We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6 - $18
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveler rating
211
204
139
111
123
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
211
204
139
111
123
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cake great carvery quick service sunday lunch meats
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed November 21, 2020 via mobile

We have visited this restaurant on many occasions and were generally very pleased . However on this occasion the experience went from bad to worse. Member of staff was exceptionally rude when questioned on why the food hasn’t been served and the unnecessary delays. We...were served some food but my daughter was still waiting 15 minutes after our carpet was served so we left. Sadly, this experience will mean we no longer visit. I feel that the establishment employs very young staff whom sadly lack the experience and the ability to ensure quality customer service. Matter raised with the manager whom was very good and tried to help.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your visit with us. We have taken your comments on board and will be using them as a coaching tool for our staff when we reopen on Monday. We hope you...More

Reviewed November 2, 2020

Me and husband had a brilliant night stay room's where spotless beds very comftable. Breakfast was lovely and great breakfast choices good value for money we enjoyed our stay and booked another night we had a lovely meal carvery was excellent staff was very welcoming...especially Jo in the morning had a lovely chat whilst waiting for breakfast she was really nice. All the staff were very nice and made us welcome. We will defo be coming back again Thanks for the lovely stay.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great review! I will pass this feedback onto the team, I’m sure they will be delighted to hear this! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed October 28, 2020 via mobile

Terrible place chips were 13.6 pence per chip and some chips were small. Staff unhelpful when wife queried if food she wanted had cows milk in. My beef burger was microwaved. Saw staff drop a food lid on the floor and then place it back...( yuck) avoid at all costs slovenly cleaning of tablesMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning Bill, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I have taken on your comments and will be using them and ensuring the team are more aware of what ingredients are in our meals, however if you’re unsure you can always...More

Reviewed October 25, 2020 via mobile

Our first visit here and we will definitely return. Food and service was excellent, our waitress Ellie was lovely, thank you 👍😊

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the great review! I have passed your comments onto Ellie and she was delighted to hear it! We look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed October 20, 2020 via mobile

Visited on Saturday. I had a perfectly cooked steak, and the staff were very friendly and efficient. I was very pleased with the Covid arrangements too and felt very safe. Will definitely return

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a fantastic review, John! I have passed your feedback onto the team and they were delighted to hear it! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed October 17, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic visit. Really impressed with how you have adapted to the situation COVID has created. Team were really friendly. The food was delicious. Most importantly we felt safe. Thank you to the team there and we look forward to our next visit.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Gavin thank you for the lovely review! We have been working hard to ensure our guests are safe and comfortable and I’m glad to hear we manage this! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed October 15, 2020 via mobile

Have been meeting family here for breakfast on Sunday mornings for the last few years. Breakfast offer is great. £7.45 for cooked breakfast including continental breakfast and drinks is great. Under 12's breakfast are free which is great for me as my four your old...is always hungry. My two kids have cereal, yogurts, pastries and fruit juices and then a kids full breakfast. I'd recommend the eggs benedict. While its no longer self service for the continental and coffee machine after a difficult few weeks of settling into table service the staff seem to of got it nailed now and the service is once again. fantastic.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the fantastic review! Breakfast is a great way to start the day and I’m glad to hear you always enjoy yours! We can’t wait to see you again!

Reviewed October 12, 2020

Don’t write many reviews on trip advisor as something has to stand out for me to bother leaving a review Anyway popped in for lunch today me and my wife had a lovely drink and meal all at a reasonable price,the food was spot on...but the reason why I wanted to leave a review was just to say what a miserable bloke that manager is,I personally think he’s in the wrong profession.i know there’s a lot going on at the moment and everyone’s sick of the coronavirus but man alive he’s just really miserable.he couldn’t even muster a smile or make the effort to be a little friendly,I don’t know maybe we caught him on an off day but I think when ur working in hospitality u need better ppl skills.now as for his assistant manager she was lovely and made u feel welcome and was just generally miles better,so my advice to this chap would be “mate If u ain’t happy managing a pub get another job doing something else and cheer up “More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your meals and drinks! I have used your feedback in our management meeting to ensure that everyone is on top of their game all day, every day! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed October 10, 2020

We have known the Spread Eagle for great breakfast and good service previously, hence the shock of being completely ignored by staff two weeks ago. We got fed up after more then half an hour of waiting, left and wrote an email to complain. Thankfully,...we got a reply very soon with apologies and an offer to have complimentary breakfast at a day and time of our choice. This completely made up for the first time. We just had our breakfast today and found the same great food we've known there, chilled atmosphere, and the staff were amazing this time. It was different staff to 2 weeks ago - a woman who was lovely, very attentive and very sweet, so her service and the quality of the food put this place back on our list of restaurants we'd like to visit again.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! I appreciate that you gave us another chance after we got it wrong first time around and ecstatic to know we managed to make things right! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed October 7, 2020

Called in to have dinner on a return journey from Shrewsbury. We were welcomed and seated at a clean table, by staff wearing masks - so felt very ‘safe’. The food came quite quickly and was very good. Although we don’t live locally, I’m sure...we will visit again. Well done to the hardworking team and kitchen staff in these difficult days!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Spread Eagle, General Manager at The Spread Eagle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the amazing review! Our aim is to make every guest feel comfortable and safe while visiting us and I’m glad to hear we managed it! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us as well! We hope to see you...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Oak Farm Hotel
279 reviews
2.38 miles away
Featherstone Farm Hotel
126 reviews
3.40 miles away
Premier Inn Cannock South hotel
529 reviews
3.61 miles away
Premier Inn Wolverhampton North hotel
649 reviews
4.01 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cyril's Tea Room And Vintage Emporium
52 reviews
.33 miles away
Staffordshire Grill
1,424 reviews
2.09 miles away
Dobbies
64 reviews
.09 miles away
Lazy Days Tea Room
149 reviews
2.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cannock Chase Trekking Centre
383 reviews
3.88 miles away
Cannock Chase
1,309 reviews
2.20 miles away
Georgie's Canal Cruises
61 reviews
3.59 miles away
Rodbaston Animal Zone
191 reviews
1.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
987daniw
July 31, 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from GreatWyrleyChico | Reviewed this property |
All finished both restaurant and playarea, enjoy!
1
Vote
pfamily2013
August 3, 2015|
Answer
Response from charleddy |
YES They do
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Spread Eagle

  • The Spread Eagle is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 3.5
    • Service: 3.5
    • Value: 3.5
    • Atmosphere: 3.5