We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Harvester

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
London Road A13, Benfleet, England
+44 1268 793258
Website
Today
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 326: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

I am glad I gave the Harvester a 2nd chance as previously food served cold. Siobhan is an amazing waitress. Very attentive & engages with our family. The food was lovely ( I had the pulled pork burger). Will now try to visit when we know Siobhan is working

Helpful?
Thank lisairis
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Thanks Lisairis, for leaving us this response. You really made our day today. More 

Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2017 via mobile

I returned to the restaurant for a 'second chance' meal after I had a terrible experience there back in February. I complained and was asked by assistant manager to return to give them a chance to put things right. I wish I hadn't bothered. I am sorry to say that this return visit was just as bad with very poor... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank howesd
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

A manager will contact you very soon More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

All round poor experience. Had 5 meals, Chips were terrible all round, cold and tasted like they had been reheated multiple times. 3 x rib meals all very dry and barely any meat on the bones at all. Gravy was like water. Was freezing inside we all kept coats on all night. Swerve this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank gator888
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I will replay this back to my team making sure we improve for the future. Thank you. Chantelle Assistant Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2017 via mobile

We managed to book a late table for Mother's Day evening and we were so glad we did. The food was lovely and the staff are all great. Special thanks to our waitress Donna. Lovely and friendly and made our evening really special. Will definitely be back soon. The female manager (Selina) was also very friendly too. Thank you everyone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lovefoodalot1
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate each and everyone. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2017 via mobile

Was terrible from start to finish for my grandads 70th birthday- 1st we was told the booking was not there! However they put us in the bar area (table of 16 orig booked) 4 men were on one of the tables we needed for our reservation how uncomfortable to make you all feel that you are waiting on people to... More 

Helpful?
Thank 3mzX
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review, we value each and every one. Saturday evening was a very busy time for us, but this doesn't excuse the service that you received from us. We aim to treat every guest as if they have visited us in our own homes. I wonder if you could... More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2017 via mobile

It's shocking how this restaurant is still open. Complete filth, mouldy breakfast pancakes and bread. I mean proper MOULD! Can't cook eggs to save there lives, or bacon did that matter! Understaffed with waiting staff, managers never around. We live less than 5 mins away and will NEVER EVER eat there again

Helpful?
Thank robbo6791
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Hi Robbo6791, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Tarpot take our reviews very seriously. We'd like the opportunity to make this up to you, so if you're willing, please contact our manager at 441268793258. We hope to hear from you. More 

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Waited along time to be seated then the waitress couldn't find a table that was setup. Then waited along time for another waitress to take orders. Not much on salad cart. When we did get our meals, neither were cooked, when management spoke to us very rude and argumentative then without saying anything walked off. We did pay for drinks.

Helpful?
Thank belinda j
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time for leaving us a review. We value each and every review either positive or negative. I have raised your points with both the kitchen manager and wider management team, and we are retraining our teams to give the highest level of guest service and ensuring that all our dishes leave the kitchen to... More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2017

Went last wednesday Evening for my sons 17th birthday. Gone down hill since last experience about a year ago. Went with My wife & two kids, Brother in law & sister in law. This evening was not busy by far about half full. It started with my daughter Cheese burger with no cheese. My sister in law slow cooked beef... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cableman007
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We take both positive and negative and build this into our team training sessions. I have raised your points with both the management team and the kitchen team, and are working with both to address these issues. Thank you again for bringing these to my attention and... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2017

Visited for an early evening meal with an elderly relative. Didn't expect much as this chain is not the best. Whilst most of the staff were helpful and polite, the food is pretty average at best. Mostly microwaved meals and reformed meat ...how they get a slow cooked beef rib to look like that is something I don't want to... More 

Helpful?
Thank DKCO
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I have today passed your comments to our menu development team regarding the beef rib. I have also scheduled a team meeting for later this week to bring up the issues you have raised with the team. Once again, thanks very much for taking the time to leave... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

Popped in on the off chance ..... never again! Shocking reception.... well none in fact! Then my lunch was fish fingers and fries ..... which was stone cold .... fish gingers had probably been cooked half a dozen times coz they were almost hollow 🙈shocking! Awful!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, Manager at The Harvester, responded to this review

Hi If you'd like, please contact us to make your experience a positive one. The Tarpot, 441268793258 we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Tarpot take our reviews very seriously. More 

Travelers who viewed The Harvester also viewed

 
Benfleet, Essex
Rayleigh, Essex
 

Been to The Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $33
Cuisine
British, Grill, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road A13, Benfleet, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Benfleet
  • Phone Number: +44 1268 793258
Description
At The Tarpot Harvester in Benfleet food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Harvester and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Harvester staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?