We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandbanks

Almancil, Vale do Lobo 8135-854, Portugal
+351 289 398 429
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good41%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“prawns” (23 reviews)
“sandwiches” (8 reviews)
“seafood” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Almancil, Vale do Lobo 8135-854, Portugal
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 366 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Had breakfast here this morning. Well worth a visit. Lovey setting, perfect royal eggs benedict, great start to a lovely day.

Thank Caroline H
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The service was extremely slow and took a lot of time for us to place our order. The waitress also took my drink away mid meal even thought it was half full. The scenery was lovely however the time scale in which we ordered and...More

Thank Lauren M
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Have eaten at this restaurant many times, and it is consistently very good. The atmosphere is what makes Sandbanks special; the tables are very nicely presented, the whole theme fits and the location is perfect, overlooking the sea on one side and live music on...More

Thank oliverward26
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to me as a good introduction to my first time in Portugal. Unfortunately we were let down by very bad service and poor food. My wife had a steak and could not eat it due to the sinew. We did complain...More

Thank KennedyBarry
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We hadn't heard much about this restaurant compared to others in the area but it was a welcome surprise. We had such an enjoyable lunch that we booked for dinner the following night however I was unfortunately ill so we had to cancel. Will definitely...More

Thank Foodreviewer2014
SandbanksValedolobo, Guest Relations Manager at Sandbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for your comments about Sandbanks and I am really glad to hear that you had a good experience with us. I will pass your comments on to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We spent the first day of holidays last year and this year at Sandbanks. Great attentive service, good food and a great location for lunch.

Thank pm3103
SandbanksValedolobo, Guest Relations Manager at Sandbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandbanks. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the lunch with us and I will pass your comments on to the team.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Sandbanks is a fine Restraunt, food was ok, we had crab cakes which were dry and the squid for mains which was again ok, no real sides. The staff were very friendly but we had about 6 different waiters come to our table, which I...More

Thank Gavin C
SandbanksValedolobo, Guest Relations Manager at Sandbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of Sandbanks on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you liked the location but sorry that you did not enjoy some of the dishes and found the service off putting. We...More

A TripAdvisor Member
32
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Went there for breakfast with 1 other person. I had poached eggs and smashed avocado on toast with extra bacon and my other half had blueberry pancakes with extra poached egg. We also had coffees and orange juices and a large bottle of water. Bill...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SandbanksValedolobo, Guest Relations Manager at Sandbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks so much for your great feedback from Sandbanks Restaurant. I will pass your comments on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had dinner there 1st beautiful great fish had surf and turf for main it was fine staff very attentive and really enjoyed our meal Then went for lunch the day before we left and now regret not having lunch there more often better selection on...More

Thank Orlaithobr
SandbanksValedolobo, Guest Relations Manager at Sandbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Many thanks for your comments about Sandbanks and I am really glad to hear that you had a good experience with us. I will pass your comments on to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

This is not the first time we have been here, we always try to make it before 11.30, so we can have breakfast menu. 10.00€ including fresh orange juice and pot of tea...always well prepared, well presented and well served...am sure we'll be back The...More

Thank DuggieMT
SandbanksValedolobo, Guest Relations Manager at Sandbanks, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Sandbanks. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast with us and I will pass your comments on to the team.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Montys Restaurant Bar
255 reviews
.01 miles away
Beach Bar
38 reviews
.18 miles away
Amore
116 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Vale do Lobo
168 reviews
.04 miles away
San Lorenzo Golf Course
278 reviews
2.81 miles away
Tennisinportugal
7 reviews
.40 miles away
Vale do Lobo Tennis Academy
50 reviews
.73 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
extimeshare
April 30, 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from extimeshare | Reviewed this property |
Thank you for all answers. It has put my mind at rest a bit. Hopefully there should be some finished pics before we go.
0
Votes
Tuddy1
August 14, 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from SandbanksValedolobo | Property representative |
We are happy to host private functions in Sandbanks and are able to create bespoke solutions for our clients. Please contact us directly to let us know what you are looking for and the team will be more than happy to help... More
0
Votes
MarieAndy_12
June 18, 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from SandbanksValedolobo | Property representative |
We don't have a dress code at Sandbanks, however during the day the atmosphere is more relaxed and in the evening many of our guests choose to wear more evening appropriate clothing.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
9:30 am - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Almancil, Vale do Lobo 8135-854, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Algarve  >  Faro District  >  Vale do Lobo
  • Phone Number: +351 289 398 429
  • E-mail
Description
Sandbanks Fish & Seafood Restaurant is the perfect place for a light breakfast, lazy lunch or a romantic dinner. We offer friendly service, quality food and spectacular views, whether you are taking a break from the beach or enjoying an evening out, you won't be disappointed. The open terrace at Sandbanks is the ideal place to enjoy those mellow summer evenings and the live entertainment that is playing during the summer months in the Vale do Lobo Praca Our varied menu at Sandbanks features a wide variety of fish and seafood, including traditional Cataplana's and Seafood Rice. With our live crab & lobster tank you can choose and help the waiter get your own catch of the day. If you don't see your favourite fish or seafood on our menu, why not Contact us to pre-order it so that we can make your lunch or dinner that extra special.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing