We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Prestoungrange Gothenburg

227-229 High Street, Prestonpans EH32 9BE, Scotland
+44 1875 819922
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
Closes in 16 min
12:30 PM - 10:45 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
227-229 High Street, Prestonpans EH32 9BE, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tonight was the first night in a long time that I visited “The Goth” for food. I got a very warm welcome from the new hosts Calum & Michelle, who couldn’t do enough to ensure we enjoyed our experience. There was a good variety of...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Saltire1973
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were walking from Longniddry to Cockenzie. Popped in here for a meal. Superb meal in an historic building. More importantly superb staff.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank EdinburghChaz
Reviewed December 12, 2018 via mobile

Went for a family meal and drinks - food was fantastic and drinks very good and not expensive by any means - will definitely be back - can’t rate the place highly enough and such a friendly atmosphere and staff

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank burnetts8
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Walked in, place was quiet bar staff chatting away to each other on their phones. Did take them a while to release me and my partner. Food very average and attitude of staff poor. One woman with blonde hair looked like she hated her job

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LucyThomp
Reviewed August 9, 2018

Lovely atmosphere the building is stunning, listed building that cant or should not ever be changed, lovely food, very nice place to go for drink or meal nice local area to chill out.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Sandra H
Sean W, Owner at Prestoungrange Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words Sandra.

Reviewed July 30, 2018

Visited this weekend. We were camping nearby and walked along to the Goth. We arrived just after food service finished which could have been a huge problem for us. However the chef offered to stay on and cook for us. Excellent service and so appreciated....More

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank JMJ072018
Sean W, Owner at Prestoungrange Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Thank you for such a nice review.

Reviewed July 9, 2018

Went in for a Sunday Lunch with the family and were warmly welcomed. I asked about the history of the bar and was given a guided tour! The food was very tasty, I had the steak and ale pie and the stew was delicious, very...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Jedw1717
Sean W, Owner at Prestoungrange Gothenburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2018

Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewed June 7, 2018 via mobile

Just in for a quick drink and a wee snack. Great service, great food and great prices! I'll be back.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Margaret D
Reviewed May 14, 2018

Second visit to this pub and it really is a great pub - disappointed though that they had none of their own beer on! I had walked from Seton Sands to get here and was hoping to quench my thirst with one of their excellent...More

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank foosty
Reviewed April 23, 2018

My wife and I had dinner here a couple of times and enjoyed it each time. We even booked the function room upstairs for our wedding reception, they recommended a dj, who was good and they offered us a choice of buffet which was well...More

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank penoversword
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
581 reviews
2.79 miles away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
845 reviews
3.11 miles away
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
208 reviews
3.51 miles away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
1,448 reviews
4.16 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
All Mixed Up, The Cafe
20 reviews
.08 miles away
The Filling Station
51 reviews
.19 miles away
Alandas Fish And Chip Shop
64 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Prestongrange Museum
60 reviews
.71 miles away
Thorntree Inn
6 reviews
1.57 miles away
The Coalgate Ormiston
5 reviews
3.67 miles away
Newhailes
140 reviews
3.71 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jo J
March 31, 2018|
Answer
Response from robertcockburn230 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure i have never seen any on the times that i have been there much better at longniddry inn longniddry
-1
Votes
daddymcgoow4
August 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from stallion20000 | Reviewed this property |
I did eat there.
0
Votes
Peter R
July 24, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Sean W | Property representative |
We don't like to make assumptions, but on this occasion we will assume your pet is a dog. In which case he/she is most welcome. If your pet is a creature other than a dog, then we will do what we can to accommodate. We have... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $19
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 PM - 10:45 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:00 PM - 10:45 PM
Thursday
5:00 PM - 10:45 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:45 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:45 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 227-229 High Street, Prestonpans EH32 9BE, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  East Lothian  >  Prestonpans
  • Phone Number: +44 1875 819922
  • E-mail
Description
The Prestoungrange Gothenburg was established in 1908 and still continues as a bar and restaurant to this date. There is also a microbrewery attached, which produces some of our own real ales served from casks. We have a varied menu that changes regularly as well as an excellent selection of beers, malt whisky and gin. Every Saturday night there is live music in the bar and on the first Sunday of each month we have an open folk music session. Light lunch options are available during the day. Our evening menu is varied and includes many dishes using locally sourced produce.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing