We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
14 Bridge Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Fordingbridge SP6 1AH, England
+44 1425 652040
Website
Today
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 658: English reviews
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Irritating service and disastrously poor food. How difficult can it be to serve an enjoyable serving of bread and butter? Don't waste your money.

Helpful?
Thank Angelw0rker
CarolineTheGeorge, Owner at The George, responded to this review

We are at a complete loss as to your review. Although you haven't really given us much to go on. You have slated two of the things that here at The George we pride ourselves on the most, our Homemade Bread and our Service. We have no knowledge of anyone not enjoying, complaining about or even leaving their bread un... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Pleasant pub, nice view, good pint but very expensive - £8.40 for two pints is London hotel prices. Food looks good so not complaining !

Helpful?
Thank Independent_Joe
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

While this pub serves above average food it shows no respect to what most consider to be reasonable pub opening times. Tonight, Saturday, our party of 4 found the pub closed at 22:00, with another group of 4 standing outside having been asked to leave because the pub had arbitrarily decided to close at 22:00 - they were trying to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil E
CarolineTheGeorge, Owner at The George, responded to this review

We are a food led Pub, as such in the evening when our diners have left and we have no drinkers we close. We are an Independent business in a small, quiet town and are within our rights to do so. I am sorry that you were disappointed to find us closed, but there are two pubs just up the... More 

Worthing
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We have just had the most amazing meal at the George. The mixed seafood platter followed by a fillet steak. It was the nicest food I have had in along time. Excellent. Staff were lovely. The setting by the river is beautiful but the food was out of this world.

Helpful?
Thank Denise W
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice menu and a great location by the river. Just as nice to sit outside on sunny day as to sit in. Had to wait awhile for the food so must be cooked fresh. Lovely when it came.

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We visted this amazing place just looking for some run of the mill good pub food. We were pleasently suprised the food was cooked fresh, hot on arrival and absolutly tasty I had a steak and onion on ciabbatta bread with sweet potato fries and my partner had lamb terreine with skinny chips both amazing and quick. The staff were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Every dish ordered on our table was lovely. Our fussy eaters wanted their meat well done, and it was perfect. Desserts were delicious and good sizes. And very good service. Amazing!!!

Helpful?
Thank susie182016
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Quick supper for four on Good Friday. Great service, really delicious food in a lovely lively setting. A real treat and as a local to the area, definitely one of the better pubs to eat in. Far, far better than many of the other local New Forest pubs.

Helpful?
Thank Roz B
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

April 7th hot Saturday had lunch at the George with friends sat by the river looking at the fish lunch was lovely hot it was a very busy lunch time so if do not mind the wait it is worth it staff very polite & helpful Chef will appear fairly often to make sure all is as it should be... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert w
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived greeted so well. Lovely glass of wine and then given menus to peruse. A Saturday at 6pm very busy but they managed to get us a table. We shared a mushroom starter and the children shared the homemade bread and butter. I chose the duck with sticky red cabbage beans and dauphinoisse potatoes wow delicious.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glennyfer

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Fordingbridge, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Bridge Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Fordingbridge SP6 1AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest National Park Hampshire  >  Fordingbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1425 652040

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The George and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The George staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?