We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

There aren't enough food, service, value or atmosphere ratings for Robata Niseko Naniwatei, Japan yet. Be one of the first to write a review!

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $69
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Grill, Kaiseki, Hokkaido cuisine
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
8
1
3
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
8
1
3
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 25, 2020

The food was very good but the service was better. We were staying at the Park Hyatt for around 2 weeks and we had one dinner and one lunch at Robata. Its definitely not cheap and yes you can drive 15-20 min to Kutchan town...for similar food for a lot less but it was the convenience and the staff which made Robata special.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robatananiwatei, お客様担当マネージャー at Robata Niseko Naniwatei, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2020

Dear Ms. Chan, Thank you very much for the great feedback! We are glad that you are happy with our service. We look forward to your next visit. :) Maria

Reviewed February 13, 2020 via mobile

Overpriced for what you get. Read the review under ‘Terrible’ dated Jan 17, 2020 and it says exactly what we experienced in every point. We did an 11 course meal at a 2 star Michelin restaraunt in Portugal that took 4 hours to eat. This...place was 11 courses and we were done in 1 hour. You no sooner finished one course and the next was in front of you. A few nice flavoured dishes (as the other review stated) but the rest was uneventful, no wow factor or flavours to remember. Waste of money, entire meal not worth more than $75 pp. Had better meals under $25 elsewhere that left you going back again......not here.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robatananiwatei, Manager at Robata Niseko Naniwatei, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2020

Dear Ms. Rhonda, Thank you for your time to write us a review. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the course menu. We always do our best to serve quality food with premium ingredients but we would like to apologize if the pace...More

Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

This is the second time I visited this restaurant. The chef has changed but the food quality remains the best. The home made plum sake is very good. The 540 days aged potato is only available to restaurants in Niseko and is a must try...local delicacy.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robatananiwatei, 支配人 at Robata Niseko Naniwatei, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2019

Dear Mr. Paul, Thank you very much for the great feedback. It was our pleasure to have you and we are very glad to know that you are satisfied with the quality of our food. We look forward to serving you again next time :)

Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

A throughly enjoyable meal, staff were all very hospitable so only compliments on that front. Went for the medium priced Omakasei set. Overall nice but dessert was underwhelming. No complaints about the ambience or any loud groups, it was fine as far as we were...concerned.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
robatananiwatei, 支配人 at Robata Niseko Naniwatei, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. However, we are sorry to hear that the dessert was underwhelming, we hope we would be able to impress you on your next visit! :) Best regards, Maria

Reviewed January 5, 2019 via mobile

Came here with a group of Friends for a pre set dinner. Simple set up restaurant and with English speaking staff. Food was alright with the freshest ingredients but will say that other than the aged potato and steamed oyster that taste exceptionally good ,...the rest is just normal. Total bill for 5 person with a bottle of sake bill comes out to around Usd 1600.More

Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

Our New Year’s Eve dinner was ruined by an obnoxiously loud crowd of Hong Kong diners. Their group of 20+ occupied 3 tables (out of the 5 tables available that night) and acted as if they were out clubbing i.e incredibly loud conversations shouted across...the room, playing noisy drinking games, etc. The restaurant’s staff did not speak to this group about their behavior at all, but allowed them to continue their disruptive behavior. To make things worse for us, we arrived 1 hour late as the restaurant’s car picked us up 45 mins late and then the car broke down! Avoid this restaurant!!!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
752kojim, オーナー at Robata Niseko Naniwatei, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

Dear guest, Again,we sincerely apologize for what happened on New Year`s Eve. However we did apologize and gave complimentaries as we also did not want what happened to the vehicle and as for the other guests, they also apologized on the group`s behalf as they...More

Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Expected too much from the reviews. Other less hyped restaurants have better cuisine. They try hard but summer must be slow. Some excellent alternatives are around.

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 3, 2018 via mobile

Had a fantastic summer course for dinner. The soon to be famous 540 day old aged potato that tasted almost as sweet as a sweet potato and the grass fed Tokachi wagyu steak that has exquisite marbling, succulent but not too fatty to the pallet...is yet another lasting impact that had a whole lot different flavor that the previous wagyu i had. These were the highlights of the night and we most certainly find it extremely delightful and satisfying. I highly recommend this place as I have also visited the main store in Sapporo and to which i assure, you will never be disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We had gone to Rakuichi previous night and the differences were rather glaring given the huge price difference. Naniwatei lacks the finesse and as a group of 13, majority didn't feel if was worth paying ¥25,000 for Omakase. Kaiseki is ¥15,000 which is more reasonable....The beef in both sets was excellent. My favourite was the crab dumpling.More

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 9, 2018

Came for dinner one evening and tried the chef's menu, as a courtesy to patrons we were asked if there was anything we can't or prefer not to eat. We found the chef very friendly and engaging as with the rest of the staff that...we came across. Foodwise, no complaints whatsover, only compliments are deserving as far as our experience is concerned. Robata Niseko is certainly on the return list for the next visit. Some photos of the dishes included in this review, but of course photos can never do the food justice. A thoroughly enjoyable dining experience.More

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

told us to arrive on time at 815 which we fid then made us stand out in the cold for 45 mins. after seating proceeded to not serve our table for another 30 mins not even a cup of tea or water. ordered a bottle...of 1.8l sake another 30 mins and then proceeds to tell us they are out of sake glasses. its such a joke of a place the food is decent but everythig else was horrible.More

Date of visit: December 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

We were introduced by a friend to visit this place. It is about 5 minutes drive from Hirofu. It is in a small farm keeping their own life stocks and a corn field. We were assigned to seat at the bar table so we witnessed...the whole cooking process. The chef diligently making every course from the grill and explained everything in detail when they serve. It is the best robatayaki I ever had. A bonus is that since it is situated in the middle of nowhere, there manager drive us back to the hotel. All in all, highly recommended. They will also open this summer, keep an eye on it!More

Date of visit: March 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

Important logistical point: the restaurant will collect you by car for your meal, so there is no excuse not to visit this gem of a restaurant. My daughter and I were both amazed by the quality of the food. We experienced a wide range of...Hokkaido meat, fish and produce prepared with imagination using a variety of cooking methods. The king crab, soaked in dashi, was particularly good. Succulent, moist and kissed with smoke from the robata grill. The steamed egg custard was served piping hot, wonderfully creamy (normally I am no fan of this dish). The cold tomato salad was incredibly refreshing, serving to refresh the palate for the final push to the end on the tasting menu. The grilled beef was perfection. The staff in the restaurant could not be more welcoming. This restaurant is a must for any Niseko visitor with an interest in the best food Japan has to offer.More

Date of visit: February 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 3, 2017

A fabulous 13 course feat cooked before our eyes. This is a special experience based on simply cooked local delicacies. The location, a farm house surrounded by snow covered fields was lovely. A little out of the way, but they will organise transport. Well worth...booking.More

Date of visit: December 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

We came to Naniwate not knowing what to expect and found a true gem in this new restaurant! Service was warm and friendly (we were greeted by a lady in Kimono!) The setting is beautiful set in a small farm near Hirafu. The food is...truly outstanding, grilled in front of you, some of the best crab, wagyu and kinki fish I have ever had. The signature tomato salad dish might be one of the top 5 dishes in Niseko! All in all highly recommended and a I will be back!More

Date of visit: December 2016
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hakobune Niseko
1 review
.85 miles away
Always Niseko
299 reviews
1.25 miles away
Hilton Niseko Village
2,049 reviews
1.27 miles away
Higashiyama Niseko Village, A Ritz-carlton Reserve
8 reviews
1.34 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Prativo
231 reviews
1.42 miles away
Melt
163 reviews
1.26 miles away
Mandriano
28 reviews
1.43 miles away
Villa Lupicia Restaurant
110 reviews
1.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Niseko Village Ski Resort
436 reviews
1.30 miles away
Niseko Village Pure
61 reviews
1.30 miles away
Arishima Memorial Center
27 reviews
1.63 miles away
The Village
5 reviews
1.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pathfinder586433
October 15, 2019|
Answer
Response from robatananiwatei | Property representative |
Dear Guest, Yes we do allow kids and we offer kids menu. Thank you!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ROBATA NISEKO NANIWATEI, Kutchan-cho - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Robata Niseko Naniwatei

Yes, Robata Niseko Naniwatei offers delivery services.