We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2017 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Mediterranean
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
102
15
7
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
102
15
7
6
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 29, 2020

El Patron is great for snacks and drinks under a canvas canopy beside the road but the price rockets at the upstairs rooftop tables.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by this joint encouraged by the great views from the top, which was a big mistake. Two incredibly rude waiters, filthy chairs and tables were the first warning signes, which quickly sent us down the steps and away into another restaurant... Scandalous!

Date of visit: November 2017
Helpful?
Glen G, Manager at EL Patron, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Sorry but are you sure that u was in elpatron ??

Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Tourist trap!!! Overpriced, dirty, bad service. Waited 2 (two!!) hours for a meal. I got the worst (tagliatta) steak I ever had! Not coocked to order, served in disgusting form. The chef was trying hard to explain, but the waitress.... OMG! Avoid!!More

Date of visit: November 2017
Helpful?
Glen G, Manager at EL Patron, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

its nice to comment and leave feed back on trip advisor , I am sorry for your disappointment but does it make sense that both of you left the same comment and after each other :) wasn't one enough ?? be care full because some...More

Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

After 2 - That is TWO - hours of waiting the waitress said "this is normal", "this is a restaurant". The Chef came and was apologising. Nice chap. Unfortunately the place was a disaster experience.More

Date of visit: November 2017
Helpful?
Glen G, Manager at EL Patron, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

its nice to comment and leave feed back on trip advisor , I am sorry for your disappointment but does it make sense that both of you left the same comment and after each other :) wasn't one enough ?? be care full because some...More

Reviewed October 25, 2017 via mobile

I am really surprised to see many recent reviews that say anything good about the food served at this place. I ordered spaghetti with a squid (black sauce) I didn’t like it because I thought it wasn’t something for me, so I swapped the plate...More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 22, 2017

Where do I start , Tables are disgusting laminate coming off of them exposing dirty bacteria filled timber, Food overpriced I had beef salad at 14.50 euros,3 tiny pieces of meat, rest was lettuce leaves, tomatoes and a couple of strips of pepper, Paying 5...More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Visited he for a business dinner so unfortunately we did not benefit from the view which during the day must be breathtaking. We concentrated on the food and were no let down. Very generous portions and quite tasty. Everyone was satisfied, although we had to...More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

What a place ❤ Food is extremely good, u gonna keep on eating even when u are already full... 🐽🙈 Chefs knows what they are doing, great location and a great service. Good wine as well 😋👌🍷 Greetings to Pett , thank u for a...More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed sitting on the rooftop of this nice restaurant very much. It was a nice sunny day and the view from there at the sea was dreamy. The staff was very friendly although a bit busy because of a very big group of guests,...More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Very welcoming and friendly staff especially waiter Pete who is very helpful & tries to accomodate the customers. View is breathtaking. Chef also made a visit to our table. Well done. This was not my first visit & shall not be the last for sure.

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Water's Edge
161 reviews
4.27 miles away
Corinthia Palace Malta
1,938 reviews
5.16 miles away
The Xara Palace Relais & Chateaux
665 reviews
5.30 miles away
Ramplas
9 reviews
5.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Il Corsaro
231 reviews
.00 miles away
ALKA Mediterranean Restaurant
114 reviews
.00 miles away
La Cucina di Bettina
57 reviews
.02 miles away
Coast at Cassarini Restaurant
128 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Blue Grotto (Il-Hnejja)
2,800 reviews
.12 miles away
Hagar Qim Temples
2,475 reviews
.85 miles away
Malta Professional Guide
92 reviews
1.95 miles away
Malta Falconry Centre
358 reviews
2.15 miles away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing