We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stirling Hotel Food

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 Mount Barker Rd, Stirling, South Australia 5152, Australia (Formerly Stirling Hotel Food)
+61 8 8339 2345
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Fri - Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 227: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Situated in the heart of Stirling this buzzy spot is a total must. The food is generous and delicious. Local wines to assist with digestion are of course par delicious and par essential is this wondrous wine region. The team here are very engaging and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
StirlingHotel, Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We are pleased to read you enjoyed food and beverages on offer. We look forward to being of service again in the future. Kind regards, Emily Miller More 

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

8 of us went to the Grill for a Sunday lunch on the long weekend. Mathew and Gemma provided outstanding service for 5 hours or so while we enjoyed 5 courses of shared platters and several outstanding bottles from the very sold wine list. Quality of food is excellent and the dishes are not over worked. I've had variable experiences... More 

Helpful?
Thank Honte4326
StirlingHotel, Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed a special occasion long lunch with us in the Grill. Your feedback has been shared with our team. We hope to be of service again in the future. Kind regards, Emily Miller More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Walked in The Bistro for lunch today and ordered a chicken schnitzel and salt and pepper squid. The squid itself was great! The schnitzel was terrible! It was small, dry and chewy. If it weren't for the large portion of chips would have left very hungry. Also there is a $2 charge for sauce! The smallest bowl of sauce hardly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leah R
StirlingHotel, Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your lunch at the hotel. We were disappointed to read about your experience and do encourage you to raise any concerns with our staff at the time so we can promptly rectify the issue. We are glad you enjoyed the setting and the salt and pepper squid. We hope... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Always an excellent experience at the Stirling Hotel. The pizzas are just stunning (I'm very fussy with pizza), the food in the bistro is also beautiful. The staff go 110%.

Helpful?
Thank Joanna H
StirlingHotel, Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoy the pizza's and service at the hotel. We look forward to being of service again in the future. Kind regards, Emily Miller More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It's a classy spot in the grill, so it was a pity it was so empty. Lovely waitress, but the food took ages! When it came it was delicious , especially the tempura oysters.

Helpful?
Thank hogiebear33
StirlingHotel, Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review following your visit to the Grill. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals, please know your feedback regarding the wait has been forwarded onto our management team. We hope to be of service again in the future. Kind regards, Emily Miller More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2017

We had a Christmas Lunch for a group of ten couples in Dec 2016. We had their private room which was very large and very comfortable. The quality of the food and staff service was outstanding and we all had a great afternoon! We can completely recommend The Grill for any dining experience!

Helpful?
Thank Garrick M
StirlingHotel, Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Grill. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Christmas Lunch in December in the Grill and hope to be of service again in the future. Kind regards, Emily Miller More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2017

We had dinner on a Saturday night with friends. Lovely setting - the hotel is historic and well maintained. The staff were very attentive and the service very good. All very good in this area. But we chose the hotel on a recommendation of price and portion size - this was dissapointing. If you choose steak - good size. However... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris and Vanes... J
StirlingHotel, Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We are disappointed to read about your experience as we aim to provide good food and service at all times and on this occasion appear to have failed. Please know your feedback has been shared with our management and kitchen team. We hope to... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

We had been before and had average food, reluctantly went again....I should have stayed away! I had the worst (burnt)chicken schnitzel and bitter inedible cole slaw...total waste of money and no nutrition at all! Dont waste your money going here!

Helpful?
Thank allan j
StirlingHotel, Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel. We were disappointed to read about your experience, we aim to provide good food and service at all times and appear to have failed on the occasion. We do encourage you to speak to our staff at the time of your concerns so we... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile

I was made to feel like an idiot because I asked for it to be made the way it had been served to me multiple times before (a standard recipe, industry wide). 'Benjamin' insisted this was 'the way we do it here' and proceeded to interrupt me while I explained and asked him to please make it the standard way-... More 

Helpful?
Thank happyeater90
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

We totally understand your position regarding the review you have just posted. Our team should & do know better than to tell a guest how a drink ‘should’ be made. If we have our own version of the Aperol Spritz it should have simply been explained to you. We are very embarrassed at the way you were treated & we... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2017

We went here on New Years Eve and had a great time. Pizzas are beautiful made in front of you. Though the other items on the menu seemed just as tempting. Busy of course but was served well and in good time considering the night it was.

Helpful?
Thank 13Amberl
StirlingHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Stirling Hotel Food, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Hotel for New Years Eve. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and hope to be of service again. Kind regards, Emily Miller More 

Travelers who viewed The Stirling Hotel Food also viewed

Crafers, Adelaide Hills
 
Stirling, Adelaide Hills
Stirling, Adelaide Hills
 
Uraidla, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Stirling Hotel Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Monday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 Mount Barker Rd, Stirling, South Australia 5152, Australia (Formerly Stirling Hotel Food)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Greater Adelaide  >  Adelaide Hills  >  Stirling
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8339 2345

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Stirling Hotel Food staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?