We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Wheatsheaf Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street, Dry Doddington NG23 5HU, England
01400281458
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tue - Fri 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 140: English reviews
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This is a lovely place for a Sunday evening meal and drink with friends. I like to go here when I want to be out of the way and hidden from view. You can hide in the bar and nobody knows you're there and privacy is guaranteed, especially when I want to be hidden. The food is beautifully prepared and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Powder P
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really good pub food, easily the nicest quality in the area. We had a slight problem with the steak being overcooked but the staff were really apologetic and replaced it straight away and the second was perfect. I would recommend anybody who hadn't gone before to try this place, we have been a few times before and the Sunday lunch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Toprobuk3
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table on a quiet Friday night. The Wheatsheaf seem to want to be somewhere between a high class restaurant, a gastro pub and your village local, and are not quite sure where they end up. The food was pretty good, fresh and tasty, although my medium ribeye was slightly overdone but good nevertheless. We were somewhat dubious with... More 

Helpful?
Thank James B
East Sussex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just a mile and a half down a country lane it is far better than any of the services you could find on the A1. A friendly welcome and a good pint of beer. We only wanted a snack so had Thai fishcakes and prawns and crayfish in a ciabatta roll. Both were delicious and I imagine the rest of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wychdene
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016

Decided to take my wife out for lunch, and as we had our dog with us, suggested the Wheatsheaf at Dry Doddington. Our meal was nicely presented and excellently cooked, the Thai fish cakes nicely spiced and the hake risotto very flavoursome. Together with that the service was efficient and friendly. For an out of the way country pub it... More 

Helpful?
Thank jezza79
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Booked a table for four people,Really relaxed evening,Great location and interior, Staff attentive but not overly so,food amazing,but if you get a chance try the cocktails especially purple rain.

Helpful?
Thank Oujufink
Midlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

I booked on line for a Wednesday evening and included in the booking info that the three of us were vegetarian and one lactose intolerant as well. We are used to a bit of a half hearted effort for veggies and the lactose element is often not considered so we were thrilled at the service we received. There was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank veggiestyle
Hannah R, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments. We strive to accommodate for people with all food allergies, and to give them as many options as we can. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards The Wheatsheaf Team More 

Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

We visited the Wheatsheaf because it is advertised as at the Farndon Boathouse which is just wonderful. Unfortunately we had one of the worst meals we have had. The three of us had a pie each which was beef. Because it advertised pie night we thought this must be a specialty. There was no sauce in the pie and very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Traveller2030
Hannah R, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Our pies are usually well received, and much enjoyed. Our gravy and pies are homemade and not bought in. Unfortunately because no complaints were made on the night, we were unable to resolve these issues with... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016

The Wheatsheaf Inn - 10/10 for surroundings, service and food. I booked a table at the Wheatsheaf to meet up with a friend for lunch and a catch-up (closest halfway house between our homes!). We were warmly welcomed and seated promptly, the menu offered lots of choice and we were very impressed with the quality and quantity of our meal... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank KAJ2013
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Popped in on the off chance with a friend looking for a bite to eat. Was greeted immediately and seated promptly, ordered drinks which arrived straight away from the lovely barman who was very polite and friendly. My friend and i opted to go for a sandwich each as the weather was calling for something light, he had the chicken... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank nomnomfan

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Farndon, Newark-on-Trent
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Barnby in the Willows, Newark-on-Trent
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$16 - $24
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Dry Doddington NG23 5HU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lincolnshire  >  Dry Doddington
  • Phone Number: 01400281458

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Wheatsheaf Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Derby, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?