We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Priory

Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
+44 1275 376307
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good30%
  • Average22%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“pie” (24 reviews)
“sea bass” (6 reviews)
“pizza” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We visited the pub on back holiday. What a mistake!! Outside with around 20 others. Met a very unpleasant man in the car park. After a bit of investigation was told this was the very pleasant manager!! Pub opened just after 12. We managed to...More

Thank S H
Reviewed 5 days ago

Meal excellent and quickly served on a busy day (Fishcakes) Atmosphere noisy AND Jolly - happy customers Great place to sit down after doing Bluebell walk in nearby Prior's Wood.

Thank JohnWilson1949
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On our way to Cotswolds, we made a stop for lunch and stayed up until 5 pm enjoying the garden, food and ambiance.

Thank Ximena C
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ximena C, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Priory, Portbury!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch , had the fixed price menu which was good value , been before in the evening but not at lunchtime well worth a visit ,it was busy so waited a while .

Thank chmusar
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Chmusar, thank you for your kind words and this wonderful review!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived as a small party on Bank Holiday Monday and waited outside prior to midday opening. Manager arrived, complaining about people using his car park and shortly after we were let in, along with the backlog of customers also waiting. We were served quickly...More

1  Thank MrC735
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Mrc735, we regret your most recent visit with us was not up to the standards we strive for.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I find the Priory is very hit or miss, I love the atmosphere and the food is lovely however the service lets them down massively. Went for Sunday lunch and the food took ages to arrive - Our starters took a while to come out...More

Thank AnnieMarie21
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Anniemarie21, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been visiting the Priory for the last 15 years & it has always provided a good selection of well cooked meals. We haven’t been for a while & thought we would go for lunch on the bank holiday as the food is usually...More

Thank easterclaire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner visit the priory now and again, this evening was very disappointing. After a long day we craved one of the priorys chocolate brownies so we decided pay for a whole meal there, we were told there was a half an hour...More

Thank rachychaps
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a Thursday evening the restaurant was just about full, but the ambiance was comfortable and service was good. So a pleasant evening with a nice bottle of wine, although the food was very poor. Starters: 'black pearl scallops and prawns' were slices of scallop...More

Thank salmoneater
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

For years this has been one of our favorite places to eat, so after a longish absence we tried it again for lunch today with two friends. It's never been terrific on vegetarian meals but we have had some good dishes here in the past...More

Thank Voluntarystress C
General Manager A, Manager at The Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Voluntarystress C, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide. However we have a launch last month a seperate Vegetarian/Vegan menu we quite a nice selection of dishes that we offer at all time. We took your...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Portbury Hotels
Days Inn Bristol M5
746 reviews
.71 miles away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
845 reviews
1.74 miles away
Travelodge Portishead
745 reviews
1.89 miles away
Avon Gorge Hotel
1,093 reviews
4.48 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Kings Arms
19 reviews
1.01 miles away
The Anchor
86 reviews
1.86 miles away
Welcome Break Gordano
220 reviews
.73 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Prior's Wood
7 reviews
.33 miles away
Portishead Marina
283 reviews
1.76 miles away
Tyntesfield
1,197 reviews
2.43 miles away
Bristol & Clifton Golf Club
21 reviews
3.01 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jacklyn T
April 16, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Fran W | Reviewed this property |
here are facilities outside for dogs to have a drink, so I wouls imagine tyhey are. You could always call them to ask the question, I have always found them very helpful.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Portbury BS20 7TN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 376307
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;