We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Bull

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Middle Street, Corbridge NE45 5AT, England
+44 1434 632261
Website
Today
10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Sat - Sun 10:00 am - 8:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

695 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 686: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a meal last Sunday evening all 5 of us, the staff were welcoming and the food was fantastic we had a late Sunday lunch with crispy Yorkshire pudding and cauliflower cheese as an extra, we finished off with lovely puddings. I would recommend the Blackbull to anyone 5 stars from me.

Helpful?
Thank eddie772
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went for a lovely walk in corbridge so was looking for a well deserved hearty meal. When we walked in, we're welcomed very warmly and the place was full which is a good sign. I find it a bit strange that even though there is a restaurant separate to the pub area u have to go to the bar to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clair P
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit, we appreciate all feedback and I will certainly pass your praise for the fish and chips to our kitchen team and do hope we can welcome you again :) More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Pub was very busy on a cold and wet Sunday afternoon. After having a drink we decided to eat and both chose the chicken roast. It was around 4.30 pm and the pub had started to empty and we didn't wait long for food to arrive. Chicken and vegetables okay but roast potatoes hard and Yorkshire pudding like rubber! Perhaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill P
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and apologise that you were disappointed with part of your meal on your recent visit. i will certainly pass your comments onto our kitchen team and hopefully if you do ever visit again we have improved and you are able to reward us a higher rating More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lunch here today for the first time. It is very pleasant inside and has a good atmosphere. We only ordered sandwiches but they were pretty mediocre. Luke warm pulled pork in a sweet dressing and in cheap sliced bread. Salted rosemary fries were cold and had to be sent back. Hot replacement arrived swiftly but no sign of any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen R
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for doing a review and giving us some feedback, I will certainly share the comments with our team and hope if you decide to visit again we get it right for you More 

tyne and wear
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived late and asked if Sunday lunch was still being served. Told 'of course.' Lovely atmosphere, fire burning. Unfortunately roast beef dinner ruined by what can best be described as an apology for Yorkshire pudding. Tiny, dry and somewhat burnt. When we the asked waiter what had happened to 'large' Yorkshires, his response was casually flippant, they had 'run out.'... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank albertashore
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am quite shocked that you have only given us one star as it was only the Yorkshire pudding that disappointed you, however I will pass your comments onto our kitchen team More 

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just love this pub. We are lucky to live in the village, but we both work really hard and are so grateful we have somewhere we can call a local that's cosy. The food is great, there's a good selection of beers, and the pinot blush is just what I need after a busy day.

Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and i will share your comments with our team and hope we can welcome you again soon More 

Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very good pub with good food, beer, friendly staff, well worth a visit. Evenings may be busy as this is a popular place, and not without good reason. Corbridge is a lovely place and the Black Bull is a good refreshment place to call at.

Helpful?
Thank davidkB4588PC
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thanks for giving us a 5* rating, we are all delighted with your review and we hope you can visit us again soon More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice meal. Extensive menu. Pleasant staff. Lovely fire going. All you could want on a cold winter night.

Helpful?
Thank dianekendall2017
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Black Bull on trip advisor, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope you can visit us again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Black bull is our favourite haunt we regularly visit on a Friday night for food and a drink. We went with daughter and partner for lunch it was as always lovely food. David and Linda are lovely hosts and they and their team make sure your visit is welcoming. Great pub great food great staff make great experience. Love... More 

Helpful?
Thank tigershay1
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you like our pub and we hope to welcome you on many mere occasions More 

Garrucha, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very nice cosy pub in the centre of Corbridge. Good food, good friendly service and a warm fire on a cold evening. Not expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine G
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and delighted you enjoyed the warm cosy atmosphere and the food. We hope you can visit us again when your next in Corbridge More 

Travelers who viewed Black Bull also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Corbridge, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
 

Been to Black Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$6 - $19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 8:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Middle Street, Corbridge NE45 5AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Corbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1434 632261

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Black Bull and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Durham, United Kingdom
3 months ago
7 months ago
Washington, United Kingdom

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Black Bull staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?