We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Surfers Beach Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
+248 2 783 703
Website
Today
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 204: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The food was amazing and the restaurant literally on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Seychelles. Service was also excellent! Well done Surfers! We will see you again!

Helpful?
Thank JMCE1234
Management response:

Dear JMCE1234 We are happy you enjoyed the occasion after such a long absence. Like you know we are situated on one of the prettiest beaches in the South of Mahe and in Seychelles for that matter. Unspoiled safe sweimming year round and a very panoramic beach, please do come back soon you are always welcome here. Glad you enjoyed... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my 8 year old for lunch there, we both had a pizza. Was really impressed with the food, both my daughter and I loved it. Great and friendly staffs. Keep it up.

Helpful?
Thank damienB777
Management response:

Dear damienB777 Thanks for you great comments and review on our establishment, it is always pleasing and satisfying to know that returning customers such as yourself continue to enjoy what we have to offer and the true creole hospitality which you know so well. Please do continue returning as we are always happy to see you in Seychelles. The Surfers... More 

grimsby lincolnshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great litte place for a meal or just a coffee,tea,we had a quick snack of scones and a pot of tea.You can walk down some steps on to a buitifull beach it is also self catering.The road is good past the Aiport a good drive to get there,we have stopped here on every visit to the Seychelles... More 

Helpful?
Thank terence george b
Management response:

Dear terence george b It's great to read such a good review and rating from you, we are elated that you do come back to the Seychelles often and usually do come and try us all the time. A pity you did not come round on your last visit this year as we are always so happy and humbled by... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for lunch and this was a welcome break during a full day tour round the island. Restaurant is situated next to the beach and the seating areas overlook the sea. Food was excellent and would certainly recommend the fish. Reasonably priced. Only downside was the inefficiency of the serving staff as the restaurant wasn't busy. The older lady taking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Onleaveagain
Management response:

Dear Onleaveagain We are glad you enjoyed the beach experience and dishes that we had on offer with fair prices. Please do accept our apologies on the serving staff which is a constant uphill struggle in Seychelles to maintain to good standards. The lady you mention in fact does not work for us anymore as she was letting the Surfers... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the restaurant off a map and were really surprised with what we got. We stopped for lunch and sat at one of the tables right off the beach. Service was great. We had been on the island for our wedding and so had eaten at some up market restaurants but this beat all of them. My wife ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
Management response:

Dear Stuart Thanks so much for your shining review on Surfers; it gives a great sense of satisfaction when clients appreciate our cuisine and notably our creole curries. We are also glad that you noticed the service was good and that we even outshined some other up market establishments. You review is being shared with the staff in order to... More 

Victoria, Seychelles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On Saturday afternoon I went to this restaurant with some friends and family . Amongst us was a 2 year old girl who, to our surprise, had to wait quite a while for her fish and chips , and when it did arrive after we had asked several times it wasn't even the first , the other children were served... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tonyo92
Management response:

Tonyo92 We note your review whereby you mention there was a delay in the 2 year old`s fish and chips. We apologize for this as these things do happen sometimes especially if your order which was a large order for 7 people and the restaurant was busy at the time. Our portions are weighed normal standard industry weights per person... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food is Ok. Nothing to add. And rather expensive. On the beach which is a plus. You have limited choice around. So... Eat there if you can't find another place.

Helpful?
Thank Olga B
Management response:

Dear Olga B As you will see from other reviews people do appreciate our food and great tasting dishes. You should be aware that Seychelles imports 90% of its food products from overseas and hence restaurants and hotels would tend to be a bit more pricier than other parts of the world. When you come to Seychelles to holiday you... More 

Pakistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great place and food, even the service is perfect we tried 2 items only, pizza and grilled prawns and walking to the beach side is perfect , no complain on anything

Helpful?
Thank Sajidk
Management response:

Dear Sajidk Thank for you fantastic comments and rating on our establishment, we are very happy that you appreciated what we had to offer in terms of service and good tasting food. Please do come back for more of our creole hospitality if ever you return to Seychelles for more holidays. The Surfers Team More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Great food and views. Only downside is that we found this place at lunch time on our last day on mahe! Wish we found it sooner! 6 of us ate there and we all enjoyed our meals! Standouts were the seafood plate and the mixed grill, also the calamari. A little pricey, but you get what you pay for &... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

We are happy and glad that you enjoyed the experience and what we have on offer at Surfers albeit after only discovering us on your last day on Mahe. Next time you are in the Seychelles you now know where we are, we would be delighted to see you as returning customers. Thanks for the great score and comments, its... More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

We have visited the Surfers restaurant twice during our holiday already. Both times the food was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the surroundings and view of the beach are lovely. Over the two visits we tried the fish soup, fish egg salad, vegetable pizza and prawns in garlic butter all were great meals. They are especially good at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank katieo89
Management response:

Dear katieo89 Thank you for your lovely comments about you experience at Surfers, we are communicating your review to all the staff as a sign of encouragement to continue the good work. We are glad you enjoyed the surroundings and beach which are sublime at this time of the year & the various dishes you had during your visits. Our... More 

Travelers who viewed Surfers Beach Restaurant also viewed

 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to Surfers Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$11 - $68
Cuisine
Bar, Seafood, Pizza, International
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: S Coast Rd | Anse Parnel Mahe, Takamaka, Mahe Island 0000, Seychelles
  • Location: Africa  >  Seychelles  >  Mahe Island  >  Takamaka
  • Phone Number: +248 2 783 703
Description
We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surfers Beach Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?