We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sandpiper

) #8 of 9 Restaurants in Cullercoats $$ - $$$ , British,
Farringdon Road, Cullercoats NE30 3ER, England
+44 191 253 5050
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“burger” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Farringdon Road, Cullercoats NE30 3ER, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this venue recently whilst visiting friends in the north east, lovely little pub and sunny beer garden The food was nice and the service as we all expected, especially the little old man that owns it (what a hoot) he let us bring...More

Thank Jambo W
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review! It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit to the Sandpiper. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit next!

Reviewed June 8, 2017

We booked the Function Room for a work colleague's Retirement Party and had a fantastic evening! Would totally recommend this venue. There was lovely seating areas and a dance floor that got well used. Plenty room to get a DJ in. The weather was lovely...More

Thank Tania L
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! It is great to hear that you had a fantastic night and that you would recommend us. We are delighted that you made great use of the dance floor and were able to have a lovely...More

Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile

Ordered a barbecue chicken ciabatta the only thing that wasn't burnt n rock hard was the salad. Staff never asked once if food was OK to buisy stood talking at the bar with the chef that should be in the kitchen learning how not to...More

Thank Christie H
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your food during your recent visit. We have passed these comments onto the rest of the team and the manager will ensure that these issues do not...More

Reviewed May 24, 2017

Went for lunch yesterday with Family and found restaurant and kitchen closed. I had received an Email extolling the virtues of the new menu and next weeks BOGOf offer but there was no mention of the closure. Fortunately we found a place to eat not...More

Thank RabDnotRabC
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

We are sorry to hear of your recent experience at the Sandpiper. The email states that the new menu would go live on the 25th May, not on the day of your visit. Unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances, work needed to be carried out in...More

Reviewed May 7, 2017

My wife and I called in on spec on Friday 5th for a quick bite to eat and we were both pleasantly surprised with the food. I had a Mexican burger whilst the wife had the 8oz rump steak. My burger was very tasty with...More

Thank John S
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you so much for such lovely feedback. It is great to hear that you were pleased with the food during your recent visit. We are delighted that the steak was cooked perfectly. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we...More

Reviewed May 5, 2017

Waited ages for 3 undemanding meals. One of our party ordered "honey roast ham" which was poor quality luncheon meat, one got soggy nachos and I got "Welsh rarebit" which consisted of poor quality cheese on damp toast and a small, limp salad. Chips were...More

Thank Jack D
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so sorry that you were not impressed with your food during your recent visit. We are currently in the process of changing our food menu and we will take all your comments into...More

Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

I reviewed the sandpiper a couple of months ago and the food was great. Returned today 30 April and was so disappointed. Was told after we ordered there was no cauliflower cheese my favourite! It only got worse the roast potatoes were rock hard as...More

Thank Stephen H
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Sandpiper. We cannot apologise enough about the food that you received and as you know, this is not our usual high quality standard. The kitchen team was under a...More

Reviewed April 26, 2017

Decided to give this local pub/restaurant a try as we fancied a treat. Visited at 5pm on a Wednesday when it was quite and tried their traditional North Sea Fish and chips. Was not disappointed. Fish was white and meaty and the batter very tasty....More

Thank lespowell
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! It is great to hear you enjoyed our fish and chips. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed April 23, 2017

The food is good and the staff are friendly but we waited over 40 minutes for our vegetables to arrive so we could use the carvery. Is the kitchen so small that it is overwhelmed by more than one order?More

Thank mickart
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It's great to hear that the food is good and staff are friendly. We are sorry that it took so long for your vegetables to arrive and for you to use the carvery. We do...More

Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile

Great venue, great staff accommodated all the fussy things Birthday boy wanted but the kids and adults still enjoyed their day! Food great and the beer flowed thanks for letting him enjoy his day stress free. Recommend booking the room.More

Thank TrevJeyes
The Malhotra G, Marketing at The Sandpiper, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. It is great to hear that everyone enjoyed the party and had a stress free day! Thank you for recommending us and no one is too fussy for us! We hope Sam had a lovely birthday...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
cullercoats coffee
127 reviews
.59 miles away
The Boatyard
181 reviews
.62 miles away
Bilash Indian Resturant
180 reviews
.58 miles away
Queens Head
115 reviews
.70 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Cullercoats Bike & Kayak
100 reviews
.72 miles away
Cullercoats Beach
62 reviews
.64 miles away
Heaven Therapy
61 reviews
.48 miles away
Blue Reef Aquarium
485 reviews
.76 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LynneB19612015
October 13, 2015|
Answer
Response from David H | Reviewed this property |
Hi lyne I can't answer your question because I only eat and drink in the sandpiper. Sorry.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Farringdon Road, Cullercoats NE30 3ER, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Tyne and Wear  >  Cullercoats
  • Phone Number: +44 191 253 5050
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing