We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
12-14 North Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3HE, England (Formerly Bretts Fish Restaurant)
+44 113 232 3344
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Mon 5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wed - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Sat 12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 63: English reviews
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

......has not lost any of its charm, service or quality. The main difference is that the menu has been extended and now caters for all. Fish and chips still great but if you do want anything else don't go when the Rhinos are playing at home or you may have to wait. Will certainly return, in fact, we already have!

Helpful?
1 Thank Green-Banana-Man
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We used the take away with a little trepidation following some of the reviews on here. This was our first visit since it changed hands. The take away seating area has been significantly improved with the addition of heaters and doors! The haddock & chips were excellent. Good quality haddock fried fresh in a good batter. An excellent example of... More 

Helpful?
Thank BenfleetAndy
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in Leeds for a weekend We went to charlie bretts on saturday evening We both ordered the fish and chips and also a bottle of wine The food did take a while to arrive however this was not a problem as it was cooked fresh! The service was very good and the food was excellent even better than... More 

Helpful?
Thank leigh c
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great find. The place serves fish and chips and has a takeaway next door but is so much more than a fish restaurant. The dining room is all white table cloths , comfortable chairs and tables set for dining. While looking at the menu I had a beer from the local Ilkley Brewery that was first class. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wenesburylad
LEEDS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

After visiting their remarkable Charlie Brett's at the Allerton in Alwoodley I thought I would try the famous branch in Headingley over Christmas too. A large 'house' style building off set from the bustling North Lane, Charlie Bretts ouzes character & style. They run the same menu as at Alwoodley which is interesting and is exactly what we ordered off.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Solomos
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2016 via mobile

Worst fish and chips ever. Every other chip bad and mouldy, slimy wet fish. Can't believe the person who prepared it couldn't see how bad it all was. Won't b going again, got full refund.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
givememorewine, Director of Sales at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi there. I think it's important that reviewers know the full facts first. Our head chef (michelin star trained) cooked your fish and chips and half an hour later you returned with no fish left and a handfull of chips complaining that they were terrible and asking for a full refund. My collesgue apologised and on the evidence presented to... More 

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2016

The mood was sombre following a funeral for my mother and we thought we'd give her a good Yorkshire send off with fish & chips from Charlie Bretts at the Allerton. The food was excellent and the staff very attentive and exceedingly helpful. We all would highly recommend this venue for a function or a meal.

Helpful?
Thank SpamulaMacSpamula
CharlieBretts, Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi SpamulaMacSpamula, We're very pleased to hear your afternoon with us went well and thank you for your kind comments. Hope to see you soon for a more cheerful experience. Charlie Brett's More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Saturday evening fish and chips with my mum and two children. The fish and chips were delicious! Crispy batter and quality fish, and yummy ice cream and strawberries for dessert. The children enjoyed colouring crayons and paper and there was even a small children's play area at the back where the children were kept entertained. Theres also a children's menus... More 

Helpful?
Thank xamypogsonx
CharlieBretts, Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi xamypogsonx, We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit to us. From your review, I see you were at Charlie Brett's at The Allerton, which now has it's own TripAdvisor page. The children's area is proving to be very popular and we know these little things can make trips out with the kids a bit easier. Hopefully we will see... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2016

Went on a Wednesday evening, had the basic Fish, Chips, Mushy Peas and Tartar Sauce. Excellent food and service. Lovely dining room. I would say I only noticed this place by accident and I have spoken to people around there, praising the venue and none of them new it existed which is a shame.

Helpful?
Thank Lush777
CharlieBretts, Manager at Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway, responded to this review

Hi Lush777, Thank you for the review. We're pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. It looks like this was at our site in Alwoodley, which now has it's own TripAdvisor page. We hope to see you back soon! Charlie Brett's More 

Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2016

We visit this place when visiting the cricket at Headingley. The issue is always that they seem to wait for the cricket fans before putting any fish in the fryer. On occasion's the demand for fish is so high that they manage to run out of Chips too. This sometimes means the chips are fast cooked and not at their... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian R
Management response:

Hi Ian R, Thank you for your review. We do always try and get things out as speedy as possible, however unlike a lot of places, we cook to order as much as we can, rather than letting our food sit in the hot cupboards. On a cricket day, when busy, this can cause minor delays, however this means we... More 

Travelers who viewed Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$11 - $37
Cuisine
British, Seafood
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
5:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12-14 North Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3HE, England (Formerly Bretts Fish Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Leeds  >  Headingley
  • Phone Number: +44 113 232 3344

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charlie Bretts Fish Restaurant & Takeaway staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?