We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
We are a traditional pub serving food with log burners and an outside patio area to be enjoyed during warmer weather, we are situated a village with some individual shops and some great walks, however we do not allow dogs in the pub or outside
PRICE RANGE
$6 - $19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (973)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveler rating
483
318
98
42
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
483
318
98
42
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak and ale pie lamb shank salmon fish and chips mash sunday roast haggis pudding salad bread the pub lovely meal booked a table varied menu warm welcome lovely place linda
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Just called in on the off chance they’d have a nice pie on the menu...and they did! Really cozy feel and service was lovely. The Chicken, Mushroom and Leek Pie was very nice.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank PhillipaD
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review and hoping you will visit again and try another one of our pies. Regards Linda

Reviewed 6 days ago

I need to clarify my title here - the food was fine - well cooked and tasty. We both opted for beef and ale pie. Both enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. The place was nice and quiet it being a Monday lunch time,...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank shaunb816
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking time to do a review, hoping we can welcome you again and perhaps be rewarded with 5* on your next visit. Many thanks Linda.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely atmospheric typical English pub. Very good food, well served by very pleasant efficient staff

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Ray S
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks you for a great review, hoping you can visit us again soon. Regards Linda :0)

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wide choice of Good food, super beer, friendly service & value for money . Make sure to book at busy times!

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank terrym153
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review and especially giving a mention to booking a table, hoping we can welcome you again soon. Many thanks Linda

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was passing through and decide to try black bull , this was your typical English pub , cosy comfortable good food & service also ! We sat by the fire & ordered for the specials . Portions were very big and we had ordered started...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank R3632DGnicolac
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your review and delighted you enjoyed your visit, we hope you pass through Corbridge again and will visit us. Many thanks Linda.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been a few time now .... Not the cheapest place, but food is spot on and service friendly .... Will happily go back again.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Winterwolf35
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review and hoping you can visit again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently visited with my wife and child on a Saturday afternoon around 5.00 for tea food and service were very good. Our afternoon could have been spoiled by a group of loud, rude middle aged women, they entered the bar and sat at a table...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Stephen H
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review and happy your recent visit was a little quieter than your previous one, we are delighted you did a return visit and we look forward to welcoming you again. Many thanks linda:)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table for my friends 40th (having read good reports on trip advisor.) We arrived at the pub at 5.05 with a table being booked for 5pm . On arrival I sought out the member of staff saying we had a booking for...More

Date of visit: March 2019
4  Thank Clare F
linda7639, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I was made aware of the event that had appeared to have happened whilst I was on my break and unfortunately we had several customers complain about the loudness of your group, however i do understand you were celebrating...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An impromptu meal at the Black Bull, friendly and helpful staff, food was excellent. Nothing bad to say. Warm and cosy feel. Recommended!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank horrgakx
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for a great review and hoping we can welcome a return visit soon. Linda :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an excellent lunch here one Saturday afternoon. We were lucky to get a table and sat near a warm log burner. Food was delicious and plentiful. Drinks excellent and staff attentive and informative without being intrusive. Eat here if you are in Corbridge.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Smm3101
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review and delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and our log burning stove, hoping you can visit again soon. Many thanks Linda:)

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
430 reviews
3.36 miles away
Matfen Hall
1,778 reviews
5.24 miles away
Slaley Hall
3,640 reviews
5.38 miles away
The George Hotel
849 reviews
5.78 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 26 nearby restaurants
Watling Coffee House
375 reviews
.09 miles away
Massey's traditional tea room
243 reviews
.01 miles away
The Corbridge Larder
160 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 14 nearby attractions
Corbridge Roman Town
439 reviews
.51 miles away
The Blue Bell
36 reviews
.08 miles away
Pele Tower Pub
44 reviews
.04 miles away
Dilston Physic Garden
18 reviews
1.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
RJS92
November 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from linda7639 | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay to your question but we do have a full menu on
0
Votes
396joannel
August 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from sschhhh | Reviewed this property |
Always fresh vegetables & normal potatoes. I do not like chips either.
1
Vote
annajanepearson
February 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from linda7639 | Property representative |
Yes we are child friendly. Thanks
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing