We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grove

Marine Parade, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2HP, England
+44 1702 471383
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“chips salad” (34 reviews)
“burger” (60 reviews)
“flatbread” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Parade, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2HP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (966)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The Grove did us proud once again. A festive family evening greatly assisted by lovely food, helpful staff and such cosy seasonal surroundings. Many thanks and a wonderful Christmas to Louise and team Grove x

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AliJK2017
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Visited yesterday for the first and last time. Service was ok although not exactly busy.The outlook from the terrace was beautiful. Being a very plain food type of person, there was nothing on the menu to my taste. I asked the waitress if they did...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jean P
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Jean We are sorry you felt the necessity to write this critical review of The Grove when it appears this is based primarily on your preference for “plain food”. Our menus are on our website so perhaps, given your specific dietary needs, it may...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We were at The Grove for the first night of their Christmas menu which was delicious and varied enough for the 7 of us all to get something we very much enjoyed (including one child and one vegetarian) The service was friendly, efficient and very...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank luff74
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Yay!! Fabulous to hear and thanks so much for taking the time to share your great experience here- we really appreciate it. Also wonderful to hear that the Chocolate and Salted Caramel Pavlova received such an excitable welcome & that all your party had such...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hubby said 'Where to'? And of course I replied 'The Grove'. Amazingly delicious as always! You are made to feel so welcome on arrival and service is always delivered with a smile. Cannot wait to to back!More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank natrising
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Happy belated birthday to you and we’re so happy to hear that you enjoyed your birthday breakfast with us. Hope you can join us again soon and maybe for dinner next time. Our fabulous festive menu is on the website and there are many mouthwatering...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My two brothers, me and our partners took my mum here on her birthday. The staff were absolutely excellent. The decor was lovely. The food was delicious. My only slight complaint was that it is a bit on the expensive side but we had a...More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank barbarali13
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and we’re so pleased to hear you all enjoyed your recent visit. If you’re planning on visiting for dinner you might be interested in the last of our themed nights of the year which are Arabian Nights on 22, 23...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

One of our favourite restaurant's in Leigh really friendly staff and great food. The mussels here are some of the best anywhereMore

Date of visit: November 2018
3  Thank maldenison58
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Malcolm Many thanks for this lovely review and it’s wonderful to hear that you always enjoy your visits. In case you didn’t know our last themed event of the year is Arabian Nights on 22, 23 and 24th November plus our fabulous Festive Dinner...More

Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Visited this place with my family for breakfast. Being gluten free can often mean finding places I can eat is limiting. When I found this restaurant online, I was really pleased to see they had many gluten free options including gluten free pancakes which is...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Hampblue-2016
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

We’re sorry that you were disappointed that we no longer offer gluten free pancakes and that the website was inaccurate but this is quite a recent change and we are in the process of updating this information. However there were numerous other options that you...More

Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

Amazing venue with beautiful terrace overlooking the sea. Beer and burger night is well worth the money - I can’t wait to return! Thank you to the friendly staff & chefs.More

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank Broganroseeex
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review and it’s wonderful to hear that you not only thoroughly enjoyed your visit on one of our great value Burger’n’Beer Nights but that you also found the team welcoming and friendly. Our festive dinner menu will run...More

Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Just left here, amazing food,phenomenal service nice and friendly,you’ve got two new regulars from you the two new people from LeighMore

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank mo764
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review and how wonderful to hear that you both enjoyed your first visit and we look forward to seeing much more of you in the future. Thought you’d also like to know that we have two more themed...More

Reviewed October 12, 2018

The staff were great & I felt well looked after. The premises was lovely. The starters were lovely but the mains were a real let down. Onion rings were cold & the batter was a bit soggy, the fries (chips) were luke warm & the...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Ashley C
LouiseP23, Owner at The Grove, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2018

Dear Ashley It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant and felt well looked after by the member of the team who served you however I was shocked to read this review and understandably very disappointed. I have spoken to this...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Southend Guest House
68 reviews
1.65 miles away
The Welbeck Hotel
96 reviews
1.78 miles away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
759 reviews
1.98 miles away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
771 reviews
2.30 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cucina
818 reviews
.19 miles away
Sara's Tea Garden
662 reviews
.16 miles away
Osborne Brothers
322 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Old Leigh
905 reviews
.19 miles away
Leigh Heritage Centre
59 reviews
.20 miles away
Leigh Library
49 reviews
.11 miles away
Bell Wharf Beach
61 reviews
.14 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Angela S
September 15, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LouiseP23 | Property representative |
No im sorry we don't
0
Votes
KenBLeigh_on_Sea
March 3, 2015|
Answer
Response from LouiseP23 | Property representative |
Hi I apologise if you get two or three similar messages to this but I wrote back three times from my iPhone but don't think it was sent. The best way is probably a taxi but I am not sure on a price - maybe £12 to £15. I... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Parade, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2HP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 471383
  • E-mail
Description
Contemporary and informal bistro style restaurant open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch or just delicious coffees and cake. Plus 3 evenings for dinner (Thurs*, Fri & Sat - *Apr-Dec). Fully licensed to serve alcohol with meals with an excellent range of wines not found anywhere else in the area.Food cooked with passion, flair and imagination with plenty of options for vegetarians. From warm salads to juicy burgers, Thai curries to flatbread type sandwiches. Specials on the blackboards change every couple of days to keep things interesting.We pride ourselves on looking after all our customers and will do all we can especially for those with dietary needs/allergies.Our evening menu starts at 7pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing