We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Holcombe Inn Restaurant

Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
+44 1761 232478
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good14%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“scallops” (8 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub, Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 199 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2016

We were in the area for a few hours and came upon this lovely Inn. The garden and the Inn have great luzury appeal, so we decided to stay for lunch. The service and food were exemplary, we had the pie of the day and...More

Thank sheilatravels
Reviewed September 6, 2016

I am sorry to say I was not at all impressed with the staff and menu. Maybe previous results were before 2016. When we had the SPECIAL OCCASION MENU there was no chicken on it just red meats etc. I telephoned requesting chicken meal off...More

3  Thank colesmarilyn
Reviewed September 4, 2016

First time I've eaten here but definitely not the last. Service,food,ambience all superb. Really interesting menu with well resolved flavour combinations. Excellent!!!

Thank rilcheroo
Reviewed August 31, 2016

We've said it all - eat in the restaurant, better still stay in the Inn - you will not be disappointed!

Thank William A
africa9680, Front Office Manager at The Holcombe Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope that you will visit again soon.

Reviewed August 18, 2016

Chilli , lime and crayfish linguine with rocket was a mixture of linguine and spaghetti ,no trace of lime on rocket and most importantly no crayfish ,when pointing this out to the waiter he assured me it would be there and said ( there very...More

1  Thank dorakammer
africa9680, Owner at The Holcombe Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

I am very sorry about your disappointment over your lunch with us this time. The chef did make a mistake with your dish, omitting the main ingredient which is not acceptable of course. We did offer you another dish or a freshly made linguini but...More

Reviewed August 17, 2016

We had a lovely stay at the Holcombe Inn. Our bedroom was delightful with great attention to detail including bath robes, sparkling and still water and fresh milk in the room. Fabulous breakfast and evening meal!More

1  Thank mablelakes
africa9680, Front Office Manager at The Holcombe Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to make your stay as comfortable as possible with little touches like home baked cookies & fresh milk for tea/coffee. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay at the...More

Reviewed August 4, 2016

Generally speaking the food was of a high standard, although there were some problems with food coming cold out of the kitchen, particularly the fish and chips.The meat on offer, beef and lamb, was well cooked and enthusiastically devoured.One of our party, on the first...More

3  Thank R0ssHill
africa9680, Manager at The Holcombe Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your points of view and comments. As you say and as was explained to you on the night by our restaurant manager, when our chefs can and especially at weekends, we do sometimes offer home baked bread as...More

Reviewed August 2, 2016

We had drinks, dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The service was well timed and friendly and both dinner and breakfast were of a really high standard (see my review of the hotel). They take good food seriously and there is a lot of attention...More

Thank LittleTree117
africa9680, Front Office Manager at The Holcombe Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we do hope that you visit us again soon!

Reviewed July 27, 2016

Popped here for a bit of impromptu lunch with some friends. Choice of food and service all as good as usual, although some playing around with the menu required to find something gluten free and vegetarian - opted for the 'large' halloumi salad with a...More

1  Thank Libby M
Holcombeinn, Manager at The Holcombe Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Libby, Thank you for your review and helpful comments. We were pleased to hear that your other party members enjoyed their substantial lunch time meals. For the halloumi dish we have discussed the issue with our chefs and have made changes which I hope...More

Reviewed July 19, 2016

The best recommendation is to say that I WILL be back! good portion size, and reasonable selection after a hards days working

Thank Peter W
africa9680, Front Office Manager at The Holcombe Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you will visit us again! Best Regards

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Kings Arms
11 reviews
.78 miles away
The Somerset Wagon
132 reviews
1.71 miles away
Vobster Inn
75 reviews
2.37 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Midsomer Quilting
9 reviews
1.52 miles away
Somerset & Dorset Railway Heritage Trust
16 reviews
2.31 miles away
Cranmore Tower
28 reviews
3.06 miles away
Radstock Museum
63 reviews
3.49 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Holcombe Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $38
Cuisine
Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub, Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stratton Road | Holcombe, Holcombe BA3 5EB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Holcombe
  • Phone Number: +44 1761 232478
  • E-mail
Description
Our 17th Century Inn is just 12 miles south of Bath and close to the Historical City of Wells, Cheddar and Longleat. We offer award winning food - featured in the Michelin Guide. Dog friendly (including 2 Lodge Rooms). Our 10 rooms are rated 5 Stars by the AA.