We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Treacle Mine

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Treacle Mine Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
+44 1375 382735
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We haven't been to the Treacle Mine for a couple of years due to a couple of previous disasters. They must be under new management and or a new chef. On this occasion we couldn't really fault them. It was generally clean and tidy, other than our food being thrown at us when it was brought to us staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is nice, but I was waiting for around 90 minutes for an APPETISER, what the hell? I would love to try the breakfast's that they are advertising, though, they do look interesting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Donna H, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're sorry that you had to wait for your food, but please do try our breakfasts. More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2016

Myself and friends went for early Christmas meal 3 courses for £12 .well the starters was prawn cocktails was very dry and tasteless watery sauce , the Turkey dinner was preheated the roast potatoes were frozen ones .the dessert was much better even tho I ordered Christmas pud bar got chocolate brownie.instead wouldn't go again .service was slow

Helpful?
1 Thank debra m
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Debra Thank you for taking the time to review the Treaclemine. We take all of the feedback seriously and will look into the issues raised. More 

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Cold food on every plate, bad service, missing meals, missing sides, took orders wrong, long wait at the bar ... terrible

Helpful?
Thank danrees95
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Treaclemine. I am sorry that you had a bad experience. We strive to deliver excellent food and service. If you would like to discuss your visit with me then please do not hesitate to contact me. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

Such a nice place to visit, great staff and friendly atmosphere. Will be returning over xmas for sure

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time out to write your review on the Treaclemine. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable visit and found us to be friendly. I am looking forward to you returning over the Christmas period. More 

london/uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Great for family parties or romantic meal out. For around £15 you have a great meal and a large pudding and a drink.

Helpful?
Thank Ensignbus1
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, we strive to offer fantastic food and service with a great value menu and very much appreciate your feedback,we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Kind Regards From All the team at the Treaclemine More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2016 via mobile

Visited the treacle mine and an incident happened outside and went to speak to the owners to ring the police and they closed the doors and didn't want to have any involvement with the matter. Absolutely disgraceful when the matter happened inside.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia O
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Lucia, I am sorry that you had an incident at the Treaclemine, which I was unaware of and if I had of been I would have helped deal with the situation. If you would like to discuss this with me then please contact me. I have left my details as you know on messenger. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Top class food from a great pub. Thank you Adam and Nick we will be back. Loved the new sauaages and cheesecake too

Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Leanne thank you for your review of the Treaclemine. I am please that you enjoyed the food from our new menu More 

Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

Superb. The unfinishable breakfast - wow! The full English is great too. Excellent value for money. Blue Light card holders also get additional 10% discount at Sizzling pubs.

Helpful?
Thank Samj0702
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Sam Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on The Treaclemine. I am pleased that you were wowed by our breakfasts and hoping that you will return soon More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2016

I went here for breakfast with the girls but being on a diet, didn't want to order from the menu. They were so obliging, poaching eggs instead of frying and let me bring my own bread that they toasted for me. And such very friendly staff. Ten out of ten!

Helpful?
Thank Mummypepper
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to review the Treaclemine and that you had an enjoyable visit, Our aim is to please all of our guests and cater for all requirements wherever possible and I am pleased that we achieved this with you. Looking forward to seeing you again More 

Travelers who viewed The Treacle Mine also viewed

Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
West Thurrock, Grays Thurrock
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
Ilford, Greater London
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 

Been to The Treacle Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Treacle Mine Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Grays Thurrock
  • Phone Number: +44 1375 382735
Description
When it comes to great pub food and drink, The Treacle Mine in Grays sets the standard for customers from nearby South Ockendon, West Thurock & Chafford Hundred and across Essex. Of all the pubs and bars in Grays our food menu and drinks selection mean we offer quality, choice, and above all value that are second to none.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Treacle Mine and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Treacle Mine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?