We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Badger

Ponteland NE20 9BT, England
+44 1661 871037
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“chicken pie” (16 reviews)
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
“pudding” (38 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Ponteland NE20 9BT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went today and the food was good and wholesome, but mostly I was really impressed with the service. Two ladies served us and they could not have been friendlier and more helpful. So lovely I thought i would put a review on and mention it.

1  Thank TommyLoxford
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely pub with roaring fires on a cold Saturday afternoon. We found a table no bother but we were told we had missed the lunch time rush, we arrived around 2.30pm. Ordered at the bar, unfortunately they had run out of fish so we settled...More

Thank AliJ29
General Manager A, Manager at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review. We hadn’t actually run out of fish but I was unhappy with the quality, so I wouldn’t serve it. Glad you enjoyed what you had. Best regards, Peter.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visiting Newcastle airport in business & spotted this lovely looking pub restaurant on the way. I made a point of popping back for dinner & bagging a cosy speck by the chimney. It was an early dinner so I was able to choose from the...More

1  Thank annettesjl
General Manager A, Owner at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Glad you enjoyed your visit Anne.Thanks for your review. Cheers, Peter.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As a local visiter to the badger, since it has been renovated we wanted to see what it was like as always love the Badger - which does look lovely! Got a table and ordered our food! The table had a few glasses on which...More

1  Thank Deile P
General Manager A, Manager at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Disappointed with your review. It is not in our interest not to clean up. The standing joke is that our guests always want to sit at a dirty table, when there are clean and set tables available. Really sorry it wasn’t as tidy as we...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The Badger has just been refurbished and looks wonderful. Staff were very welcoming and the food was very enjoyable had a lovely night will be back soon

Thank marionsang
General Manager A, Manager at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your great review Marion. See you soon , Cheers, Peter.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited with my partner and his mum for Christmas Fayre meal. Nice menu, food and service, restaurant was cosy and warm with real fires. Two of us had starters of soup and prawn, lobster tail cocktail. The soup was lovely and the bread with both...More

1  Thank 72Mary
General Manager A, Manager at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Mary. Will speak to the chef about your review in the morning. Especially the lettuce. Cheers, Peter.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called today for our annual catch up with members of the family. We had lunch which was very good. The food was perfect and worth every penny.

Thank robertgtait
General Manager A, Manager at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Robert. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Cheers, Peter.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for 3pm on Sunday & we were shown to our table where we sat for 15 minutes waiting to order some drinks. When I eventually caught the eye of a waitress I was told "Just a minute" & off she went to another table...More

Thank dlglasper16
General Manager A, Manager at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Really sorry you were disappointed with your visit this Sunday, No excuse, please email me at badgerponteland@vintageinn.co.uk Best Regards, Peter

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for a fairly early sitting and pre booked, which turned out to be the right option in this busy place. A Vintage Inn chain, but with its own unique feel to the place. Food was tasty and portions were big. Fairly pricey but...More

Thank LYPud
General Manager A, Manager at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review LY Pud. Cheers, Team Badger

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on Sunday afternoon. The vegetarian options were very limited due to the reduced Sunday menu. I opted to have the butternut squash and mushroom tart. The accompanying vegetables were totally raw. They were just big raw sticks of carrots and parsnips. The roast...More

Thank Flopsyherbert
General Manager A, Manager at The Badger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi. Last Sunday was one to learn from. Really Sorry your dinners weren’t up to scratch please email me directly at badgerponteland@vintageinn.co.uk. Thanks for your kind comments re our team and service. Best regards, Peter.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Branches Restaurant, Bar and Grill
246 reviews
.94 miles away
Ristorante Fratelli
664 reviews
.83 miles away
Newcastle Aspire Lounge
157 reviews
.66 miles away
The Blackbird
272 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Northumbria Helicopters
36 reviews
1.94 miles away
Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens
408 reviews
3.68 miles away
Delta Force Paintball Newcastle
108 reviews
3.89 miles away
The Blackbird
43 reviews
1.00 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Liz G
September 2, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from siniraji | Reviewed this property |
Traditional bar didn't see cocktails
1
Vote
Trond L
July 10, 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from theauldwife | Reviewed this property |
Well behaved dogs are welcome on the decking at the front of the pub as well as in the garden at the rear. Inside you can only sit with your dog at any of the tables in front of the bar area ( hard floor), they are not... More
2
Votes
jodiethmpsn
January 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 18 answers
Response from Badger P | Property representative |
good afternoon So sorry for the delay in responding to your question. Looking at the above you probably have your answer. To clarify we endeavour to take your order at the table however if you prefer to order at the bar... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ponteland NE20 9BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Ponteland
  • Phone Number: +44 1661 871037
Description
The Badger is located less than 2 minutes drive from Newcastle International airport and approximately 8 minutes walk.You can easily access the city centre via the metro system which runs from Newcastle airport.If you driving by car it takes 10 minutes to the city centre at peak times.It is ideal if you are visiting Hadrians wall or travelling from Scotland. The beautiful Cheviot hills are clearly visible.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing