We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Crewe Arms

Certificate of Excellence
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Sparrow Corner | Hinton In The Hedges, Brackley nn135nf, England
+44 1280 705801
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 114: English reviews
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to head out for Sunday lunch. In the car we phoned ahead to see if The Crewe Arms had a spare table for two.... Yes they did 👍 The restaurant is set in a lovely village and the restaurant must date back 100's of years and with many of the original features have been retained. The menu looked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Preston101
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Front of house could try harder, food excellent especially the fish, highly recommended for a great meal, the cheese board is great if you you have room and the cheese selection is excellent .

Helpful?
Thank Andy E
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

The Crewe Arms is a basic village pub but there is nothing basic about the prices. The only local beer available was Hook Norton Hooky which at £3.65 per pint was over the top. I chose the steak and kidney pudding from the menu and was bitterly disappointed. It was tasty enough, but £13.50 for a child sized portion was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mga231
neil B, Owner at The Crewe Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you thought your meal was not worth it, on the bright side you don't seem to be able to find fault with it's quality, just the portion size. Our beer pricing at £3.65 for a pint in this area is by no means expensive, in reality it's at the lower end of country... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

We were on our way home from the south west and fancied a country pub meal. This did not disappoint and we had a pleasant meal in a friendly atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank James I
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Booked and spoke to the chef as we had celiac in our party, very impressed the chef went through the menu with me and told me all the options he would have. Arrived and ordered our lunch and reminded again our friend was celiac. His lunch was presented with a lovely but sadly inedible Yorkshire pudding on top! The plate... More 

Helpful?
Thank emmaup123
neil B, Owner at The Crewe Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about the staff team on the day, and I'm pleased they tried to resove the situation. Clearly this was an error in the kitchen, slightly stupid considering they'd gone through the menu already. If you contact me directly I'll happily discuss this further with you. I'm sorry for any problems this may have caused. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

My partner and I were original going to another pub for Sunday lunch but they were fully booked, luckily we remembered this little place tucked away in a small local village Hinton in the Hedges. We were not disappointed! Great little find couldn't believe how empty it was, lots of spare tables, it was a very inviting atmosphere and nicely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donnaw42
neil B, Owner at The Crewe Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your meals. It was me that forgot the mint sauce! More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely Lovely food and atmosphere . Newbottle steak was delicious. Very welcoming staff, Will definitely be returning

Helpful?
Thank thefarmerswife2004
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Having just returned from a long weekend away, neither of us felt like cooking, so we visited the Crewe Arms as I had heard good reports about the food. It was a Monday night and they had a reasonable number of diners. Service was incredibly slow and we kept having to order another round of drinks (maybe a cunning plan?).... More 

Helpful?
Thank GableEndie
neil B, Manager at The Crewe Arms, responded to this review

Hi, we're not sure which Monday this was as we have a quiz night on the Monday that your review seems to refer to, but there's no mention of this. We have also changed a number of staff recently, including gh person I think you're alluding to. I'm pleased the food generates a positive review, sorry about the wait, I... More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

Took a party of 7 there for a birthday lunch at the weekend. The Pub is in a quiet village, a little off the beaten track, but is worth going to. Very good food, good choice of beer, friendly staff. Have no hesitation recommending it.

Helpful?
Thank tjtl
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

It's years since I've visited The Crewe Arms, and it has improved considerably! They have a very good menu, the food is well presented and very tasty, and the service is great. Will certainly be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G

Travelers who viewed The Crewe Arms also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
Farthinghoe, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Crewe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sparrow Corner | Hinton In The Hedges, Brackley nn135nf, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Brackley
  • Phone Number: +44 1280 705801
Description
This is a country pub with accomodation ( two rooms ) traditional fayre located near to silverstone and cotswolds

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crewe Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Pulham Market, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Crewe Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?