We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boathouse

1 The Parade | Parkgate, Neston, Parkgate CH64 6RN, England
+44 151 336 4187
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“dover sole” (17 reviews)
“fish pie” (24 reviews)
“sunday roast” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 The Parade | Parkgate, Neston, Parkgate CH64 6RN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (827)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 826 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

On Tuesday evening my wife and I visited this excellent venue again to sample the evening menu. We were not disappointed and enjoyed the service and standard of the food that we received. The Kronenborg lager on draught at this pub is in my opinion...More

2  Thank paulfcorbett
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Mr CORBETT, Thank you very much for your very kind review. I shall be sure to pass on your thanks to HILARY. Hopefully we shall see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Boat House Management Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a couple of hours on a Sunday over looking the Dee great real ales and good wine selection will return

Thank Jason B
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello there, Thank you so much for your very kind review. Sunday was a lovely day to be out on our decking area with a good ale and fantastic view. Hopefully we shall see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Boat House Management Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently, i visited the Boathouse for a family meal. Having read some of the reviews on here, i was a little apprehensive about coming due to comments regarding the attitudes of the staff. I am pleased to inform anyone reading this review, that we had...More

Thank GavBieJones
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello GavBieJones, Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always pleasing to hear that our staff have excelled in their jobs. Hopefully we shall see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Boat House Management Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great atmosphere, excellent choice of food and drinks, this was not our first visit and it has been consistant each time. The fish butty is excellent although a few more mushy peas wouldn't go a miss. Service was very good for a busy Easter weekend!

Thank DAG12345
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there, Thank you so much for your very kind review! I shall pass your feedback onto the team here and maybe next time we can get you some more mushy peas! Kind Regards, The Boat House Management Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had an EXCELLENT 3 course meal tonight. I would like to stress the service is very good despite being very busy. They accommodate my brother-in-law gluten free diet very well. Thank YOU. We all enjoyed the food and will definitively return if we come this...More

Thank Shirley M
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello there, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy our menu and service. Kind Regards, The Boat House Management Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a late lunch at the Boathouse. There is plenty of free parking. The interior is arranged in several sections. All are attractive and comfortable. We were by a picture window overlooking the bay on a sunny afternoon so it was warm. We had...More

Thank William S
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear William S, Thank you so much for your very kind review! We are very pleased that you got to enjoy the various services we have to offer and i shall ensure your comments are passed onto the team here. Hopefully we shall see you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely place to chill out, with fantastic views over the Dee estuary. It's a great location. The food is average (would be good if they did proper pies rather than hot pots with pastry lids). Bar service is poor (no apparent first...More

1  Thank BaileyBeans
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear BaileyBeans, Thank you for your review. Firstly can i take this opportunity to apologise to you regarding the services you have received whilst at our establishment. These services you mention are clearly not up to our usual standard, and we will use this feedback...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food ok had better some staff should learn to smile and should be go on a customer satisfaction course,please thank you not hard.More

1  Thank juliedob
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there, Thank you for your review. It is very important to us that we take account of our negative feedback to help us improve in the future. I shall ensure i pass your feedback onto our team here as we look to improve for...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is our third visit to The Boathouse and its becoming one of our favourite lunch venues. The food and service are always excellent and the setting of the restaurant with views of the estuary are superb - get a window seat if you can!...More

Thank Elaine P
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there, Thank you very much for your very kind review. I shall ensure your feedback is passed onto our team here. Kind Regards, The Boat House Management Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I hardly write reviews, but after visiting the Boathouse last week I have felt the need to write to acknowledge the lack of customer service that we received here. Yes the food was good, but feel that Hilary our waitress needs to visit a restaurant...More

1  Thank Cstoba
BoathouseP P, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello there, May i take this opportunity to apologise for the service you have received. It is most unlike Hilary, who is an exemplary member of the management team here. I shall investigate this matter a little further. If i could ask you to call...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Parkgate Hotels
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
591 reviews
1.52 miles away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
1,472 reviews
1.81 miles away
Hillbark Hotel
297 reviews
4.78 miles away
Inglewood Manor
824 reviews
4.81 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Little Teahouse
106 reviews
.51 miles away
Parkgate Ice Cream
133 reviews
.52 miles away
Nicholls of Parkgate
203 reviews
.51 miles away
Parkgate Fish and Chips
253 reviews
.43 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Parkgate Seafront
165 reviews
1.82 miles away
Lodge Clinical Spa
21 reviews
2.26 miles away
Ness Botanic Gardens
421 reviews
2.69 miles away
Pensby Library
10 reviews
3.04 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Eileen S
February 16, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JAMMYC | Reviewed this property |
Hi Eileen I think youve put your comment in the wrong place on here but what does it matter! :) It must be lovely to remember the sand on the marshes! Its hard to believe lokking at it now. Im 47 and I also think the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 The Parade | Parkgate, Neston, Parkgate CH64 6RN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Parkgate
  • Phone Number: +44 151 336 4187
  • E-mail
Description
With magnificent views of the Dee Estuary its no surprise that Parkgate has a reputation as somewhere to eat whilst enjoying the beautiful British coastline. As could be expected, it’s our fish and shellfish selection that we take a particular pride in, the offerings extensive, the produce fresh and the preparation lovingly cared for.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing