We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bell Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Rectory Lane, Parkham, Bideford EX39 5PL, England
+44 1237 451201
Website
Today
12:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Mon - Thu 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Sat 12:00 am - 3:00 pm
Fri 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2017

This is a nice pub and it does excellent food. I am specially fond of the pies as they do proper short crust pastry pies. I had an excellent Steak and Pigmy with copious vegetables. They also do vegetarian, as one of our party was vegetarian and this was also enjoyed. (I must admit it looked good to me also).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Awislon
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2017

We called in here for lunch whilst house-hunting in the village and definitely want it as our local if we can! We were made very welcome by the landlady, the landlord cooked us an excellent lunch and the surroundings were warm and comfortable - what more could you ask for?

Helpful?
Thank Jean W
Essex
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2016

Due to the fact that we live in Essex I haven't been to The Bell for a while. I was not disappointed and very pleased to see that this pub still has all the qualities I look for in a country pub: a warm welcome, good freshly cooked food, a great selection of real ales and other drinks, locals and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gurner
477rachel50, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you in 2017. More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2016

Had a wonderful meal as always, went with friends, and the food and service was fabulous, would always recommend eating there, can wait to go back

Helpful?
Thank sarahmelvint10
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2016

Whilst stopping in Parkham we visited this establishment twice once for a drink and then a second night for food, We had to phone and book as we saw it seemed to be very popular so we did on a Friday night and we were not disappointed. We had a table for 5 situated next to the open fire and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gromitsmate
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

Visited whilst on holiday on a Saturday night after searching local restaurants. It was their winter menu but managed to accommodate my sons request of burger even though no longer on the menu. It was a veried menu and the food was lovely and very reasonable. If in the area again will visit. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank M c
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

we were visiting on holiday and decided to fine somewhere for Sunday lunch near by. after reading a few good reviews we booked a table and glad i did it gets busy. we were first which us time to get comfortable. the pub to some would be outdated but i say rustic and full of charm. staff are friendly and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil C
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2016

A Monday night and a superb meal. Arrived at 5.30, but no food cooked until at least 6pm. All fresh, home cooked and delicious. Pub very friendly with a smattering of locals chatting amiably. Steak, home made chips, home made onion rings x2, x2 drinks and a sublime butterscotch came to a very reasonable £37. All up, and lovely service... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary H
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Went with friends for Sunday lunch,(and stayed till late) it was just fabulous!!! As was the pudding, great atmosphere lovely staff, and landlady and landlord(chief) very welcoming, Would recommend to anyone, and will be going back very soon, 4 very happy customers :)

Helpful?
Thank sarahmelvint10
Northampton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2016

We ate at The Bell as a party of four on a Saturday evening but I'm afraid the experience disappointed and we are unlikely to return any time soon. We'd been to The Bell before so we were expecting friendly service, good home-cooked food and an enjoyable family evening. The welcome was initially as expected but the service subsequently dipped,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seamo
477rachel50, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this review , We always take note of criticisms and try to improve . We are very sorry that you had such a terrible visit last Saturday, we apologise your experience at the Bell was not up to our normal high standards. More 

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 
Monkleigh, Bideford
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$12 - $23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Monday
12:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 am - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rectory Lane, Parkham, Bideford EX39 5PL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Torridge  >  Bideford  >  Parkham
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 451201

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Bell Inn and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Hartland, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Bell Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?