We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
French, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
29
6
3
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
29
6
3
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 16, 2020

New owner very happy to accomodate us. Great food, great wine and terrific pricing, wonderful staff. Beautiful gardens with cute pagodas and tables under the trees by the river. Highly Reccommended.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 14, 2020

Quite nice surroundings, staff were polite and pleasant. The food however was poor quality, one of the, plates where it looks great on instagram but the taste was terrible. Such a shame.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We booked this restaurant some time in advance for a celebrative birthday lunch, and were really excited & looking forward to it, as it can be very hard to find a vegan restaurant. It was meant as a birthday surprise for one of our group....And a surprise it certainly was, starting with the restaurant being closed on arrival, @ 12.15pm. After knocking a long time on the door & windows, the owner finally arrived & seemed surprised to see us, We got no real explanation, nor any apologies, other than 'my husband is not feeling that well today'. (why no text, no phonecall to cancell reservation, they had our mobile & e-mail?) This was in the height of Summer & the village was crawling with tourists. We sat outside,in the sun in the lovely garden, next to a small river, Well, that was the best, as all the rest of it was one big diappointment! The service was appalling, and the food was dreadful ! We sat there waiting for a long time, no-one in sight. eventually we were asked what we wanted to drink, and given a menu. When we asked for the organic menu & organic options, as advertised on their website and also confirmed to us by email, it turned out that NO food was organic - at all! They only had some organic drinks, no food! We were then in for another very long wait, whilst we could clearly see them going out to buy a lettuce. All very unprofessional. There was no ambiance, no friendly welcome, no communication or other interaction with us, the customers, No congratulations on Birthday.Such a lost opportunity. The food, when it arrived, was dreadful, very un-appetising, bland,& un-inspirational, yes, some courgette with a spiraliser and 1 cherry-tomato each, then lots & lots of (the just bought) lettuce with a cheap-tasting salad dressing already on it. The burger felll apart & had no flavour. The 4(!) 'homemade chips' , or rather, yesterday's soggy potato-wedges, had a bad smell, clearly not fresh, same for the dessert cakes., which were simply un-eatable. Also portions were tiny, and we were left starving. To top if off, it was realy pricy for the little we got. Frankly, this is a place that feels like it's (on the brink of) closing down, or the ownersare no longer inspired or motivated. There is a horrible smell of stale chipfat in the restaurant itself. We genuinely struggle to understand any positive review(s) It's such a shame, as it is to be applauded to open a vegan restaurant, esp in France, but this doesn't feel like vegan, or organic, or genuine, feels more like a way to cash in on current trend(s). I always try to give a balanced & objective review, but find it impossible to say anything good about this place, other than that the garden was lovely. Personally our worst restaurant experience ever ! Pros: the location, the village, the garden with the little river Cons: unfriendly unprofessional service, dreadful & not fresh food, misleading about Organic Food website & emailMore

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed June 26, 2018

My partner and I wholeheartedly recommend this wonderful restaurant after visiting today. As other reviewers have said it is not always easy to find really good vegetarian/vegan food and we were excited to find such a lovely section of fresh, well prepared and beautifully presented...meals. The helpings are big and the service excellent. Sitting outside amongst the butterflies and cliffs was an absolute delight. There is a good selection of wines and other drinks. The prices for everything are very reasonable.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed June 26, 2018

Sitting at a table near the stream was just beautiful on a warm night. The food is simple and healthy, falafels and salad, pizza on a type of pita bread base, it is a good place for lunch

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed June 11, 2017

i thought the food was very poor, i did not think the food was very fresh, my worst meal in france, my wife thought hers was a little better

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We were so excited to find a restaurant serving vegetarian and vegan food on tripadvisor plus with such great reviews. We tried calling several times with no answer and assumed staff must be busy serving. So, we decided to drive there from another village as...their website states it is open every day until October but when we finally arrived around 7.30pm, it was closed. Not sure if this is just for that day or if it is closed permanently- worth checking before traveling there.More

Date of visit: September 2016
Helpful?
James H, Manager at Le Jardin de Cabrerets, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Hello, So sorry that you have been disappointed. I'm afraid that my husband (partner and chef) recently had a stroke which has, frankly, been an enormous hurddle for us this season and has made being as dutiful to our clients as much as we would...More

Reviewed August 21, 2016

it is very difficult to eat out and find vegetarian and vegan in France in fact it is as it you are looked at as a second class citizen so finding this place was fantastic

Date of visit: September 2015
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 15, 2016

We were looking for a place online to have dinner after visiting the Grotte de Pech Merle, and to our surprise--we're vegetarian, and vegetarian fare, much less good vegetarian fare, is rare in rural France--we found this gem of a restaurant. The prices were very...reasonable, the dishes delicious and idiosyncratic (it is nigh impossible to find a good veggie burger in France--theirs was excellent, and their Thai curry had a great kick to it, along with lots of great veggies), the setting gorgeous, and the service warm and welcoming (if slightly slow at times, but that was not a problem, given the overall quality and warmth of the place).More

Date of visit: August 2016
Helpful?1  
Reviewed June 19, 2015

I stayed here with my partner for a week in June in one of James and Louise's apartments and what a week it was. Absolutely beautiful place! The apartment was lovely, a really good size and very clean and tidy. The food was wonderful, all...home made, beautifully presented and tasted amazing. We are both vegan which isn't easy in France! There was a really big selection of food for us and they were very accommodating to our likes/dislikes. The garden is so pretty, lovely place to eat in the sunshine. We visited the caves nearby and also the Monkey Forest in Rocamadour - both well worth a visit. It's such a beautiful area, even just to go for an afternoon drive. All in all a wonderful holiday, would highly recommend it and will definitely go back in the future.More

Date of visit: June 2015
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Restaurant des Grottes
172 reviews
.08 miles away
Hotel Les Falaises
344 reviews
1.58 miles away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
1,408 reviews
2.63 miles away
Hotel Les Gabarres
364 reviews
2.91 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Roue
476 reviews
.03 miles away
Restaurant des Grottes
313 reviews
.08 miles away
O'Louise
82 reviews
.01 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Grotte du Pech-Merle
1,360 reviews
.52 miles away
Musee de l'insolite
84 reviews
1.56 miles away
Kalapca Loisirs
108 reviews
1.90 miles away
Ecomusee de Cuzals
67 reviews
2.76 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
430simon
August 16, 2016|
Answer
Response from James H | Property representative |
Yes
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing