We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fell Restaurant

Bassenthwaite Lake | The Pheasant Inn, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA13 9YE, England
+44 17687 76234
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“sea bass” (3 reviews)
“pate” (2 reviews)
“pudding” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bassenthwaite Lake | The Pheasant Inn, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA13 9YE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2018

My friend and I come here a few times a year and always enjoy it . But the food this Sunday was exceptional , After a pre lunch drink we we given a window seat in the restaurant overlooking the gardens and fells . Our...More

Thank allanKeswick
Matthew W, Manager at The Fell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to post this. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your time with us. We can't wait to welcome you back.

Reviewed December 25, 2017

We usually eat in the Bistro here as the food is lovely and the atmosphere is cosy and relaxed. However on this occasion due to an online mix up, my husband and I had booked the restaurant instead. On arrival we were made very welcome...More

Thank Yvonne P
Matthew W, Manager at The Fell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us Yvonne. I'm glad to hear that you found our team accommodating and enjoyed your meal with us. I'm also very pleased to hear that you love our Bistro. I'm sorry that...More

Reviewed November 8, 2017

Pre-booked dinner at the Fell Restaurant and our dining experience did not disappoint. Service was impeccable and the food was delicious and presented so well. Pricey place to eat but worth every penny. Would highly recommend. If you want a less formal experience then there...More

Thank Bubviv
Matthew W, Manager at The Fell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the restaurant - very pleased to hear you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed November 2, 2017

Bit of a treat after a long day on the fells. Old school atmosphere and surroundings. Apparently the chef has recently changed but the food was as good as our last visit. Really enjoyable evening

Thank YorkshireManinblack
Matthew W, Manager at The Fell Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon after another day on the fells!

Reviewed August 2, 2017

We had read about this very old pub/inn, not too far from upper Bassenwaithe Lake, so headed up there for a drink before noontime. The pub glows a warm, reddish welcome from hundreds of years of smoke. The furniture is mismatched, which however works in...More

Thank Jackson9305
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

Very poor experience, bad quality of food. Looks like they use not fresh ingredients. We came in booked time and waited for half on hour however three couples was in restaurant only

Thank Sergey Z
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

Is was very poor experience Staff unfriendly Pretend to be French or stylish restaurant Food quality very poor Fillet of beef - tainted piece of meet with smelly aftertaste Starter - piece of cheese with carrot and mayo decorating Presentation average Restaurant decor - average...More

Thank kattyforest
Reviewed March 22, 2017

We dined here with friends when staying at the hotel. The menu had a choice of three starters and three main courses. Sea bass starter was OK but with flaccid skin on the fish. I ordered steak fillet as my main course. It was well...More

Thank nixon6he
Reviewed February 27, 2017 via mobile

We passed this lovely venue whilst walking in the Lake District and in need of a caffeine fix and the loo popped in just as they were opening. Despite having only just opened the doors after serving breakfast for their B&B guests, lighting up the...More

Thank Sidthemanager
Reviewed November 9, 2016

Visited this restaurant on 5th Nov and because of other pending attractions elsewhere the restaurant wasn't full to capacity although the ambience was quite good. Food was well presented on every course.and staff courteous and efficient The food was cooked to perfection with the menu...More

Thank IanAthertonUK
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn
584 reviews
.00 miles away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
1,817 reviews
1.17 miles away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
1,003 reviews
1.56 miles away
Embleton Spa Hotel
572 reviews
1.61 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Wheatsheaf Inn
238 reviews
1.67 miles away
The Coach House Restaurant at Ravenstone Lodge
153 reviews
2.26 miles away
The Restaurant at The Cottage in the Wood
297 reviews
3.96 miles away
Wheatsheaf Inn
275 reviews
4.16 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bassenthwaite Lake
253 reviews
1.61 miles away
Go Ape Whinlatter
200 reviews
3.87 miles away
The Lake District Wildlife Park
618 reviews
1.38 miles away
Whinlatter Forest Park
594 reviews
3.89 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Alice Elizabeth D
October 2, 2015|
Answer
Response from william m | Reviewed this property |
This restaurant is superb and would be entirely suitable.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$58 - $78
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bassenthwaite Lake | The Pheasant Inn, Bassenthwaite, Keswick CA13 9YE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Keswick  >  Bassenthwaite
  • Phone Number: +44 17687 76234
  • E-mail
Description
The Pheasant at Bassenthwaite's fine dining restaurant is renowned for excellent food that exceeds expectations, and we were recently awarded 2 AA Rosettes in recognition of the precision in cooking and quality of ingredients. We are proud to be the only restaurant in the Cockermouth area with 2 rosettes. We invite you to visit, taste the best that Lakeland has to offer and enjoy a memorable fine dining meal in a beautiful, relaxed setting. The Fell Restaurant is open in the evenings Wednesday to Saturday (from 6pm till 9pm) and for traditional Sunday lunch (Sunday from 12pm til 2pm). The menu changes regularly
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;