We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
189 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5EA, England
441425279855
Website
Improve this listing
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Description: The Galleon is a family run business in the heart of Highcliffe. It offers...
The Galleon is a family run business in the heart of Highcliffe. It offers a modern take on dining and drinking in a relaxed and stylish atmosphere. Our traditional pub food is all freshly prepared and locally sourced though out Dorset and The New Forest. We have a stunning conservatory and the doors are opened in the warmer months, a very large patio garden which seats 100 people for alfresco drinking and dining and lit in the evenings by over 2000 twinkling lights. We have a beautiful south facing garden, open for alfresco drinking and dining with a childrens play area. Dogs are welcome in the bar area and garden. In colder months we have an open fireplace which creates a wonderfully cosy atmosphere. Coffee & Delicious Cake is served daily from 11am.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 170 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 54
    Excellent
  • 54
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 21
    Poor
  • 21
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Pleasant surprise

The front of the building is a bit drab and did not convey the pleasant interior that we found. Plenty of car parking. Varied a la carte menu with a 2/3 course fixed price table d' Hote menu with coffee included. Food very nice, hot and substantial. Staff pleasant and efficient. Loyalty card... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Mike M
,
Poole, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited the Galleon in January and was so impressed with their friendly service and excellent value 3 courses for £12.50 we booked for Mum in Laws 90th. Having just enjoyed one of the best meals again we do wonder why it's been so quiet on the occasions we have been there. The food is fresh and delicious. A few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grace_Young
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for dinner, had the baked Camembert for starter and it was to die for! Burgers were massive great value for money. Staff are awesome too. Will be back 😁

Helpful?
Thank lauz2393
TheGalleonEnquiries, Manager at The Galleon, responded to this review

Dear Lauz, Thank you for you kind and extremely positive review on The Galleon. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time with us and we are glad to hear that we will be seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Becky & Georgia @ The Galleon More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch, was very disappointed. White bait starter tasted like it had been cooked in old oil, mash potatoes on the fish dish was of a gluey elastic consistency...I can only guess the potatoes had been whisked and the starch had resulted in that texture. Beef was over cooked, meal was generally lacking in taste. Over priced for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo M
TheGalleonEnquiries, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this review

Dear Jo M, thank you for taking time to write a review. Sorry hear that you had a disappointing meal with us. We regularly change our oil up to twice a week at busy times, and are constantly checking the smell, taste and temperature. We home make our Gravy and it is packed with fresh herbs such as sprigs of... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Go at your own risk! My mum and I had chicken pate starter . She had a pie and I had fish and chips. The Fish was smaller than I expected ...especially in comparison to the huge one you get at the Globe pub down the road. It seemed oven cooked or ,if deep fried, not freshly prepared as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz C
TheGalleonEnquiries, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are extremely concerned by the suggestions you have made, as we have a 5 star food and hygiene rating. Very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We would like to address this concern as soon as possible. Please could you email us at '... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
462 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The front of the building is a bit drab and did not convey the pleasant interior that we found. Plenty of car parking. Varied a la carte menu with a 2/3 course fixed price table d' Hote menu with coffee included. Food very nice, hot and substantial. Staff pleasant and efficient. Loyalty card offered after meal. The only negative for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
TheGalleonEnquiries, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this review

Dear Mike M, thank you for your kind review on the Galleon. Happy to hear you enjoyed your meal with us, and like the variety of our menu choices. We apologise for the temperature being low on your visit, with it being such a big building and a lot of it being glass it can sometimes be tricky to keep... More 

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A few months ago I wrote a very critical review of The Galleon when the restaurant was operating as Plates&co. We recently noticed that the Plates&co signs had disappeared, checked out the menu and decided to give it another try. They now have a 'normal' menu with a variety of individually priced dishes, plus a separate section with 2 courses... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PrimroseB94
TheGalleonEnquiries, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this review

Dear Primrose, we are sorry to here that you had a disappointing meal with Plates & Co. We have now taken back the restaurant to make it part of The Galleon again. We have two very accomplished chefs who are passionate about high quality food and good local produce. We would describe our menu to be traditional Homemade pub food... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came to live here in Highcliffe, Dorset 6 months ago. I think I am in heaven!!! Such a beautiful place to live. 3 minutes from the cliff tops and the simply wonderful beach along the Dorset &Hampshire coast..wonderful views across the water to The NEEDLES, just off the western end of THE ISLE OF WIGHT. Look right and you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Regyear
Becky K, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and brilliant description of us and our local area! (we think its pretty great too!) We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful evening celebrating with us. We're over joyed to hear that it was your best New Years Eve yet. We take a lot of pride in our bar as well... More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have eaten in this restaurant. The food and service were outstanding. Everything was well prepared and beautifully presented. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
TheGalleonEnquiries, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this review

Dear Jeff C, thank you for your amazing review on the Galleon. We are delighted to hear that you think highly of us, and that you would recommend us. We take a lot of pride in the quality and presentation of our food and appreciate the great feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Becky & Georgia... More 

Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Just moved to the area, allows dogs in bar which is good for us, staff friendly and helpful. Ate from the sandwich menu, had the sausage sandwich and comes with soup which is nice touch. All in all a pleasant pub and will definitely be going back soon.

Helpful?
Thank JeromeFandor
TheGalleonEnquiries, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this review

Dear JeromeFandor, thank you for your review on the Galleon. We are glad you where pleased with your visit. We will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Becky & Georgia @ the Galleon More 

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

I was part of a group of 15 walkers who lunched at The Galleon today. The appearance was quite pleasing and our drinks orders were dispensed quickly by the young lady behind the bar. Two tables had been set up for our group, the visit had been prearranged. There are mixed reviews on this restaurant on this site but as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colehilloldie
TheGalleonEnquiries, Owner at The Galleon, responded to this review

Dear Colehilloldie, thank you for your thoughtful review on the Galleon. We are happy that you had an enjoyable lunch with us, and that you are pleased with the value of our pub menu. We have now extended this offer to evening 6 till 9 as well as lunch times. We are sorry to hear that there was a wait... More 

Travelers who viewed The Galleon also viewed

Highcliffe, Christchurch
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to The Galleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 189 Lymington Road, Highcliffe, Christchurch BH23 5EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch  >  Highcliffe
  • Phone Number: 441425279855

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: British, Pub

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Large groups, Families with children

Description

The Galleon is a family run business in the heart of Highcliffe. It offers a modern take on dining and drinking in a relaxed and stylish atmosphere. Our traditional pub food is all freshly prepared and locally sourced though out Dorset and The New Forest. We have a stunning conservatory and the doors are opened in the warmer months, a very large patio garden which seats 100 people for alfresco drinking and dining and lit in the evenings by over 2000 twinkling lights. We have a beautiful south facing garden, open for alfresco drinking and dining with a childrens play area. Dogs are welcome in the bar area and garden. In colder months we have an open fireplace which creates a wonderfully cosy atmosphere. Coffee & Delicious Cake is served daily from 11am.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Galleon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?