We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Arkle Manor

$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Reigate Road, Betchworth RH3 7HB, England
+44 1737 842110
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Mon - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 384: English reviews
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I never thought I would write this kind of review ever! We decided with friends to visit this pub/restaurant as we have had good food and service here before. Recently the standard of service has dropped back somewhat whilst the food had remained good. In this instance the server was dreadful, being outright rude to my husband and our friend's... More 

Helpful?
Thank bonniedrysdale
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had drinks out front in the sunset, nice. Moved inside for food. Had high hopes from looking at the menu but not the best steak I've had for the price. Even more disappointed in the warm chocolate brownie. It was piping hot like it had come from a microwave (not just nicely warm). Mentioned this to staff.

Helpful?
Thank AndyMurray
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear AndyMurray, Thank you for your review. We are sorry your Steak was not to the quality you have had in the past. We always endeavour to get the best produce but obviously not on this occasion. Your feedback on the Brownie has been passed on to the team. Regards, The Arkle Manor More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not a huge choice for vegetarians. The cheese soufflé hard amid lashings of white sauce. Disappointing. Seat covers have seen better days as very stained and the floor and around the sinks in the ladies definitely need some attention.

Helpful?
Thank 11Carole1955
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear 11Carole1955, Thank you for your review. Our menu is changed seasonally and will be refreshed in September and we are having a full refurbishment in late October. We look forward to seeing you then. Regards, The Arkle Manor More 

Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped in here on the way home for dinner and were pleasantly surprised how quiet it was and the wide selection of food on the menu. However, despite the quietness the service was a bit on the slow side and several items on the menu were not available.

Helpful?
Thank Marty B
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Marty B, Thank you for stopping by to see us, sorry you felt the service was a bit slow but we hope you enjoyed your meals. We do try to offer our full menu whenever possible and hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Arkle Manor More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just off the busy A25 this is an oasis of well-upholstered calm with extensive parking, a genuinely ambitious and eclectic menu, excellent organisation and service and, most importantly, good food. The only downside, thus the 4* only for food, was that my "double fried" chips were basically just soggy, overdone lumps of ochre potato which looked good but had terrible... More 

Helpful?
Thank arnorab
Great Wolford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First visit having driven past for almost 40 years! Lovely ambience. So great to see different menu options. Friendly, helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank WolfordWanderer
ArkleGM, General Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear WolfordWanderer, Thank you for your kind review, we do hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Arkle Manor Team More 

London England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you for always making us so welcome - we really love going out here for a meal. We especally love their Seabass and my husband loves the lamb also. Their are lovely seating areas both inside and out to chill and have a drink before moving into the restaurant for dinner. Service is fantastic and last time we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary_GableEnd
ArkleGM, Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Mary_GableEnd Thank you very much for your lovely kind words. We love to see familiar friendly faces at our establishment and look forward to seeing you once more, hopefully in the near future. Our Front of House and Back of House teams both strive to ensure all our guests have a great experience and am very glad to see... More 

Kenley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice decor and atmosphere. The service was attentive. The menu was interesting and the food was hot and very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank jandrgould
ArkleGM, Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Jandrgould Thank you very much for your kind words. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, The Arkle Manor More 

Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ordered the roast lamb for Sunday lunch. Bland, bland! No seasoning of the food. The service when we arrived was full on - and as we ate lunch the staff seemed to disappear off somewhere? Not my idea of a good Sunday lunch for the price. The presentation should also be looked into. Just a pile of food on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rene B
ArkleGM, Manager at The Arkle Manor, responded to this review

Dear Rene B Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that your last visit was not up to scratch and we have passed this onto both our Front of House and Back of House teams. Sunday's are by far our busiest day of the week, and our staff work very long hours. We do try and... More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2016

Has exactly the same menu as the Horse and Groom in Merrow and the Inn at Maybury. The starters are OK but I find the mains to be over-priced and not really fit to eat. I doubt that I will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl M

Travelers who viewed The Arkle Manor also viewed

 

Been to The Arkle Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$15 - $26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Reigate Road, Betchworth RH3 7HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Betchworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1737 842110

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Arkle Manor staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?