We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Wheatsheaf Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street, Dry Doddington NG23 5HU, England
01400281458
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tue - Fri 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Level Contributor
154 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited for lunch today. A big disappointment as we are fans of Tom Browns. My beetroot and cheese mousse starter was OK and I've had it before but the tuille was soft, not crisp. My main of Thai fish cakes was truly awful. Gelatinous mush with a thick crumb crust - the flavour came from the chilli jam only. Very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lulusmum
Hannah R, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for your comments, we are disappointed to hear you were not satisfied with the standard of food. Unfortunately, your issues were not raised on the day, and we were therefore unable to address them. Had you done so, I'm sure we could have made your experience a better one. Our pub is very old and its interior... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were traveling from the north west to a weekend wedding in the south and traffic on the A1 was awful. At lunchtime we saw a sign for this pub, so disappeared down a narrow lane and 3 minutes later we were at the pub, opposite an old leaning church. Clearly a favorite for locals, it was nice and cozy... More 

Helpful?
Thank BrianML
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited on a lunchtime for a light bite to eat. The wife and I both had a sweet chilli chicken ciabatta with a side portion of chips. The chicken portions themselves were rather on the mean side and the chilli sauce was a tad bland but ok. On the plus side the actual ciabatta rolls were nice, as were the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a day out with friends we all called in for an evening meal. It was the first time we had visited The Wheatsheaf and it won't be our last. We had been introduced when we had my birthday meal at The Boathouse Farndon. The staff were attentive and service was excellent. The quality of the meal and choice of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anne W
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely place for a Sunday evening meal and drink with friends. I like to go here when I want to be out of the way and hidden from view. You can hide in the bar and nobody knows you're there and privacy is guaranteed, especially when I want to be hidden. The food is beautifully prepared and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Powder P
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Really good pub food, easily the nicest quality in the area. We had a slight problem with the steak being overcooked but the staff were really apologetic and replaced it straight away and the second was perfect. I would recommend anybody who hadn't gone before to try this place, we have been a few times before and the Sunday lunch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Toprobuk3
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Booked a table on a quiet Friday night. The Wheatsheaf seem to want to be somewhere between a high class restaurant, a gastro pub and your village local, and are not quite sure where they end up. The food was pretty good, fresh and tasty, although my medium ribeye was slightly overdone but good nevertheless. We were somewhat dubious with... More 

Helpful?
Thank James B
East Sussex
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

Just a mile and a half down a country lane it is far better than any of the services you could find on the A1. A friendly welcome and a good pint of beer. We only wanted a snack so had Thai fishcakes and prawns and crayfish in a ciabatta roll. Both were delicious and I imagine the rest of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wychdene
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Decided to take my wife out for lunch, and as we had our dog with us, suggested the Wheatsheaf at Dry Doddington. Our meal was nicely presented and excellently cooked, the Thai fish cakes nicely spiced and the hake risotto very flavoursome. Together with that the service was efficient and friendly. For an out of the way country pub it... More 

Helpful?
Thank jezza79
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Booked a table for four people,Really relaxed evening,Great location and interior, Staff attentive but not overly so,food amazing,but if you get a chance try the cocktails especially purple rain.

Helpful?
Thank Oujufink

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Farndon, Newark-on-Trent
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Long Bennington, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$16 - $24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Dry Doddington NG23 5HU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Dry Doddington
  • Phone Number: 01400281458

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wheatsheaf Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?