We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plough Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kedington Road, Hundon, England
01440-78-67-89
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2017

Had a Christmas lunch at The Plough, felt slightly embarrassed as it was at my recommendation but no where near as good as I've had there before. We were only ones in the restaurant so lacked atmosphere. Service was good. Food could have been better - onion chutney was more like fried onions, a particular request was overlooked, we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2016 via mobile

Had our yearly get together with 3 other couples & weren't disappointed. Friendly staff & great food. Service was good. Food excellent quality. Lovely atmosphere. Definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Julie D
Hundon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2016

Thank you all for a lovely steak meal tonight, we really enjoyed our meal with you and the service was excellent. We'll be back after the break for Christmas! Great value too. Happy Christmas

Helpful?
1 Thank Jill0812
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2016

We were a table of twelve celebrating my husband birthday. Excellent staff from start to finish. Food excellent ,all served together which was a bonus. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank jmartin120
woodyk123, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review , I am really glad that all of your party enjoyed their meals and time with us and I will ensure that your comments get passed on to all the staff, who always make their best efforts to make every bodies experience the best that we can , many thanks More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2016

After visiting The Plough previously just a few months before and having a bad experience we decided to try it again hoping this time for a much better outcome. How wrong we were. Our visit was on a Sunday lunchtime and we expected to enter the pub and it be full of customers however only a few tables were occupied,... More 

Helpful?
Thank orange27700
woodyk123, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

We are really sorry that you felt that your meals were not up to our high standards , it is a real shame that nothing was mentioned on the day when the front of house team checked back on your table , as this does give us an opportunity to rectify any problems there and then. I can assure you... More 

Haverhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2016

We moved to the area about a year ago, and The Plough Inn has definitely become a firm favourite! In the winter you can sit by a roaring fire, and in the summer you can sit in the beautiful garden. We have been for lunches and dinners, and we've never left disappointed. The food has always been fantastic! Because we... More 

Helpful?
Thank sparkin84
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We visited here this evening after being recommended by friends....what a mistake! The guy who took my booking over the phone was friendly enough, as was the young lady who welcomed us. The food was terrible!!! My partner asked for a medium cooked steak which arrived black and rock hard, totally overdone and difficult to cut, let alone eat! Some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
The M, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lisa C, Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. I was actually sitting dining as a customer a couple of tables away from you on the visit in question, and as such, was in a good position to see what actually happened and so would like to just address... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

This used to be a beautiful country restaurant and small comfortable hotel. It is set in rural Suffolk, with new owners this is now a dirty, unloved looking plain bar and very basic rooms. No room service so no top up of coffee tea etc. crockery that tasted like greasy Sunday roast.

Helpful?
Thank Petalheat
woodyk123, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon Petalheat , I was very shocked to read your comments considering nothing was mentioned to myself either on your first night stop with us or the subsequent 2 nights 3 days later. The Inns management has not changed in 8 years , so I am not sure as to when you are referring to. Having conversed with you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

I have visited this venue many times since moving to the area. I have celebrated birthdays, New Years and even had my Christmas dinner at the plough a few years back. Visited for events such as dessert evening, beer festivals and steak nights. Even held my wedding reception in the restaurant a few years back. On EVERY visit I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabel S
Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2016

Went for Sunday lunch Arrived little early imnediasterly was seated no time for pre dinner drink We were seated asked what drinks brought straight away immediately asked wot we wasnted dinner Dinner was cold and salty Before when we have been roast meat nicely put on plate this time meat piled up an thick gravy jus plonked on top Red... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie R
woodyk123, Manager at The Plough Inn, responded to this review

Hi Rosie, I am really sorry that your trip to us on Sunday was not up to our usual standards , all the issues mentioned should have been discussed at the time when table check backs were carried out so that we could put these things right. All of these areas will be discussed with our chefs and rectified, please... More 

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kedington Road, Hundon, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Hundon
  • Phone Number: 01440-78-67-89
Description
This is a restaurant inside the Plough Inn Hotel.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Plough Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Plough Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?