We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Post Office Bistro

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
European, British, Fusion
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveler rating
270
15
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
270
15
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ginger wine amuse bouche scallops affogato crab cakes cheese board steak frangipane tart cheeseboard bread seafood ice cream sea bass chicken salad friday and saturday front of house
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a false start, (mix up of dates), we had a superb. The starters were executed perfectly and extremely tasty. We had the fillet steaks as a main course and they were large, tender and tasty and they came with an abundance of chips, onion...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank JaneS35
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and I'm so pleased that you managed to come back the following evening. We look forward to welcoming you back, kind regards Helen and Rich

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is the bees knees! Visited on Friday with friends and everything from start to finish was perfect. Front of house is a character (jokes are questionable though lol) staff friendly and attentive and chef, who was lovely, even came to our table for...More

Date of visit: August 2019
11  Thank 965grahamt
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I love that expression and even better that you think we are the bees knees! It was great to meet you and lovely to hear so much laughter coming from your table. Thanks for taking the time to post this fab review and we hope...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

the food was delicious. i would highly recommend the food but make sure to book in advance as due to circumstances beyond the control of the owners ie local regulations they can only open fridays and saturday which id a real shameMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Vanessa S
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're really pleased you enjoyed your evening in the bistro and thank you for your kind words. It is a frustrating situation with our planning restrictions, both for us and for guests trying to get a table, but book early is a good recommendation. Best...More

Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

Went after reading reviews on trip advisor and booked ahead. Arrived and given menu but unfortunately my menu didn’t have specials in it and didn’t see board. Not the end of the world!. After a while ordered drinks with host and served quickly. The arrival...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank rally5
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2019

Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to our little bistro and so pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the menu choices. Many apologies you didn't get to see the specials menu. We only open 2 nights each week (not by...More

Reviewed August 7, 2019

Two visits to the Old Post Office Bistro in the last month have been a real treat, & another planned for later this month, how spoilt are we?! What more can we say about the Old P.O. Bistro? Simply, it’s the best restaurant in this...More

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank David T
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

We love it when you dine with us, you bring warmth and friendliness with you and it's so good to be appreciated. We work hard with long hours at this time of year and we have a very small team to achieve what we do...More

Reviewed August 5, 2019

Ate in the bistro whilst staying in the post office on a short break . You don’t have to be staying here to eat but you do need to book , this place is too good to be relying on walk in traffic. A small...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank P_J_Murphy1962
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2019

Thoughtful review, many thanks it really is appreciated. Small, comfortable and like dinner with friends is just what we want to achieve, so all good. Best wishes Helen and Rich

Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

Hi this was beautiful food. Well worth it. Steak for me and shakshuka for my partner who loved hers too. Good chilled atmosphere too. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank D1671JPjonb
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you for eating with us and staying with us too! It was lovely to meet you both and pleased you liked your meal. Best wishes Helen and Rich

Reviewed July 12, 2019

Helen is a wonderful cook and Richard always ensures everyone is looked after so well. It was the best meal of our stay and everything was 1st class from the breads to the wine sourced. A must visit if you can get a reservation!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank KITCHO11
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

How lovely to hear that. We've had quite a difficult week for lots of reasons that I won't bore you with, but this has given us the boost much needed. We're so pleased that you had a lovely evening with us. Thanks, Helen and Rich

Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

What a wonderful experience on our first visit to this gem of a restaurant. Every course was a perfect delight, and the service matched it. After a 9 hour journey to start our holiday, this was the perfect end to the day. Understandably this is...More

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Michael_UK99
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

Sorry for delay in replying but this is a real cracker of a review and very much appreciated by us all. One rather harsh review commented that our desserts were very boring and things that anyone could rustle up and so to hear your praise...More

Reviewed June 24, 2019

We were very fortunate that the start of our walking tour fell on a night when The Old Post Office Bistro was open, and that we were able to get a reservation. The food was outstanding, and the service and presentation were charming. If you're...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Laura S
Helen P, Owner at The Old Post Office Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2019

Reading comments like these make our small team very happy, as good food and good service is what we always want to achieve. Thank you for your kind comments and hope you enjoyed the rest of your walking tour in beautiful Northumberland. Best wishes Helen...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Warkworth House Hotel
567 reviews
.10 miles away
The Hog's Head Inn
655 reviews
4.76 miles away
Eshott Hall
704 reviews
5.80 miles away
The White Swan Hotel
1,294 reviews
5.82 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 10 nearby restaurants
Bertram's
928 reviews
.07 miles away
The Masons Arms
1,446 reviews
.04 miles away
Cabosse
229 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 11 nearby attractions
Warkworth Beach
338 reviews
.72 miles away
Warkworth Castle & Hermitage
1,160 reviews
.15 miles away
Fenwick Gallery
93 reviews
.03 miles away
Warkworth Hermitage
102 reviews
.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
drew308
March 25, 2018|
Answer
Response from Grendo | Reviewed this property |
This "bistro" is open as a B&B seven days a week but only open for dinner on a Fridays and Saturdays. Times are app 6.30pm to 9pm and booking is essential, they are usually always busy and it's not a big place. Have a look... More
1
Vote
jane21399
October 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Helen P | Property representative |
We do not have private parking, however all parking in the village is free without restrictions.
0
Votes
Bartley
September 3, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Christine28may | Reviewed this property |
Hi I don't know as I do not have a dog. Call the owner he's a nice guy.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing