We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gellifawr Restaurant

Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
+44 1239 820343
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“beef” (4 reviews)
“salad” (4 reviews)
“super sunday” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Welsh
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2017

Back in the area and we could not miss Gellifawr for Sunday lunch. Especially as our daughter was with us and demanded her favourite. Once again had a superb lunch with good service. We were in the small restaurant this time which is cosy and...More

Thank PAH1953
A TripAdvisor Member
43
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Poor quality and flavour of food. Wine was average but okay. Breakfasts were ample in amounts but lacking quality.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Hello Thanks for your comments - although we use only the best local ingredients we will certainly look into your comments and try to improve where needed. Kind regards, Simon

Reviewed June 16, 2017

We tried the restaurant on the first night of our stay, and very pleased we did, the steak was excellent and although a steak knife was provided it was not needed as it was so tender. The waiter was also extremely polite and helpful throughout...More

Thank D3009
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Hello there, Thanks for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. Glad you enjoyed your food at Gellifawr, good food can really make a trip! Kind regards, Simon.

Reviewed June 15, 2017

Another family favourite but when I booked the table I was told that the carvery was not being run but the roasts would be plated. Perfect, no queuing! We were treated to an excellent lunch with beautiful vegetables with a wide variety and beef which...More

Thank PAH1953
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2017

Hello Thanks for the review - delighted you enjoyed your time at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat! Sunday lunches have been busy lately but sometimes the weather can affect numbers. Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Reviewed May 25, 2017

We had an evening meal whilst we were staying at the hotel, and the food was very good. We didn't have a starter but I had a main meal of seared salmon and my husband had the duck. Both were cooked and presented very well...More

1  Thank Lynne C
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2017

Hello Lynne, Thank you for you kind comments - delighted you enjoyed your meal at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat. Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Reviewed May 14, 2017

Highly recommended for a relaxing evening with great food and service. A nice varied menu with a peaceful ambience.

Thank grahamsL4082RL
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2017

Hello Graham Thanks for your comments - glad you enjoyed our latest menu. Warm regards, Simon.

Reviewed April 21, 2017

We ate here twice whilst renting one of the attached holiday cottages to the Hotel. Steve the Chef was very friendly and obviously takes pride in the food he produces. The wine list is not extensive but I think caters for all tastes and pockets.

Thank Ruth H
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2017

Hello Ruth, Thanks for your kind comments - Steve is an asset to Gellifawr and since his appointment to Head Chef the Kitchen has come on leaps and bounds. Hope you visit again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Reviewed April 9, 2017

After arriving at the hotel, I was in two minds whether to eat in the restaurant – even though I have eaten there before and the food has always been good. After looking at the menu I decided that there was not anything there that...More

Thank Patrbr126
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Hello Pat, Indeed Steve our Chef does generally like to go that extra mile for our customers - glad you enjoyed. Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Reviewed April 6, 2017

Ribs served with chips, salad and coleslaw was so tasty we went back the following night for same again, can also recommend sticky toffee pudding.

Thank tany877
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Hello, Thanks for your kind comments - the ribs went very well indeed, so well intact we are looking to include them in our forthcoming new menu. Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with our dog in one of the cottages. Watched the rugby on the Saturday with complimentary lamb cawl at half time which was beautiful. All the staff were so helpful and made us feel very welcome. We had a wonderful time...More

Thank Karolyn M
Simon J, General Manager at Gellifawr Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2017

Hello Karolyn, Glad you had such a good time with us at Gellifawr Woodland Retreat - hope the rugby provided you the result you were looking for! Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gellifawr Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
British, Welsh
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Pontfaen
  • Phone Number: +44 1239 820343
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing