We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant

$$ - $$$British, ,
Jesmond House 1 Westrop, Highworth SN6 7HJ, England
+44 1793 762364
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good24%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“arancini” (2 reviews)
“sandwiches” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Contemporary, Georgian, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Jesmond House 1 Westrop, Highworth SN6 7HJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Easter Sunday lunch - food was very good and good value for money. The only reason for 4 stars was the service, we had to wait 45mins before our starters we’re served. The service was too slow. The staff were polite, but when I asked...More

Thank Ali0034
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry about the wait. We got caught out by our new online booking tool and had a few tables all arrive together, but we've given ourselves a bit more training on that now! Not sure what the confusion was on bread as we certainly do...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a Groupon Voucher, good value for money, we had coffee which was a tad bitter, sandwiches,Scones and Cakes were very nice, service was very good but unfortunately half way through the tea there was an awful smell breezing through the restaurant which made me...More

Thank Michael N
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael, apologies for that, sounds very strange and would've liked the opportunity to investigate further. Glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea selection. Best wishes, Linda

Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Decided to treat my Mum to a afternoon tea at The Highworth. Wish I hadn’t bothered, Awful service from the start. terrible over priced food. We left very disappointed and hungry. No choice of sandwich fillings. would definitely not recommend.More

1  Thank Andrea L
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Apologies Andrea that you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea. People have been making any special requests on sandwiches when they book as we cannot make finger sandwiches to order when you arrive, we would have been very happy to try and do what we could...More

Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

Visited here with friends and ordered from their normal menu. The food was really expensive and the portion sizes were tiny. Whilst some of it was tasty, it was by no means worth the cost and I ended up ordering some crisps from behind the...More

Thank European-Bookworm
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry about that. Portion size is not normally an issue and our food has never been described as pretentious before, we aim for good value, home cooked food using local produce where possible. Very sorry that we didn't get it right on this ocassion for...More

Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch with two friends, only ordered drinks and burgers, all was delicious and the service very friendly and relaxed. My only feedback I would give and it’s certainly not worth marking this lovely place down on, was the food was served on wooden...More

Thank Concordedave
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback we take it all constructively. Its never a problem to serve on a plate instead so please do not hesitate to ask should you next return, we really don't mind at all. Thank you for recommending us it...More

Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

Had afternoon tea with my wife, had a warm welcome on arrival and taken to our table. Food was great can’t wait to go again for a evening meal.

1  Thank Mulberrygrove
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Look forward to seeing you soon!! Warmest regards Linda

Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

I booked this on a Groupon voucher for four of my family. Unfortunately they came away rather disappointed. Their feedback consisted of ; poor food quality, three finger sandwiches, a scone each that were all rock hard and certainly did not appear to be freshly...More

1  Thank Karen W
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

There were 9 of us and the meal and service were excellent. I eat often at the hotel but some of my friends hadn't tried it. Every single choice was hot, tasty and portions were just right. Well done to the girls and don't let...More

2  Thank Veronica W
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

We are all so very pleased you enjoyed your time here! Thank you for choosing the Highworth for such a special ocassion. Warmest regards, Linda

Reviewed February 15, 2018

Good location. The service was great, ladies were really helpful and kind. The prices for bottle of wine are really off putting, they could be friendlier for the local people. Foodwise, portion sizes were a bit too small for the price we payed. My husband...More

1  Thank Jekaterina E
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Thank you for your review. Our wines have stayed at the same starting price of £16.00 since we started here 2 years ago and we work with our wine supplier to make sure that all the wines we offer are really good quality whilst remaining...More

Reviewed January 26, 2018

Small family celebration involving 6 people. Both starters and main meals were well presented and of good quality and most importantly were enjoyed by all! All meal prices equated with what one might expect in a good foodie pub. Staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent...More

1  Thank paulL2823SU
Lindaatthehighworth, General Manager at The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2018

Thank you for your review and your feedback on menus, yes the ones on our website are samples only as they do change, but we are always happy to email current menus out. It would be lovely to see you all again soon, very best...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Highworth Hotels
Stanton House Hotel
837 reviews
1.97 miles away
The Carpenters Arms
110 reviews
3.21 miles away
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
430 reviews
3.53 miles away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
745 reviews
3.54 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Ciao Eatalia
189 reviews
.09 miles away
Rafu's Restaurant
167 reviews
.04 miles away
Spice Kitchen
65 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Badbury Hill
10 reviews
2.33 miles away
Barrington Arms Hotel Bar
18 reviews
3.35 miles away
Buscot House
203 reviews
3.73 miles away
The Wine Bar
10 reviews
.10 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hazel W
October 15, 2016|
Answer
Response from Lindaatthehighworth | Property representative |
Dear Hazel Thank you ever so much for your enquiry Yes we are doing Christmas lunches throughout December but not on Christmas Day. Children are very welcome and under 12's are half price. A copy of our menu can be... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $42
Cuisine
British, Contemporary, Georgian, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Jesmond House 1 Westrop, Highworth SN6 7HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Highworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1793 762364
  • E-mail
Description
The Highworth Hotel and Restaurant is under new ownership as from April 2016, with new management and great new chef. We offer good quality home-cooked food, using local produce where possible, at affordable prices. Combine this with a relaxed, yet stylish setting, and great, personal service from our friendly team and we hope that The Highworth Experience is something you will want to come back for time and time again.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;