We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stannary Court

95-99 Ridgeway, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 2AA, England
+44 1752 283280
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good27%
  • Average15%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible24%
Travelers talk about
“curry” (5 reviews)
“burgers” (7 reviews)
“real ale” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
95-99 Ridgeway, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 2AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 417 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I used to go to this place lots with various friends and family. Sadly it has gone downhill, the food is not good at all where it used to be nice. I’m always aware that this pub has very reasonable prices, but if the food...More

Thank Woobster
Reviewed yesterday

We visited with family and friends for steak night, as we have done in the past. It seems that the chef on duty that night has forgotten how to cook a steak, and our server had no idea what she was bringing out. Two rump...More

Thank Anise76
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have visited the Stannary on a number of occasions and are always dissatisfied with the service and state of the venue. Was never like this to start with. Today we arrived at 3pm where there was managers specials all over the tables offering Steak...More

Thank rcouling
The Stannary C, General Manager at The Stannary Court, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi rcouling, We here at The Stannary Court would like to offer our apologies for your poor experience. After speaking to Gavin, the manager in question and the staff who were working at this point it appears that the situation was nothing short of unfortunate....More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

While our main meals were fine although a bit of a wait for the third meal to arrive.. our desserts were very disappointing. We ordered two millionaire shortbread sundaes. Half way through the sundaes we both got a strong taste of ginger, which although some...More

1  Thank alexbc1990
The Stannary C, General Manager at The Stannary Court, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi alexbc1990, I am extremely disappointed to read this review and offer our sincerest apologies. Our Millionaire Sundaes contain Viennese Shortcake, after investigating the incident you have reviewed it appears that there was some confusion in the kitchen and our front of house Ginger Stem...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us went out for my partners birthday on sat 18th Nov and from the moment we stepped foot in there the bar staff wasn't friendly, and we noticed dirty/cloudy wine glasses hanging above the bar which should of been clean!. We had to...More

3  Thank Judy T
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

Ordered breakfast for a family of 6 the food was cold and the items ordered extra didn’t arrive when we questioned it we were told we would have to go to the bar and pay extra absolutely disgusting service will not be back againMore

Thank Andrew B
The Stannary C, General Manager at The Stannary Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Andrew, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies that your visit was clearly not up to yours or the venues expectations. I can only apologise that your breakfast's were not hot, there is never an excuse for a cold breakfast. I do hope...More

Reviewed October 28, 2017

Took my family here on a Saturday night. Whilst the pub was busy, it was clean and ordered. The young lady behind the bar was friendly and efficient as she took my order. The young man who presented our food was courteous. The food was...More

Thank Tefty
Stannary M, General Manager at The Stannary Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tefty, Thank you for your kind and positive feedback, we apologize for the delay in response. We here at The Stannary Court believe that our wonderful team is what drives the venue forward and makes us a great employer. It really is wonderful to...More

Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Excellent, very good prices, staff helpful, food great at prices! Always clean and tables emptied promptly. Job done.More

Thank Steeb A
The Stannary C, General Manager at The Stannary Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Steeb A, From everyone here at The Stannary Court i would like to Thank You for your kind words and positive feedback. We always strive to provide a great atmosphere for both our loyal and new customers and are over the moon to read...More

Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Teatime with friends. Friendly helpful staff. Had fish and chips with a soft drink. Good value. Ideal location. Would highly recommend.More

Thank 65driv
The Stannary C, General Manager at The Stannary Court, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 65driv, It fills us with pride to read these type of reviews and are always grateful for all feedback given to improve upon. The friendly and helpful staff really are what we are all about, they are what continues to make this pub the...More

Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

Just frequented the stannary in plympton for a breakfast with the family waited 50 minutes to be served with dry cold food that has obviously been under a hot plate shocking couldn't be asked to send it back very poor 0/10 clueless

Thank mike b
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Brook Inn
371 reviews
.50 miles away
St Elizabeths Restaurant & Bar
274 reviews
.51 miles away
St Stephens Bakery
39 reviews
.02 miles away
Finla Coffee
86 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The George Inn Plympton
66 reviews
.06 miles away
The Union Inn Plympton
25 reviews
.40 miles away
The Post Office Inn
7 reviews
.04 miles away
The Sir Joshua Reynolds pub
10 reviews
.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
codybuzz
December 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Graham B | Reviewed this property |
No dogs allowed.
0
Votes
Dam1985
September 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from samandalf | Reviewed this property |
As I've said previously, the place is a joke and incredibly poorly managed. You get la me responses / excuses from the management on here but the fact remains that it is by far the worst weatherspoons I've ever been in.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$3 - $13
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 95-99 Ridgeway, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 2AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth  >  Plympton
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 283280
  • E-mail
Description
Part of the JDWetherspoon Pub chain, Located in the heart of Plympton. Best Bar None - Overall, Winner 2017. Best Bar None - Best Casual Dining, Winner 2017. Best Bar None - Best Pub, Runner-Up 2017. Best Bar None - Best Pub, Winner 2016.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing