We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $25
CUISINES
European, Central European, Hungarian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
38
11
6
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
38
11
6
5
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 11, 2020 via mobile

This restaurant had a good brand but unfortunately this is the past . Nowadays both the service , the equipments, the staff and mostly the food are really terrible . Moody people , tasteless meals (hard deer goulash, conserve tomatoes based stew, dry fried schnitzel,...etc) , for terrible price valueMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 5, 2020 via mobile

We arrived at the restaurant around 12:00PM and the place was completely empty. We asked for a table and were assigned the only table in the sun while all other tables were in the shade. When we asked the waiter politely whether we could get...one of the 50+ empty tables in the shade or inside she very rudely refused to offer us another table. We had no chance other than leaving this place. Very bad and rude experience. There are so many nicer and much more friendly places around, avoid this place at all cost!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed August 15, 2019 via mobile

Spotted it on Trip Advisor and it was ranked #1 in the area. Deserved that ranking! Great food, excellent service. Would definitely visit again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

The starter was quite good but a bit became sickly very quickly so couldnt finish it. The main course was excellent- duck cooked perfectly. And for the dessert - i tried my girlfriends chocolate mousse and it lacked flavour for me. I ordered the chia...seed mousse as never tried it before but I think I just ordered the wrong dessert - not to my liking but just my own taste buds - was all presented excellently and I'm sure someone else would have liked it. I'll go with a safer option next time for dessert. Staff and service was great. Starter - liver pate Main - rosè duck, beetroot with potato doughnut Pudding - milk chocolate mousse and banana ice cream, chia seed mousseMore

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 20, 2019

This restaurant is on my bus route and I've passed it for years before I actually visited. No expectations to avoid disappointment. :) Then W O W ! The setting is a comfortable homey atmosphere with the glassed in entry boasting a fireplace during the...cold months. Service is impeccable, the menu varied and always fresh for the season. The chef is young and has a great imagination combining flavors always on top of his game. The restaurant is managed very well and happy people provide a very happy experience. It has since become my favorite restaurant in the city.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
FarAway587906, Ügyvezető igazgató at Budai Gesztenyes, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear Ella! Thank you for rating us! We are so glad that as a first experiance we've won your appreciation, and hope to welcome you again. Best regards: Daniel Goncsarov

Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

The restaurant is located in a small village out of Budapest. It's possible to seat inside or outside. The waiter was very efficient but waitibg for food long time. The soup I ordered came cold and I asked to worm it. Then came the main...dish, suprising the meat was not worm and I asked to worm it. Don't understand how comes that a kitchen serves cold food? Don't understand. I gave 3 point for the service of the waiter and location.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed the creativity of the dishes. Different than what most restaurants serve. Staff is very friendly and the restaurant is very cozy.

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
FarAway587906, Vezető at Budai Gesztenyes, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Menno O! We appreciate your kind review! Hope to see you soon.

Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

We had lunch here and gound the ambiance and service friendly and inviting. The beef bone marrow soup was served in a large tourine and was delicious. Prices are reasonable and our servers were friendly and efficient. Watch out for the tree in the parking...area...be sure to flip your mirrors in!We lost one!! Great lunch place.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
FarAway587906, Vezető at Budai Gesztenyes, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Balls99! Thank you for taking your time to write this kind review. Sorry about the mirror, parking can be tricky indeed unfortunately. Despite that, we hope to see you again.

Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Very good value for money, great selection of foods on the menu. The service level is high, book in advance, because it is full over the weekends.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
FarAway587906, Vezető at Budai Gesztenyes, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Y9978YWpeters! Thank you for taaking your time to evalute us. We're very pleased that you were satisfied, and we'll be glad to see you again some time.

Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We have been visiting this place since 2011 and quality is strongly declining. Today we have made reservation with our kids. The restaurant offers a kids corner upstairs, practically in an attic. To access our table we had to bend ourselves not to bounce to...the slant roof. Our soups ordered were served for the kids in broken plates (see attached pictures) and it tasted really poor, practically water with bouillon cube. I felt quite humiliating that our kids are given broken dishes and food with no quality. Actually I have never experienced such attitude from a restaurant towards kids. When complaining to the waiter about the broken plates we were informed that the restaurant is very busy at this time of the day and they need to use even broken plates (!) (not all tables were occupied at this "busy moment"). Further, the restaurant is constantly changing amortized items, for instance they just invested in new chairs on the ground floor and later on they will invest in new plates (!). The drinks we have ordered arrived after the soup and the 0.5 still and 0.5 sparkling soda water arrived in giant glasses - the waiter immediately informing us that its too busy and all their bottles are used (!). He can of course bring us smaller glasses so that we can pour from the giant glass to the smaller glass and dink more comfortably. I guess it was quite obvious that we were not very pleased with such start of our meal so the waiter tried to ask how we liked the main dish. When he saw that I eat the leftover of one of my kid he tried to joke and mentioned that every family has its food waste disposer = being me who is eating the leftover of the kid. For me this was the end, I was totally flabbergasted without words. Further on the ground floor 2 toilets had no lock so it could not be closed.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Tanne
12 reviews
.19 miles away
Budai Sport Hotel
28 reviews
1.15 miles away
Petnehazy Club Hotel
244 reviews
1.36 miles away
Europa Hotels & Congress Center
4 reviews
1.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Etterem Vadaspark
195 reviews
.57 miles away
Stadt
52 reviews
.29 miles away
Briquette
9 reviews
.23 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Budakeszi Wildlife Park
80 reviews
.60 miles away
Zugligeti Libego
249 reviews
1.70 miles away
Janoshegy
269 reviews
.98 miles away
Normafa
60 reviews
1.72 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Budai Gesztenyes staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Budai Gesztenyes

Budai Gesztenyes is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5