We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Treacle Mine

$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
01375 382735
Website
Today
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Meals were the standard that you would expect from a carvary / Brewers fare also all of emergency vehicles running by as you on the main road so a bit noisy not ideal for a quite drink

Helpful?
Thank alfieburgess
Pentlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My grandson wanted to go to the Treacle Mine so as it was his birthday treat we obliged. I had no preconceptions as to what we would be eating or the standard. I was very pleasantly surprised as the food was far better than it could have been and the staff were very professional. All in all it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raymond R
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Some colleagues and I visited for lunch on Friday and the food was appalling! We only had an hour for lunch so had pre-ordered our meal. Having spent 15minutes trying to correct this when we arrived as it had been taken down wrong, we finally sat down. My friend and I ordered a BLT and it was not quite what... More 

Helpful?
Thank JMRE218
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visit this pub on many occasions as its local to me and my family and would give it a higher rating if they would sort their staffing issues out! It's certainly putting me & a lot of my family and friends off now and it's such a shame as the pub is always so busy as its value for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited Tuesday at 5.35 only about 20 people in restaurant section ,ordered our food from the bar from the new menu ,having visited many times before could not see much change on the menu ,we waited 50 minutes for our food with no apology for the delay ,Did not like the new way it was served ,in what I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter J
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Dear Peter I am sorry that you had a disappointing visit to the Treaclemine. We do aim to serve great food and deliver great service. I would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us of the issues you encountered, which I have taken on board. If you would like to contact me at The Treaclemine we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went on Sunday for early dinner. Went in to practically a quarter-full pub. It had a sign stating 'please wait to be seated'. I went and asked a lady behind the till, 'do I really have to wait to be seated?' She replied yes. After 5 minutes, she popped over and said with two of you, just anywhere. She carried... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky C
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Jacky I am sorry that you felt we had a do not care attitude, but we do aim to please all of our guests. As it was Fathers Day on the Sunday of your visit we had bookings for tables, therefore we had the table with the sign on asking our guests to wait. As one of the tables... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016 via mobile

I visited the treacle mine on a friday night, I have been here before but not for a couple of years, I was welcomed before I even entered the pub by a young lady who was clearing glasses. When I got to the bar I was served within a minute or so by Ian and acknowledged staight away. With my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DEX111111
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to review the treaclemine. I am glad that you have returned to us and that you had a pleasant and welcoming experience and look forward to meeting you in the future. More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

Popped in tonight for our normal couple of drinks, although not serving food tonight as they have had a revamp in a few areas, we were greeted by Ann and her team all looking very smart and was given a taster of most of the dishes on their new menu. The food was amazing and we will be definitely returning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out to review the Treaclemine. I am pleased that you enjoyed our little taster evening prior to the launch of our new menu. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

Great steak tonight thank you chefs Carly and Ian. As always the bangers and cheddar mash was scrumpy.

Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Treaclemine. I am happy that you enjoyed your meals. More 

Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Once again, we had a long Day at work. Decided to have A Friday night treat... Steak was cooked to perfection.. No fat, no gristle.. Perfect.. Piping hot, chunky chips. Absolutely loving this place

Helpful?
1 Thank L4INEY
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit More 

Travelers who viewed The Treacle Mine also viewed

Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 

Been to The Treacle Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $15
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Grays Thurrock
  • Phone Number: 01375 382735
Description
When it comes to great pub food and drink, The Treacle Mine in Grays sets the standard for customers from nearby South Ockendon, West Thurock & Chafford Hundred and across Essex. Of all the pubs and bars in Grays our food menu and drinks selection mean we offer quality, choice, and above all value that are second to none.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Treacle Mine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?