We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Greyhound

Gower | Swansea, Oldwalls SA3 1HA, Wales
+44 1792 391027
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Gower | Swansea, Oldwalls SA3 1HA, Wales
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Came across this pub by chance. We had an excellent Sunday lunch, quite the best for a long time. The lively young staff were very quick, friendly and attentive. Would thoroughly recommend.

Thank SarHed4344
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Victorian Gower Pub. Atmospheric. We missed the Sunday Roast only served between 12 noon and 14.30 but have had it before. We shared the starter of deep fried scampi and salad. We had main course of Gower Salt Marsh Lamburger and Salad and Duck Breast...More

Thank Rhys J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good Sunday lunch at such good value. All roasts tasted good. Plenty of vegetables, a little over cooked but plentiful. Starters and desserts tasted good too.

Thank richards c
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to this pub last week for lunch. What a dreadful meal. We had ham, eggs and chips. I have never had such rubbish ham 2 half slices that you could read the paper through them, the chips were as hard as bullets the peas...More

Thank Sharon S
Lara J, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Goldilocks, It seems from your review and previous reviews you are not happy with the food at our venues or on the one occasion you were happy with your food (the Ship Inn 26/03/17) you were then dissatisfied that the pub was “horrendously busy”...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I hear the tenants have changed and whilst the food was good before, it's much better now ! Absolutely terrific pub food for the price. I had fish in batter , the batter was light and super crispy, the chips were the best I've ever...More

Thank techanis
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

By total luck we took a trip out and stopped at this pub. Didn't think for a minute we would get a table as car park full, but when we enquired a table was ready. We were first offered the function room but too noisy...More

Thank Maisy22
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This pub has been a regular for myself and the rest of the family for a number of years. Called in yesterday for a quick meal, it was not quick at all. The pub was really quiet for a Saturday so we expected food quickly,...More

Thank Waynethomas125
Lara J, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Wayne Thomas125, Thank you for your feedback. We have raised the issues with the chef and reassured it will never be served as it was. We hope to see you again soon, and you will be writing a much more positive review. All @...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I have used this pub twice before when in holiday on the Gower peninsula and were happy to go back but were really disappointed. Having the dog with us, we used the bar. Perhaps the restaurant was much better but the bar...More

Thank Roger E
Lara J, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Roger, We have taken on all your feedback and can reassure you that if you return the points listed have been addressed. We are awaiting the seats to be recovered.We can only apologise for the experience you had and hope you will be returning...More

Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

* lovely traditional pub * car park * beer garden * restaurant * function room * clean and tidy washroom facilities * served local produce * very tasty and good size portions * very friendly and warm staff * reasonably priced * quick and efficient...More

Thank Adamdanielwatkins
Reviewed April 20, 2017

Wow Wow Wow! Don't go here. Totally changed, new owners, new chef, awful menu. Couldn't tell me what was gluten free without phoning chef who was at home? Only when you are in large numbers do you realize that all the curries on the menu...More

1  Thank Judy B
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
allaboutalf
Do you allow well behaved dogs?
July 12, 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from Adrian D | Reviewed this property |
We asked first . And we were allowed in a certain area . There was 1 other dog as well as ours inside
1
Vote
Caroline E
Is there any place to park motorhome for the night
June 23, 2015|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from sarah n | Reviewed this property |
Hi, the pub car park is plenty big enough but i think this would be somthing you would need to ask the owners, i did not see any parked in the car park when we visited. Hope this helps
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gower | Swansea, Oldwalls SA3 1HA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  South Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Oldwalls
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 391027
  • E-mail