We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Plough

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Brew Pub, Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 Church Road | St Johns, Redhill RH1 6QE, England
441737766686
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is my local pub and unfortunately I avoided it for some time after a bad experience which followed with a vile reply on my TripAdvisor review from the manager. Im please to say the management have changed and everything has improved from the service, cleanliness, food & genera atmosphere. I know this is an opinion shared by many locals.... More 

Helpful?
Thank HowieMac
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Your very kind comments are much appreciated. We took over ownership in October last year and are very pleased that many customers feel that we are building on all the positives The Plough has to offer. Many thanks David Shaw More 

Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely pub to pop into and enjoy a snack in the beer garden. Plenty of shade if required in really hot weather. Main meals a bit expensive but sandwiches are great value for money. Good food and atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Glyn T
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and positive comments, look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards David Shaw More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect once church finishes next door at St John's. They officially take food orders from midday, but they've always been lovely and take my order in early for the chef, whilst I enjoy a pot of tea (beautifully served in a glass teapot). The price vs quality/quantity ratio is unrivalled for a local pub. Staff always has smiles on their... More 

Helpful?
Thank hellobayo
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind comments, the bells are a very personal thing!!! We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks David Shaw More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice old English pub. Tasty pub food from sandwiches to steaks. Decent choice of wines. Wednesday night quiz night is fun. Kids allowed in the garden only.

Helpful?
Thank LCRw
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. Kind regards David Shaw More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been going to the plough occasionally for about 5 years. It is a pub where you pay a premium price for your drinks but you feel that you are getting what you are paying for. There are many pubs I find overpriced, but the atmosphere, garden, and staff just make it great. The staff don't seem as happy of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe J
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments and understanding of the type of pub we are. Unfortunately when suppliers prices go up we have to eventually reflect this in the prices we charge, we do however make every effort to keep this to a minimum. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards David Shaw More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Plough on Tuesday lunchtime with my husband, daughter, her sister in law & 2 children. Before we got settled at a table in the garden via a side entrance, (children under 10yrs not welcome inside the pub) I spoke to the young woman behind the bar about ordering meals for the children. There is no specific menu for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrsmezzy
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Having investigated at length it would appear that there was potential miss understanding on the part of our staff as to what you were requesting and possibly on what they were trying to explain. We are not a family focused pub and as such do not do a childrens menu or drinks like fruit shoots.... More 

Surrey
Level Contributor
150 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a glorious July Friday evening and we managed to find a table in the nice little garden.It was very busy with after work drinkers. Two of us had fish and chips and we were a bit disappointed to discover that this was frozen fish and not too crisp. The chips were good and I was served a huge... More 

Helpful?
Thank joinedupwhiting
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. We are disappointed that the fish was not to your satisfaction, it is not frozen cooked fish and the batter is made with beer from the bar but obviously on this occasion was not up to our expected standard. We hope you will come and visit us again soon. Many thanks David... More 

Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited the Plough with my husband recently and beyond disappointed. The staff were rude and the toilets were filthy. I implore others to avoid this establishment.

Helpful?
2 Thank kimmymack
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

We do not accept your comments on the toilets and would question why you "implore others to avoid this establishment" I would be more than happy to discuss face to face the reasons for your comments, please feel free to phone or email to arrange a meeting at your convienience. Kind regards David Shaw More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely breakfast sandwich served quickly with a smile. The coffee was also delicious - I would recommend this pub for anyone looking to stop off for a quick breakfast before 12

Helpful?
Thank Adam S
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and positive comments, sandwiches, Danish and all day breakfast are available from 10am every day along with a selection of tea`s and fresh groung coffee. Kind regards David Shaw More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this pub for the 1st time yesterday evening, I had driven past it several times and thought it looked lovely with the hanging baskets etc, although I thought it looked small, wow what a surprise I had when we walked around the back to the enclosed garden, then through the tiny door. Quirky layout small bar area and busy,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roughie D
Plough1600, Owner at The Plough, responded to this review

Your kind review is much appreciated and has been passed onto the team. We dont normally have too many children in the garden on a Friday evening and when we do as a rule they are well behaved. The tables out the front are being replaced this winter as part of our ongoing improvements. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

 
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $34
Cuisine
Brew Pub, Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Church Road | St Johns, Redhill RH1 6QE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Redhill
  • Phone Number: 441737766686
Description
Traditional english pub serving fine ales and great food, large garden forthe summer months with heated smoking area. Dogs welcome, children 10 and over when eating with parents inside and all ages outside.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Plough staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?