We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The White Swan

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street | Shawell, Lutterworth LE17 6AG, England
+44 1788 860357
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 327: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Poor service, slow and disjointed. Starter ok but very uninspired use of smoked salmon, however I will say the one good element was the black bread. Mains was a very disappointingly small portion of cheese souffle,which had much more in common with a cheese omlette than a good souffle, followed half way through by small portion of uninspiring roast veg.... More 

Helpful?
Thank marilynnorth
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear marilynnorth, Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review. I'm sorry to hear that you found your visit here disappointing however this was not the feedback I received from the other 23 members of your party on the day. We were told by many people including Shelia who was the main organizer how lovely the food... More 

Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I eaten here at breakfast,lunch and dinner.Always loved the food ,atmosphere ,and service.The restaurant is very attractive but it still remains a lovely country pub with good beer !

Helpful?
1 Thank jane g
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear Jane g, Thank you for writing such a kind review. I'm pleased that you enjoy your visits here with us and have passed on your comments to the team. We always work hard to create new dishes, fantastic service & atmosphere for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Mollie. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The wines were great but the main course I found the rib eye steak very tough with no taste, very disappointed The starter and sweet were very good

Helpful?
Thank malcolm01949
Mollie G, Owner at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear malcolm01949, Thank you for writing your review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the starter and dessert on our Argentinean night along with the wines that were selected specifically for the evening. However I was naturally disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the main course which got excellent feedback from our other 28 guests on the night. I... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Allowed to sit in the large Restaurant and eat Bar Food (limited selection) as we were joined by a large wedding party. The bar food is Restaurant quality but I notice that they also have tasting menus which may be great for a return visit. Staff very friendly/helpful/smiling and nothing any trouble. Large Car park to rear. Would have preferred... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear Robert J, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We were all pleased to read that you found the staff friendly & helpful and that you enjoyed your latest dinner visit to the swan. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards, Mollie. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016

Visited again after a few years and the food and service are still as good as we remembered, especially the partridge. Certainly worth a visit for that special occasion

Helpful?
Thank Janis J
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear Janis J, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our partridge dish has proved to be very popular since it's been on the menu. I have passed on your kind comments to the rest of the team. We Hope to welcome you back very soon! Warm Regards, Mollie More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

I feel so lucky that we live so close to the White Swan, it's just a really fab place. On our most recent visit we brought friends along for their first visit and they were very impressed. We had a drink in the snug before we were seated for our meal. The boys were happy as they have Peroni on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear Kate M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. The kitchen and front of house team work exceptionally hard to create first class food and fantastic service to all of our guests so naturally we were all pleased to read your comments. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2016 via mobile

Lovely place to visit for a special occasion, the food and wine is gorgeous and the children's menu is very reasonably priced. The starters are expensive but worth it. It's the ideal place to come for a celebration

Helpful?
1 Thank ned0610
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear ned0610, Thank you for your kind review. We were all very pleased that you enjoyed your dinner here with us. As always we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Mollie. More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2016

Returned to the White Swan on 14/10/16. Still excellent. Fast becoming the default restaurant for anniversaries. Great food, friendly and attentive service. Lovely atmosphere. Strongly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Cliffest
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear Cliffest, Thank you for your kind feedback. I have passed on your comments to the team who were all pleased that you enjoyed your visit here with us and continue to do so. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm Regards, Mollie. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

Excellent service, hospitality and food. Probably the best gastro pub in warwickshire and definitley the best I have found.

Helpful?
Thank roberdm
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear roberdm, Thank you for your kind comments which I have passed on to the team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Mollie. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2016

If you are looking for small village restaurant that offers excellent food, wine and service then look no further than The White Swan. The food was so fresh, tasty and well presented you could tell just by looking at each meal that was being served that the whole team have a real passion for quality food and service. Our first... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren8196
Mollie G, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review

Dear Darren8196, Thank you for writing such a lovely review. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your first visit here with us. All the team work hard to provide excellent food and service to all of our guests so we were all delighted to read your comments. We hope to welcome you back for a second visit. Kind Regards, Mollie More 

Travelers who viewed The White Swan also viewed

Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Gilmorton, Leicestershire
 
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
Lutterworth, Leicestershire
 

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | Shawell, Lutterworth LE17 6AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Lutterworth
  • Phone Number: +44 1788 860357

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The White Swan and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?