We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Treacle Mine

$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Treacle Mine Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
01375 382735
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Have visited this establishment today and was disappointed overall.one member of staff running bar and taking food orders.this lead to a frustrated queue.once served returned to table when I checked bill I had been over charged by 2.50 p I returned to the bar and told staff member and was refunded.As we were sharing food had to ask for finger... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is none of those places where you have to queue with beer drinkers to order food at the bar and then locate your own cutlery etc. The bar ordering service was very poor and I was left waiting for ages. Apparently the woman who should have served me thought I was with someone else so just walked off rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank BigNidriFan
Grays, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Came today to have a meal with my children. Food came up quickly. Perhaps a bit too quickly. The pizza was hard like it had been microwaved. The potato skins were deep fried but absolutely dripping in fat. The guacamole is out of a jar!!! Really not a very pleasant experience at all. Won't be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Keeley M
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the pub to watch football on Monday evening and needed to order something to eat as hadn't had the chance before arriving. Even though it was busy for a Monday, my pie with chips & onion bites came out fresh with a smile delivered by Donna. Each time I went to the bar I found the staff to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin T
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Colin Thank you for your review of the Treaclemine. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable meal and found us to be friendly and welcoming. I hope that your team won! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and work colleagues came here this morning for breakfast After a very long wait breakfast finally arrived but to our disappointment the order was messed up after asking for poached eggs on one out of the four so the bar assistant took my breakfast into the back and took of the fried eggs then returned the plate to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard K
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Dear Mr K I am sorry that you had an unsatisfactory visit to the Treaclemine. We strive to deliver great service and food. We do however thank you for your feedback and if you would like to call me in person then we can discuss your visit further. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The food is absolutely appalling. We both had burgers of some description. They were both awful, dry meat, old limp bit of lettuce and very under cooked chips. It looked totally pathetic on the plate, total embarrassment to send that out of the kitchen. Everything was very unclean, table and menus were sticky, cutlery dirty etc. I have no idea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucy C
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Dear Lucy Thank you for your feedback on the Treaclemine. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your meals. We do strive to deliver great food and service in clean and tidy surroundings. We do have a management team in place to deal with any feedback in person. It would be nice to discuss these issues with you in... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my mum during a week so it was too busy. The food is good for pub fare and reasonably priced. Staff were welcoming and friendly. They have a lovely pub garden, which is great for this time of year.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry H
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Sherry Thank you for your review of the Treaclemine. I happy that you and your mother had an enjoyable visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is anything I can do in the future More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food is usually OK but at busy times the wait can be long and it can be overcooked or cold when it arrives.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys D
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Rhys I am please that you usually have a good experience when visiting the Treaclemine. If at any time you do have a bad experience then please inform us. More 

Ballymena
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met a couple of friends here for a meal and quiet conversation. Pub is located at a roundabout and was very busy which is always a good sign. Excellent choice. My 20 oz steak went down a treat after a long day touring the local area. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank John S
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi John Thank you for your review and I am happy that you had a very enjoyable experience with us and that your 20oz steak was to your liking. More 

Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice, simple, tasty British Pub grub, just what we wanted. A good selection of real ales. Value for money, can't go wrong.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathon W
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Jonathon Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Treaclemine. I am happy that you had an enjoyable visit and our cask ales met with your approval. Thank you More 

Travelers who viewed The Treacle Mine also viewed

Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
Grays Thurrock, Essex
North Stifford, Grays Thurrock
 

Been to The Treacle Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Treacle Mine Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Grays Thurrock
  • Phone Number: 01375 382735
Description
When it comes to great pub food and drink, The Treacle Mine in Grays sets the standard for customers from nearby South Ockendon, West Thurock & Chafford Hundred and across Essex. Of all the pubs and bars in Grays our food menu and drinks selection mean we offer quality, choice, and above all value that are second to none.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Treacle Mine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?