We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Treacle Mine

$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Treacle Mine Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
+44 1375 382735
Website
Today
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:30 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 155: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We use this venue a lot and it never disappoints. It is very versatile and offers a good menu selection at excellent prices. Breakfast lunch or evening meal they are all winners.

Helpful?
Thank waynep19642015
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Wayne Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of the Treaclemine. We are so pleased that you enjoy visiting us on a very frequent basis and that we have not disappointed you More 

london/uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Cater for big family gatherings or single person. Great atmosphere. Always had a great meal, cheap for what you get, and the puddings yum yum

Helpful?
Thank Ensignbus1
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Ensignbus1 Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Treaclemine. We are so pleased that you enjoy your visits and your meals with us, and I agree the desserts are yummy More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Service and food used to be good Not so much now. Staff tried to do their best, but think further training on tills needed! Really disappointed with food. It used to be so much better.

Helpful?
Thank Sherry H
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Sherry thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Treaclemine. I am sorry that your visit was disappointing. We do aim to give great quality food and service and you have identified a need with our service which I will strive to rectify. thank you once again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

Cheap and friendly pub Food and drinks are a good price.. Ideal if you want something on the quick, on route to lakeside shopping centre..all ages are welcome

Helpful?
Thank loufuse
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Lou Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Treaclemine. I am please that you found us to friendly and value for money. More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

We haven't been to the Treacle Mine for a couple of years due to a couple of previous disasters. They must be under new management and or a new chef. On this occasion we couldn't really fault them. It was generally clean and tidy, other than our food being thrown at us when it was brought to us staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Duncan Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on the Treaclemine. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us this time and found the staff, food and prices to be good. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2016

The food is nice, but I was waiting for around 90 minutes for an APPETISER, what the hell? I would love to try the breakfast's that they are advertising, though, they do look interesting.

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Donna H, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're sorry that you had to wait for your food, but please do try our breakfasts. More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2016

Myself and friends went for early Christmas meal 3 courses for £12 .well the starters was prawn cocktails was very dry and tasteless watery sauce , the Turkey dinner was preheated the roast potatoes were frozen ones .the dessert was much better even tho I ordered Christmas pud bar got chocolate brownie.instead wouldn't go again .service was slow

Helpful?
1 Thank debra m
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Debra Thank you for taking the time to review the Treaclemine. We take all of the feedback seriously and will look into the issues raised. More 

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile

Cold food on every plate, bad service, missing meals, missing sides, took orders wrong, long wait at the bar ... terrible

Helpful?
Thank danrees95
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Treaclemine. I am sorry that you had a bad experience. We strive to deliver excellent food and service. If you would like to discuss your visit with me then please do not hesitate to contact me. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

Such a nice place to visit, great staff and friendly atmosphere. Will be returning over xmas for sure

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General Manager A, General Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time out to write your review on the Treaclemine. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable visit and found us to be friendly. I am looking forward to you returning over the Christmas period. More 

london/uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Great for family parties or romantic meal out. For around £15 you have a great meal and a large pudding and a drink.

Helpful?
Thank Ensignbus1
General Manager A, Manager at The Treacle Mine, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, we strive to offer fantastic food and service with a great value menu and very much appreciate your feedback,we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. Kind Regards From All the team at the Treaclemine More 

Travelers who viewed The Treacle Mine also viewed

Grays Thurrock, Essex
Grays Thurrock, Essex
 
Grays Thurrock, Essex
Dagenham, Greater London
 

Been to The Treacle Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$8 - $15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available
Good for
Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
11:30 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Treacle Mine Lodge Lane, Grays Thurrock RM17 5PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Grays Thurrock
  • Phone Number: +44 1375 382735
Description
When it comes to great pub food and drink, The Treacle Mine in Grays sets the standard for customers from nearby South Ockendon, West Thurock & Chafford Hundred and across Essex. Of all the pubs and bars in Grays our food menu and drinks selection mean we offer quality, choice, and above all value that are second to none.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Treacle Mine and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Treacle Mine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?