We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shepherd and Dog

) #1 of 17 Restaurants in Henfield $$ - $$$ , British,
The Street | Fulking, Henfield BN5 9LU, England
+44 1273 857382
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“tapas” (15 reviews)
“south downs” (42 reviews)
“the pub” (68 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
The Street | Fulking, Henfield BN5 9LU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food but very slow/incomplete service. It was a busy Sunday lunch service and we had reserved a table for 4. The Manager (??) seemed quite stressed throughout. One starter wasn't served, even though when the others arrived we said that something was missing. Having...More

1  Thank EllaBella47
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely pub in Fulking with great food in perhaps one of the best countryside settings I've found for a pub meal. Right at the base of the South Downs, it's dog friendly, welcoming, has great veggie options that are unusual and is the perfect...More

Thank Beth H
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just come home from one of the most disappointing meals of my life. Tasteless duck over cooked steak and flat ridgeview - for £115 for 4 main meals 4 beers and 2 ridgeview wish we had gone somewhere upmarket!!! And not an overpriced pub !!...More

Thank Dollyncrumpy
SD_Management, General Manager at The Shepherd and Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Dollyncrumpy, I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. We pride ourselves in providing some of the best food and drink this county has too offer so when we hear we have fallen short in quality we are equally disappointed. Could you please...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for a sunday roast and specifically asked to sit in the garden. Arrived for a 4pm booking and we were told that the new policy meant we could not eat our roast in the garden and would have to sit inside or on some...More

Thank Feizin A
SD_Management, General Manager at The Shepherd and Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Feizin A, Thanks for the comments. We do not always get it right and admit when we have not been good enough however after careful consideration here is our response. You can not and never have been able to book a table outside let...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked but we were late as it had taken us much longer than planned to walk there due to icy conditions. I called ahead & the staff were very understanding. We knew we had to be done by a certain time for the next...More

Thank Claire P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked at 4pm and little concerned that at this time food could have been hanging around. Need not have worried as quantity and quality was good.

Thank 504wardy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is nothing to say! Just go there and try yourselves! One of the best pub/restaurant in Brighton!

Thank Cico1994
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place accommodated 21 one of us including children and dogs in the barn for Sunday lunch. It was absolutely delicious with great options for meat eaters, vegetarians, vegans and people with allergies. We will definitely come again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

off the spur we decided to try this beautifully located pub and we were not disappointed on one of their busiest days of the year they managed to find us a table as we had not booked we had a drink in the beautiful grounds...More

Thank millymo2014
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's worthwhile to leave the main road and visit this lovely country pub hidden in the foot of the hills. I had a massive portion of a duck salad, and a glass of red wine, and both were excellent. The waiter was super-friendly, helpful, and...More

Thank Epidhu
Nearby Restaurants
Rushfields Cafe
56 reviews
1.62 miles away
Tottington Manor Restaurant & Bar
92 reviews
1.91 miles away
The Glass House Restaurant
261 reviews
2.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wayfield Park Farm
17 reviews
2.81 miles away
Washbrooks Family Farm
125 reviews
3.65 miles away
Clayton Wood Natural Burial Ground
17 reviews
3.74 miles away
Woods Mill nature reserve
28 reviews
2.34 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Is there any B&B or similar accommodation near by?
July 15, 2015|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from sweetheart55 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure either, very small hamlet but I'm sure this pub would be happy to help with advice and guidance about what is available in the vicinity.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
$6 - $20
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Open Hours
11:00 am - 11:45 pm
10:00 am - 11:45 pm
10:00 am - 11:45 pm
10:00 am - 11:45 pm
10:00 am - 11:45 pm
10:00 am - 11:45 pm
10:00 am - 11:45 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street | Fulking, Henfield BN5 9LU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Henfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 857382
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing