We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Brook House Inn

Bar, British
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Station Road, Castle Cary BA7 7PF, England
1963350188
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beer was flat wine was cheap lasagne tasteless and curry was the same chips were raw in the middle won't be visiting again.

Helpful?
Thank Barrie L
WayneandLynn P, Owner at The Brook House Inn, responded to this review

....& I bet the weather was bad as well? All customers are asked if everything is ok with their food at least once if not twice, whilst they are at the table & again when they come to pay - that is the time to bring problems to our attention instead of comments like this when you've left the pub... More 

Rowley Regis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

Once again we were treated like friends, not guests. The food was, as usual, plentiful and gorgeous. Thank you Lynn! x x

Helpful?
Thank Stuart196B
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

We stayed at the campsite behind this pub and enjoyed a Sunday Lunch on arrival. Lovely welcoming pub, good value food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Numpty9
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

I stayed in the caravan site behind the pub, a great little site with 22 pitches. The toilet block is basic and rather old, but it has hot and cold water, showers and toilets. I ate in the restaurant and ordered the steak and ale pie, it looked very appetising with crispy homecooked chips and peas. Unfortunately it was completely... More 

Helpful?
Thank GriffMT
Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015

went with friends. all ordered steak. must admit steak was a bit dry and well done considering we ordered medium to rare,chips were nice tasted home made.plenty of peas, mushrooms, onion rings etc. sweets were varied and quite nice, service was good barmaid was very pleasant and welcoming.

Helpful?
Thank maryb765_13
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

Just spent four nights here whilst attending our son's wedding. Had lovely food in the restaurant and the mixed grill was enormous! Excellent value for money. Nice large, level pitches. Electric hook up, water and services all in close range. But the best thing by far about this establishment were the hosts Wayne and Lynn who couldn't be more helpful... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie G
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

My wife And i were visiting Castle Cary over last weekend, while there we needed a part for our caravan so dropped into the local dealers, on our way out we came across the Brook house pub which was adjacent, we had a couple of drinks & some lunch, the food was Amazing, we both had a smokey joe from... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank harry f
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015 via mobile

Went here for lunch with friends, barmaid was lovely & welcoming but the food was revolting. Everything the children were served was deep fried & hard as stone, it was so bad the scampi had shrivelled up & left the table. Low budget food cooked incorrectly. The pasta looked previously chewed & could be lifted out of the dish in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jude P
WayneandLynn P, Owner at The Brook House Inn, responded to this review

Jude Thank you for your nice comments regarding our bar/waitress staff, however, we are disappointed that you were unhappy with your visit to our pub recently. We have a policy in place that, when an order for food has been taken and you have received your meal, we give you a couple of minutes before we come to check that... More 

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We had booked to stay on their camp site with our motor home to enable visits to Castle Cary. The actual camp site is fine, and the toilets are acceptable, although only cleaned once in the 3 days we were there. The gents shower is fine, but the ladies is very strange - the cubicle has been built in before... More 

Helpful?
Thank maceng-chattan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

This is a very nice family run pub, Wayne & Lynn are very friendly and welcoming, there is a nice camp site at the back of the pub plus a nice beer garden and play area for the children, worth s visit.

Helpful?
5 Thank Jezzie12

Travelers who viewed The Brook House Inn also viewed

Castle Cary, Somerset
 
Castle Cary, Somerset
Castle Cary, Somerset
 
Castle Cary, Somerset
Castle Cary, Somerset
 

Been to The Brook House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Reservations
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Station Road, Castle Cary BA7 7PF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Castle Cary
  • Phone Number: 1963350188
Description
Postcode - BA7 7PF

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brook House Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?