what a huge disappointment. Everything had little flavour and the only difference was I was either eating chicken or lamb. Admittedly the lamb was spectacularly tender but that was it. I seriously could have been eating anything. On the menu the special was described as a combination of all flavours but frankly I couldn’t taste any of them. The side dishes were no better, the tarka dall was bland and lacked any garlic, mushroom bhajee, well, just mushrooms. The best flavour was the sag aloo !! As for the coconut rice I found this extremely dry and unappetising. I was gutted. I think I must have had a one-off bad experience and it took the edge of my celebratory meal. I spoke to my friend after he asked how it was and he was more upset than me because he’d never had a bad experience and recommended it. Next time maybe I’ll do better. Willing to give it a second chance.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Bedarmiah, General Manager at Madhuban, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2020

Thank you for your review we are sorry didn’t enjoy as much as we thought hopefully you will soon visit us please share your past experience with us so we can look into it & make it better Thank you

Reviewed January 3, 2020

We visited on Monday 30th December 2019 whilst staying in the nearby Old Thorns Hotel. We wanted to get out of the hotel complex for the evening and were longing for a decent Indian/Bangladeshi meal! The staff were very friendly and attentive and the food...was superb with a good selection on the menu. I wish this restaurant was in my home town as I cannot recommend highly enough.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Bedarmiah, General Manager at Madhuban, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2020

Thank you very much for your kind review we look forward to seeing you all soon!

Reviewed December 10, 2019

I was taking my family to lunch to celebrate my husbands birthday. Him and I and our 4 daughters. They are open from 12 -2.30 the chap on the phone said the kitchen closes at 2.30 i booked a table at 1pm. at 12.45 they...called me to remind me that the restaurant closes at 2.30. I said I would be there in a few minutes. I arrived the huge place was empty bar 3 tables. Instead of greeting us he wanted to know the name of the booking I looked around incredulously and said we had just spoken on the phone. At which point while my husband and daughters stood by the entrance yet again I was given a lecture about leaving when the restaurant closes at 2.30. I did not make displeasure known because we had travelled 18 miles to get there and did not want them to spoil the day. I was fuming and hurt inside however. We ordered and ate as quickly as we could and left at 2.28. The 4 tables before us were still seated. I understand the restaurant worrying had we been a group of drunk men after the footie rocking up just before they closed. I cannot believe I paid the bill to be treated and humiliated so badly.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Bedarmiah, Guest Relations Manager at Madhuban, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2019

Hi Thank you for your comments we value your customs we are really sorry to hear about this we have taken the action it’s require so that’s sort of attitude towards our customers should never happen person in question is very apologetic his intentions wasn’t...More

Reviewed November 21, 2019

Six of us had booked up to eat here on Wednesday Evening 20 Nov 2019 at 1845. We parked up the road away from the restaurant. When we arrived at the front door we were given a lovely warm welcome. The service and staff from...here on in were just wonderful. The meals we all had were served very promptly and efficiently. I had actually opted for a Prawn starter followed by a really lovely King Prawn main. Honestly they were both really terrific and the flavours just incredible. I would say it is one of the best Indian meals I have ever had. Our bill for six people including two bottles of house white wine, starters, mains & deserts with two coffees was £190 so it averaged out with a tip at £70 per couple. I really can’t think of a negative but I will say that obviously the place was not packed, as it was a mid week visit and an early meal time. I had read some negative as well as positive TripAdvisor reviews before we came, and as far as we were all concerned, we only had positives and no negatives. Thank you for a really lovely evening we will be back again!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?3  
Bedarmiah, Manager at Madhuban, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your review it in courage us to do even better Looking forward to seeing you all soon!

Reviewed November 5, 2019 via mobile

We had a take away with my son and his family. They had never been here before and were very impressed.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?3  
Reviewed November 5, 2019

The Madhuban has long been a favourite, but this was our first visit for a few years. The service still is as excellent as ever and the food is OK (the menu unchanged for perhaps 6-7 years) but the sense we had is that whilst...many other curry houses have improved the quality of the food served, the Madhuban has stayed the same and has been overtaken by these newer players. It would be a shame if this decline were to continue.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Champneys Forest Mere
2,871 reviews
2.91 miles away
The Trooper Inn
183 reviews
3.05 miles away
Old Thorns
2,126 reviews
3.43 miles away
Premier Inn Petersfield Hotel
679 reviews
3.51 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nathan Marshall at Plestor House
70 reviews
.48 miles away
Turtle Bean
130 reviews
.15 miles away
The Temple Inn
122 reviews
.72 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Flying Bull Inn
14 reviews
1.77 miles away
Petersfield Lake
239 reviews
3.48 miles away
The Rising Sun
46 reviews
3.88 miles away
In the Footsteps of Gilbert White
14 reviews
4.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mandy1Hampshire
October 25, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bedarmiah | Property representative |
Hi yes we do please ask when you order we are happy to help! Thank you
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing