We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gallacher's Smokehouse Bar and Grill

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$13 - $40
CUISINES
Steakhouse, American, Barbecue
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (662)
Filter reviews
662 results
Traveler rating
446
89
48
42
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
446
89
48
42
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pulled pork ribs burger butterfly prawns smoked sausage chilli poppers cowboy beans hot wings chicken coleslaw american style smoke house fell off the bone birthday meal food was amazing a great evening big portions
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Tried Gallachers for date night with the wife. Pleasantly surprised as have always been a bit hesitant based on the outside look. Negative first - we ordered buffalo wings for a starter. The chicken was very good but the buffalo sauce came on the side...so the chicken was dry, the sauce itself was too sweet and too runny. Would prefer the wings soaked for hours and served wet, but personal preference. Positives - the restaurant is actually very nice, well spread out to meet current covid rules. Music was playing throughout, the staff were excellent, very attentive and at no point did they allow us to run out of drinks. For mains we had a pitmaster and a steak and both were excellent, sides were also on point. Great local restaurant would highly recommendMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friends and I visited for a boozy bottomless brunch last week. We had a great time! Staff are all so friendly, food was delicious and the drinks even more so. Riccardo does an amazing job and we will be back soon!! Thank you

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 17, 2020 via mobile

We visited when it first opened (I think under previous owners) and weren’t impressed at all. (Cold restaurant, burnt tasting food, no atmosphere) So fast forward about 5 years and we finally decide to try again tonight. It was fabulous. The atmosphere is there is...cosy, the service more attentive and friendly, and the food much more delicious! We only live a short walk away so we are very pleased! We will definitely be back soon.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 22, 2020 via mobile

My husband and I ate at Gallaghers for an impromptu Saturday night dinner. The waitress was new and extremely polite and friendly. I felt comfortable with the social distancing put in place. We had a couple of starters of nachos and chilly poppers followed by...two steaks cooked medium rare. We were very happy with the service, food and wine and will return soon. The restaurant has had a recent makeover and always looks inviting whenever I walk past it at night, we’ve eaten here quite a few times and have always had a great meal.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 19, 2020

Unfortunately having heard good things for a long time our first visit to Gallachers was pretty poor. I am hoping that maybe it was just an off night. Service was very slow for a restaurant that was nowhere near full and the starters were bland....No one checked if we were ok or if we wanted anymore drinks, we had to call someone over each and every time. Which for a group that had the potential to spend a lot of money I thought was poor. Mains, I had the pit master; pulled pork was lovely but the brisket was dry and the bacon ends very fatty and sickly. I was given BBQ sauce to pour over the brisket but still dry and tough. Unfortunate the rest of the group felt similar. Overall not worth the price we paid and not worth the tip they automatically add to the bill.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
adrianp270, Owner at Gallacher's Smokehouse Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

Dear Sam Thank you for your review. We always welcome our customers' opinion as we try to improve our offers. We also make sure that customers are looked after by every single member of staff as anyone walking around the tables asks customers how they...More

Reviewed September 1, 2020 via mobile

When I booked I did ask about how long we could stay and was told for as long as we liked. We liked this idea as do not live close. Unfortunately at 8.30pm we were told we had to leave soon (arrived at 5pm). We...were hoping to stay and continue drinking after our meal but they said they were busy. The funny thing was the place was not busy at all. Very strange as thought they would appreciate our custom??! Also, not happy with how the staff leaned over us too considering Covid!! Not a great evening for us.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
adrianp270, Owner at Gallacher's Smokehouse Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

Dear Janiceessex Thank you for your review. I understand that you feel disappointed because you had good food and good time for 3.5 hours but we interrupted your experience because we were busy. We normally welcome customers to drink at our big bar, before or...More

Reviewed August 31, 2020 via mobile

Went for a family meal, service was very slow except when they wanted us to leave. Once we finished our mains at around 9pm, without any previous warning we were told that the kitchen was closed and that we weren't able to have any desert...or coffee. Needless to say we did not feel welcome, won't be recommending or returning any time soon.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
adrianp270, Owner at Gallacher's Smokehouse Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2020

Dear Essexxuk, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you feel disappointed in the service you received. Monday 31st August was the last day of the Eat Out Help Out government scheme, we have been fully booked from 12pm. you came at 19.30....More

Reviewed August 24, 2020

went as a family of 3 and was very disappointed. The chicken wings had no flavour and looked anemic the ribs were very dry and chewy. I mentioned to the waitress how the food was bland and dry and all I got was oh sorry...about that. No offer ofsomething else or a discount when it was hardly touched... The people next to us even got there main meal before the drinks arrived! Won't be going again and for what we had was extremely expensive.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
Reviewed August 19, 2020

We went last night at 7:30pm for a meal and the girl who gave us our menu (who wore blue jeans and a black top ) was rude and not welcoming atall . My friends chicken was surpose to come wiv bacon and be smoked...which it wasn’t . My burger wasn’t as good as normal .Nobody asked us if our meal was okay ..they were are very young staff so maybe wasn’t bothered ... the only good thing was that it was 1/2 . Such a shame as we have gone there for years . But wont return ..shame again as it was a bday meal and first meal since lockdown endedMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 1, 2020 via mobile

Food was brought over, and the owner pulled a hair from Our main meal after putting the plates down on our table. Was told that it was a fibre hair.... we then refused to pay for this meal and was confronted by the manager that...he will call the police! As they say customers are always right! We are willing to pay for the rest of the bill! Will never visit here again!!! Very rude manager!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?6  
adrianp270, Owner at Gallacher's Smokehouse Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Dear Sabrina F I would normally thank you the reviewer for leaving a feedback, no matter what the overall rating is, and I normally welcome one star too. Unfortunately in your case I feel that there are quite important points that you purposely omitted from...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
963 reviews
2.37 miles away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) hotel
533 reviews
2.40 miles away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
275 reviews
2.40 miles away
Southend Guest House
70 reviews
2.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Alebro
310 reviews
.08 miles away
The Rose Garden Restaurant
334 reviews
.45 miles away
Mayflower
62 reviews
.76 miles away
Wakey Wakey Cafe
126 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Old Leigh
994 reviews
.78 miles away
Belfairs Wood, Park and Nature Reserve
344 reviews
.81 miles away
Leigh Heritage Centre
84 reviews
1.00 miles away
Bonar House Clinic
12 reviews
.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
guv34
December 1, 2019|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from 343neilg | Reviewed this property |
No, Adrian's no longer involved.
1
Vote
Robitha4ever
October 14, 2018|
Answer
Response from Riccardo S | Property representative |
No we don't. Southend on Sea council forbid the sale of burgers that are not 100% cooked through. This is a directive that will be through the whole country soon.
1
Vote
Robitha4ever
October 14, 2018|
Answer
Response from scott_sheldrake | Reviewed this property |
If you mean the way they cook stuff if you request it rare they might be able to do that
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing