We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lamb Inn

Pevensey Marsh, Hooe TN33 9HH, England
+44 1424 848649
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible16%
Travelers talk about
“custard” (5 reviews)
“pate” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pevensey Marsh, Hooe TN33 9HH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Having had many good meal in this restaurant, we decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary here, what a mistake, 8 oz streaked which were 4oz fat and grizzle 4oz chewy meat, onion rings were cold, tomato warm, but nice chips, prawns which were extra were...More

Thank Ken B
Reviewed 6 days ago

poor value for money, food quite nice though rustic bread normally vserved in chunks not thin strips. service very so so.

1  Thank johntrader
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Johntrader, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for an early dinner arrived at 4:45. The food was very nice and the staff were friendly but the service was very slow. We finally left at 7pm. It was not busy in fact some of the time we were the only ones...More

1  Thank Lesley B
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lesley B, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We are going through a transition of management and I have been here two weeks now, we are currently training a brand new team, so could be a little longer than usual....More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were visiting Eastbourne today and decided to stop here for dinner before we went into Eastbourne. We had a disabled guest with us but this was no problem as the restaurant was well geared up for a wheelchair. We were warmly greeted and seated...More

Thank Robert G
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Robert G, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Lamb Inn, Battle. We're happy we could meet your expectations! We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived to this inn only to be told they got no food left, and told due to staff shortages It was 7.30pm. On Sunday It's holiday season & the management should have made sure they it does not run out of food?? Won't be...More

1  Thank ajay v
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Ajay V, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. I have just taken over the business and am implementing changes to ensure that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were shown straight to a table and our drinks order was taken. The waitress was friendly but not knowledgeable - she suggested Guinness as one of the options when my father asked what lager was on tap and couldn't tell me what white wines...More

2  Thank Ritabirdie
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ritabirdie, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please reach out to us at location-email at your earliest convenience to discuss how we can turn your experience into...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Lamb is a beautiful place to visit anytime. I had the roast pork, cooked to perfection and beautifully cooked veggies and tha all important Yorkshire pudding! My partner had the sharing platter as a starter, she thought hers was very good as well, if...More

Thank PARIS522
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Paris, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Lamb Inn, Battle, thank you so much for the positive review! We hope to see you again in the near future! Tom

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place for a meal out and always enjoyable. Good menu choices and lovely building. It's not far off the main road, but in lovely countryside. Have been here many times and it's never failed us.

Thank countrycats
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your high rating, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Lamb Inn, Battle! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Tom General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here on Friday night with friends,food was excellent, we liked the fact they do smaller portions of puddings with a coffee for those that don't want a large pudding, staff very friendly and really helpful especially as we all wanted to pay separately,would definitely...More

Thank Julie B
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Julie, reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My god I last visited this place May 2016. It's still has terrible service. They will take your drink order and 40 minutes later come back with your drinks. 2 hours for your starter to arrive. In fairness the food was good, but you lost...More

Thank Andrew P
General Manager A, Manager at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Andrew P, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. We'd like the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please reach out to us at location-email at your earliest convenience to discuss how we can turn your experience into a positive one.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lamb Inn
398 reviews
1.28 miles away
The Red Lion
176 reviews
1.84 miles away
Hooe Supper Club
8 reviews
1.80 miles away
Royal Oak and Castle Inn
221 reviews
2.73 miles away
Nearby Attractions
East Sussex Falconry
185 reviews
2.15 miles away
Pevensey Castle
267 reviews
2.83 miles away
Bexhill Beach
406 reviews
3.79 miles away
Sussex Falconry
11 reviews
3.84 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
John B
November 18, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from pataw101 | Reviewed this property |
They serve food all day. It starts getting busy about 7pm, but the service is good and not such a long wait. Highly recommend the lobster salad. :D
0
Votes
sarahjones4567
September 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Marian E | Reviewed this property |
Hi. I do not think the staff were actually rude during our visit. However, the service at the bar was exceptionally slow and food on offer very limited. It was around 2:30 on a Monday afternoon. No sandwiches at all. No... More
0
Votes
underhillphil
July 6, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from skinnerdipper | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do, you can take them into the back garden of the pub
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pevensey Marsh, Hooe TN33 9HH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Hooe
  • Phone Number: +44 1424 848649
Description
Embracing the rural charm of its tranquil, scenic setting, The Lamb Inn offers a modern twist on traditional country pub dining. As well as offering a beer garden for enjoying summertime dining, the cosy dining room is filled with rustic original features and toasty fires for warming winter dining. Championing favourite British recipes, guests can enjoy evenings devoted to the inn's freshly-baked pies, as well as gourmet roast dinners and seasonal cocktail mixes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing