We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lamb Inn, Hooe

Claimed
Reserve a Table
Bookatable

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$11 - $31
CUISINES
British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveler rating
186
124
102
99
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
186
124
102
99
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken pie sunday roast pate seated straight away ordered drinks open fire birthday lunch lunch time nice meal lunch menu marsh battle hastings
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 592 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

My brother, sister in law and I (plus a dog) went to this beautiful pub in Hooe for Sunday roast. We had a reservation and I would highly recommend having a reservation as the place was extremely busy. We ordered: Sunday roast combo (beef, turkey...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Christine M
Reviewed 1 week ago

the food was very good . the staff were very good .i had the scallp and beef duo for one .and my wife had sun roast . the best i have had for a long time . will be coming back again . a big...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Kevin P
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kevin, Thank you for leaving a review; we are delighted that it was a positive experience and that you enjoyed the food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sat in the nook created a lovely atmosphere. The food was very good, the lamb duo was very pleasant and washed down with a good beer too.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Copex1978
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Copex1978, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review; it's much appreciated. We are glad you had a great time and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely looking old building, the origins of which were mentioned in the domesday book! inside again lovely setting, we settled in as a foursome and ordered roast dinners, all beef dishes had been sold out, so lamb and turkey were ordered, eventually (not a busy...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank brian t
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Brian! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and making us aware of your recent visit; it's very much appreciated. Please allow me to start by offering my apologies; what you have described falls a long way short of the standards that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Driven past often so given a try for lunch. Booking easy, good car park, warm welcome table ready. Very nicely decorated and cared for. Wide ranging menu with reasonable price. Service prompt and helpful, food was well cooked, good quality and well presented. Lovely,

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Kevin K
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kevin! Thanks for your kind words, they are very much appreciated; we will be sure to pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the Lamb when we took the wrong turning while on the way to Eastbourne. It turned out to be a bit of luck as the staff were so friendly and the beer was great. Although we did not have our dogs with us...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Jim W
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Lamb Inn! Thank You, Team Lamb

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great family meal at the Lamb Inn, really surprised at some of the reviews, I actually wouldn’t have gone if I’d read the reviews but that’s taught me not to just go off reviews. We ate every last bit of food and that’s...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank neilo854
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Neil, We are very glad that you gave us a visit, and experienced first hand how great things can be. Thanks for the recommendation; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Previously had a couple of decent meals at the Lamb Inn over the last two years but feel I have to comment on our last meal here as it was appalling. The signs were bad when the waiter didnt immediately clear the previous dirty plates...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Luke V
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Luke, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Our manager would really like to speak with you more regarding this matter. Please reach out...More

Reviewed August 9, 2019

I dont like giving critical reveiws of places , and have refraind from doing so on local indpendant start ups, but this is not a start up it is a chain, and we have been dissapointed previously here when even second menu choices have been...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Greg C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Hi Greg, So sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We had a very unusually busy day that day because of the weather actually turning out to be glorious. Unfortunately that meant that we were unable to call in...More

Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

A cavernous place, mimicking an old barn type pub but actually owned by a chain and staffed by kids serving basic food that's probably freezer to microwave much of the time. Prices not cheap, but not outrageous either. Can't recommend it but it's ok if...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank MrTUk
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Lamb Inn, Hooe, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2019

Dear Mr TUK, Welcome back to TripAdvisor after almost a year away! We're disappointed to read your comments and sorry that you feel this way. We are indeed part of the Vintage Inns collection of pubs, and are very proud of the building which we...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Cooden Beach Hotel
1,371 reviews
2.37 miles away
Priory Court Hotel
312 reviews
2.75 miles away
The Northern Hotel
51 reviews
4.33 miles away
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel
684 reviews
4.88 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
The Lamb Inn
547 reviews
1.28 miles away
The Red Lion
258 reviews
1.83 miles away
The Star Inn
120 reviews
1.45 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Bull Inn
9 reviews
2.06 miles away
East Sussex Falconry
325 reviews
2.35 miles away
Pevensey Castle
414 reviews
2.83 miles away
Bay view Golf Course
7 reviews
3.74 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
picklesphoebe123
November 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from johntrader | Reviewed this property |
i believe they have some poor serving staff who dont even know the answer to simple questions. food is ok not more. .prices are high . and lunchtime set menu quite boring . i could say more. i wont be using it again .the... More
0
Votes
John B
November 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from John T | Reviewed this property |
Expect simple fair, it ain't the Ritz.
0
Votes
sarahjones4567
September 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Marian E | Reviewed this property |
Hi. I do not think the staff were actually rude during our visit. However, the service at the bar was exceptionally slow and food on offer very limited. It was around 2:30 on a Monday afternoon. No sandwiches at all. No... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing