We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen

Forelands Beach | Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
+44 1983 874270
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“crab” (46 reviews)
“seafood” (52 reviews)
“crisps” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Forelands Beach | Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Had a really lovely family breakfast here, dogs are allowed and the owner is without doubt a hard working chap who wants recognition for his drive and innovative disposition. Unfortunately his wife is thick and really chippy.More

Thank Bony1962
beach2001, Owner at The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Bonny, thank you for your review. We have asked TA to remove as we feel this isn't actually for us at The Beach Hut. We don't serve breakfast. And our team are usually two men. I am the owners wife and l run our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Only made a quick visit,coffee for each of the party whilst strolling along the beach.Setting,probably could not be beat,beach,water ,great views.Coffee well priced at £2 especially as you can refill for free.Toilets left a bit to be desired!

Thank Brian I
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had Sunday lunch here while passing and the staff although a little slow were fabulous and so helpful. We even saw them let a small child off the cost of an ice cream because they didn't have enough money. Its lovely to see these...More

1  Thank Harper43
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a real gem... wonderful view and lovely attentive staff. The food is really good ... delicious and plentiful portions. Real attention to detail with extra touch. The toilets are exceptional ... very clean and good baby changing. Why go anywhere else ? This...More

Thank Tess K
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I did not actually eat here but I had an accident on beach falling off a Brocken rock and hit my head on another rock, and the people who used the hut were great and probably saved my life

1  Thank 323daveo
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Both meals were absolutely perfect! We were staying at Nodes Point, so after a great breakfast at Baywatch we booked a table for our evening meal. The menu was so tempting that we opted for both a starter and a main each (we normally just...More

Thank Dave C
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We had been walking from Ryde via Seaview back to Bembridge and came across this tea room. We sat outside and both had some lovely tea served by some very nice people. We will visit this tea room next time we visit the IoW. The...More

Thank SmartsHemel
Reviewed August 2, 2018

Excellent sea food, served almost on the beach! We made several visits especially to enjoy the summer Gin! The food is all freshly prepared so it may take a little while to arrive, but thats not a problem when you are relaxing.

Thank Chris B
Reviewed July 18, 2018

I think the people who complain about this place just don't get it. It is a beach shack, that's what it describes itself as and it isn't in the fast food business. The business it is in is local seafood, beautifully cooked - I had...More

3  Thank Sheila T
Reviewed July 12, 2018

My friend and I lunched here today. My second visit. We had the Smoked Salmon and King Prawn Salad, Crab Sandwiches, Pavlova, Lemon Tart all washed down with the Beachhut Summer Gin and Elderflower cocktail. All extremely well prepared, fresh and courteously served. We felt...More

Thank Ann K
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 hotels in Isle of Wight
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel
1,438 reviews
.32 miles away
Priory Bay Hotel
427 reviews
2.37 miles away
Seaview Hotel
497 reviews
3.12 miles away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
268 reviews
3.64 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lockslane Contemporary Bistro
266 reviews
.86 miles away
Fox's Restaurant
195 reviews
.87 miles away
The Old Village Inn Steak and Ale House
336 reviews
.86 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sally's Riding School
335 reviews
.12 miles away
Bembridge Lifeboat Station
495 reviews
.63 miles away
Bembridge Windmill
378 reviews
.92 miles away
Tackt Isle Adventures
67 reviews
1.82 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
alanjeanandme
April 25, 2017|
Answer
Response from beach2001 | Property representative |
Hi, yes we are very doggie friendly. All 4 paws are welcome everywhere apart from the kitchen! x
1
Vote
mortengroot
April 12, 2017|
Answer
Response from beach2001 | Property representative |
Hi, no we don't take reservations in 2017. Just come on down. So call us if the weather is a bit unsettled just to check. x
1
Vote
brian m
February 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from beach2001 | Property representative |
Hi, if the tide is out you can walk along the beach and it will take about 15 mins. If it's in the via the road on foot about 30 mins. In the car 5 mins. Our website has Google map and directions. No we are not open in... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$3 - $86
Meals
Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Forelands Beach | Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England (Formerly The Beach Hut)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Bembridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 874270
Description
The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood kitchen is a fresh seafood, cocktail & wine kind of place. Quirky. Outdoor. Seasonal. On the beach. Reached down a few wooden stairs. A tiny hut serving seafood platters, cocktails & wines from 12o/c. This is the spot for fresh seafood platters on a sunny day. Chilled rose. Relaxed. Open on dry days. Do call to check. We dont do tea and cake, afternoon teas, burgers, chips, chicken nuggets and no fancy coffees. Dont arrive in a hurry. Enjoy the view, seafood, cocktails & wine. Cards accepted. Casual dress. Blankets/sunscreen provided. CAMPING LOO! Baby changing and baby food heating facilities. Kids welcome with a small kids menu and a few toys to play with. Food is cooked to order from a kisok, so expect a wait. Local IW crab and lobster (if the fishermen can get out and we haven't sold out). Most of our menu is Gluten free. We are not posh, our furniture doesn't match. But we are friendly and relaxed. Bring kids, dogs and a jumper! X
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing