We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 11/28
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
French, European, Canadian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
115
33
12
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
115
33
12
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak frites salad prime rib calves liver french onion soup cheesecake omelette chicken french restaurant cooked to perfection daily specials fantastic dinner french cooking the main street fantastic experience exceptional service the staff was super friendly
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 19, 2020 via mobile

Superb service from Katy. Superb food from Winston. The menu is huge and then there are daily specials. Quite overwhelming. The quality of our meals was stellar. I had a Carribean seafood platter to die for. My husband had jerk chicken. Huge serving and very...very tasty. Lots of French inspired dishes on the menu as well. We just chose the daily specials. The kitchen was a bit slow (never a problem for us as we enjoy our drinks) so the chef delivered an appetizer salad to our table. Much appreciated. Stellar night out. PS. We drove there from Waterloo for dinner as lunch a few weeks earlier had been so delicious!!!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 10, 2020

We found this lovely gem on the main street of historic Creemore. It is across the street from Creemore Brewery. This was a daytrip to see the fall leaves in the country N of Toronto. My husband wanted a place for lunch and we found...this lovely place. The staff are friendly, informative, attentive - wearing masks in and out of the restaurant. We sat outside. The owner is thinking of ideas to keep her outdoor patio [tiny - 4 tables] accessible as the weather turns colder. He had the stuffed hamburger which was plentiful. A side of soup which he thought he should not have ordered as the hamburger was so generous. I had the same daily soup and mussels. Perfect. The accompanying bread was topped with seasoning - I could have just eaten the bread for lunch it was so good.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 1, 2020 via mobile

Lunch was outstanding. Laurie provided fantastic service. Classis Club was over the top. Winston's salad was creative and very enjoyable. This Mussels were the best. We will be back for more soon. Prices were fair the the exceptional service and quality of the food.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 26, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I and another couple went for dinner for the first time, but it definitely won't be our last! Between us we had four french onion soup, two pork chop , a chicken and a steak dinner. All were above and beyond excellent....We shared a cheesecake for dessert that left pur mouth watering. Not to mention the service was exemplary as well. All in all an exceptional experience!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 10, 2020

Its been years since our last visit to Creemore and Chez Michel and what a pleasant surprise to find Chez Michel as warm and welcoming as I remembered. In fact I think the food is even better than before with more interesting and updated items....Our server Katy was helpful and engaging, the chardonnay crisp and cold and the french onion soup rich and warm. All in all a wonderful lunch.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 22, 2020

Great food...especially the Saturday bbq... service is amazing. It’s our Saturday lunch date spot. If they can’t seat you, get take out! Nothing around compares!

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

Enjoyed lunch with friends on outside seating on a beautiful summer day. Service was casual from friendly staff. Salads with the house special dressing were excellent. All the entrees were very good and nicely presented. While the desserts were very good our selections at $14...each were too expensiveMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 11, 2020

Come on Trip Advisor - You are terribly over-rated. You list all of the old information and don't bother to get yourselves updated - Chez Michel is a perfect Gem in Creemore. New owners have an outstanding menu, amazing brunches and the staff are fabulous....Been numerous times and I am from out of town. The drive is well worth it. Take in the atmosphere of this distinct town and treat yourself to an epic meal at this one of a kind restaurant.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed July 11, 2020

We arrived in Creemore just as patios were beginning to reopen and took a chance on this attractive French-style lunch spot. We felt incredibly well taken care of by the chef, Winston (?), with whom we had a lovely chat: he was full of praise...for the way the community had supported Chez Michel through the lockdown. The French onion soup was aa fresh, spicy take on a classic, a style also seen in the delicious peppercorn steak, while the omelette was cooked to perrfection. Bravo!More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 9, 2020

We used to go to Chez Michel for all our "Special" celebrations - usually for lunch. As the lunch menu is now VERY limited with the new owners, we decided to give them a try with Sunday Brunch. We arrived at 1:30 and found most...foods on the buffet to be cold and unappetizing. The salad was wilted and was served with a "store made" dressing, the Eggs Benedict looked like it had been sitting the full 2 hours and was cold. Bacon was cold. Butter chicken was tasty, BUT - nothing to have with it - no rice, etc. Roasted veggies were nice, but on the buffet - there were NO GREEN VEGETABLES at all!!! Huge food gap! Prime rib was nice, but roasted potatoes were shriveled and cold. Dessert table was monotonous - 2 cream pies, 2 apple desserts, a toffee pudding that tasted very burnt and NOT ONE CHOCOLATE selection - another BIG gap!!!Some fruit, but variety was limited and it looked dry and wilted! Service was barely adequate as we served ourselves. We were not asked at any point, if we liked the food and had to chase down waitstaff to give us dessert forks. The wine list was very poorly laid out with insufficient information. They said we could get wines by the glass - but then pointed to the ones that could not be served by the glass. There were no per glass prices. All very confusing and inconvenient. Then, when I tried to go to the washroom, one of the wait staff was sooooo busy yakking that I had to wait to get by. Definitely not good customer service or awareness. We live in Collingwood and will not be making this trip again!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
ChezMichelCreemore, Owner at Chez Michel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2020

Thank you for coming to try us out, even if you didn't come with an open heart. I personally spoke to you twice to check on service, I wish you had of said something so I could have assisted, rather than writing a negative public...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wasaga Motel Inn
32 reviews
9.84 miles away
Angus Inn Motel
29 reviews
10.82 miles away
Knights Inn Angus
23 reviews
10.82 miles away
Relax Inn Collingwood
67 reviews
11.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Bank Cafe
70 reviews
.06 miles away
Quince Bistro
32 reviews
.03 miles away
The Old Mill House Pub
152 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Creemore Springs Brewery
116 reviews
.06 miles away
Highlands Nordic
20 reviews
5.62 miles away
Friends Pub
33 reviews
6.43 miles away
Nottawasaga Bluffs Conservation Area
15 reviews
6.86 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
harleybick
October 14, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MGB02 | Reviewed this property |
I think those questions would best be answered at this time of year by the restaurant staff. Give them a call. They're very friendly and helpful!
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing