We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Treacle Mine

$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Treacle Mine Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
01375 382735
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sat near the t.v.my team were about to lose,my chips were not quite hot enough, the wife was moaning that they had used thin sliced brown bread for hersandwich,1 or 2 guys getting a bit loud & swearing about the football, none of this mattered at this moment,as my taste buds were in a feeding frenzy savouring every morsel of... More 

Helpful?
Thank frank c
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Frank Thank you for your review on the Treaclmine. I am very happy that you had a great experience with one of our burgers! I am sorry to hear that your wife was disappointed with our sliced bread which the supplier assures me is medium sliced. We do try to manage the conduct of our guests but as you... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Disgusted with the chef's attempt to give me a pathetic attempt at cod and chips. Was served extremely crunchy batter that was full of air and hardly any fish which I really don't think was cod. I was so angry that he felt he could serve this pathetic effort I confronted a waitress through the open door to the kitchen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Dear Kevin Thank you for taking time out to review the Treaclemine pub. I am sorry that you had a disappointing visit with us. We order in two types of fish and batter these ourselves. There is a distinct difference between the two. and they should be of a certain size within the price range and I do apologise if... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Treacle Mine should change its name to the Treacle Sty as the food is swill... We waited for 45 minutes - it can only have taken 2 minutes to prepare the rubbish that was presented, the other 43 minutes must have been spent sifting through a bin to find it !! Unfortunately we were with a very elderly relative... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindaD6199YZ
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Dear Linda I am sorry that you had an unsatisfactory visit to the Treaclemine. It is unfortunate that you did not bring the issue to the duty managers attention as we strive to deliver great food and service, and would have rectified the issues. I would be grateful if you would contact me so that we can discuss this further.... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I wanted to enjoy my visit to The Treacle Mine as its my local pub. Sadly, after waiting over an hour for a fishcake salad I wont be returning. The fishcake was tasty but well overcooked as was my friends starter of pulled pork potato skins (she couldn't get the knife to cut them!). Her scampi was very dark brown... More 

Helpful?
Thank oldessexbird
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Treaclemine and I am sorry that you had a disappointing visit. We aim to deliver great service and food. I would appreciate it if you would contact me personally to discuss your visit More 

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quite when we went payed at the bar and ordered so no waiting but still a bit slow but well worth it good hearty food hot too.

Helpful?
Thank Mick777777
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Mick that you for your review of the Treaclemine. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and hope to see you again soon More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A wide choice of menu. Food is freshly cooked and the service was excellent. We ordered and waited a short while. Good value for money and lots of parking. Would certainly visit again

Helpful?
Thank Locke21
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Treaclmeine. I am happy that you had a great experience with us and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

went their today Bank Holiday Monday expecting it to be packed but at 3 pm the Rush was over. It was so nice to actually go to the bar and order food without having to wait for ages, we did have to wait at least three quarters of an hour but we enjoyed what we had. I must say we... More 

Helpful?
Thank LiviEssex
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your review on the Treaclmeine. I am glad that you enjoyed your food and the service provided by the team. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Have visited this establishment today and was disappointed overall.one member of staff running bar and taking food orders.this lead to a frustrated queue.once served returned to table when I checked bill I had been over charged by 2.50 p I returned to the bar and told staff member and was refunded.As we were sharing food had to ask for finger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Dear Wendy Thank you for taking the time out to give us feedback at the Treaclemine. I am sorry that you had a disappointing visit, We aim to deliver great service and food but sometimes extenuating circumstances prevent this. If you would like to contact me to discuss this further I would be happy to do so. More 

London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is none of those places where you have to queue with beer drinkers to order food at the bar and then locate your own cutlery etc. The bar ordering service was very poor and I was left waiting for ages. Apparently the woman who should have served me thought I was with someone else so just walked off rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigNidriFan
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your feedback of the Treaclemine pub. I am sorry that there was some confusion with our service, we do aim to deliver friendly service. At present we do have a new team working alongside our existing team and this feedback is welcome to use towards our training. Once again thank you for your comments More 

Grays, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Came today to have a meal with my children. Food came up quickly. Perhaps a bit too quickly. The pizza was hard like it had been microwaved. The potato skins were deep fried but absolutely dripping in fat. The guacamole is out of a jar!!! Really not a very pleasant experience at all. Won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Keeley M
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Dear Keeley Thank you for your feedback for the Treaclmine sizzling pub & grill. I am sorry that you felt your food was delivered too quickly and was too greasy. Some of our food is fried and some grilled. I have taken these comments on board and have passed this over to our kitchen team. If you would like to... More 

Travelers who viewed The Treacle Mine also viewed

Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 

Been to The Treacle Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Treacle Mine Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Grays Thurrock
  • Phone Number: 01375 382735
Description
When it comes to great pub food and drink, The Treacle Mine in Grays sets the standard for customers from nearby South Ockendon, West Thurock & Chafford Hundred and across Essex. Of all the pubs and bars in Grays our food menu and drinks selection mean we offer quality, choice, and above all value that are second to none.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Treacle Mine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?