We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Slip Inn Cafe

$$
Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Cafe
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Havelock Marina | H, Havelock, New Zealand
035742345
Website
Today
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Thu 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Fri - Wed 8:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

378 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 369: English reviews
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
243 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We often dine here, the site is great, lovely and warm on a cool day, excellent views out over the marina, great service, and wonderful seafood. Today did not disappoint, we had their revamped seafood platter for two., masses of mussels beautifully steamed (just perfect), smoked salmon slab was just a taste sensation and I really like the way the... More 

Helpful?
Thank twebb21
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First timer to this establishment beautifully located on the marina at Havelock, with gorgeous views to the adjacent Marina and waterway. The premises are attractive, modern and well appointed. Ambience was good - several tables occupied and had a nice buzz - suits business people or well-heeled members of the community (not priced for seekers of a budget dining experience).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Millso111
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Millso111, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at the Slip Inn! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice lunch at Slip Inn. Its a beautiful place with views over the marina. The food was very good but the service very uneven. Our waitress was friendly and helpful but perhaps was busy (though the restaurant was not full). We had to ask where our mains were, then one person's meal failed to arrive and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate H
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Kate H, Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately, we are still working through our new menu ideas, so we are very sorry to hear of your delayed meals. We are certainly looking at every avenue to ensure that this will not happen again, as leaving a special occasion without the utmost enjoyment is... More 

Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arriving late in the afternoon in town, about 2pm hungry and looking for lunch, we were disappointed to find a lot of the more popular venues closed for the day or afternoon. Having driven past this place and ignoring it we noticed it served all through the afternoon and into the night, hungry for mussels we thought let's give it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glentc
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Glentc, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, this is exactly why we created our platters, to be shared and enjoyed whilst showcasing all of our wonderful local produce! Thank you from ALL the crew at Slip Inn - we hope you see you again soon!! More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The atmosphere as usual is relaxed and friendly. We were told there would be a twenty minute delay with the food which was fine. However it was 45 minutes before we got our food. Disappointingly there was no updates from the wait staff as to why the extra delay. I understand a new chef had started that day, but informing... More 

Helpful?
Thank ThePatersons256
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Dear ThePatersons256, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Yes, you are correct that a new chef is on board, along with a new menu as you would of noticed - which I trust you enjoyed? We completely agree in relation to informing customers of how our kitchen is tracking, so will ensure that our staff... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped here for lunch while going somewhere else. Everyone had mussels the best were the mussels in a coconut cream sauce which were very good. This is the heart of the new Zealand mussel industry and the mussels which were cooked perfectly did not disappoint although they could have made the sauces a bit more spicey for my taste.

Helpful?
Thank 13out
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Dear 13Out, Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to our Mussel dishes, we work incredibility hard to showcase this gorgeous Seafood. In relation to the spiciness of the dish, I am sure you understand this is difficult to meet everyone's expectations in relation to heat, however we will take your thoughts on board. We hope to see... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Havlock is supposedly the home of the famous green lip mussels. So it was to Slip Inn to try them. Great location on the banks of the bay and the mussels did not disappoint. I had the 1 kg serve with garlic, white wine and butter and there was loads of garlic. The mussels were big and juicy and delicious.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ozallan
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Ozallan, Thank you very much for your feedback - we work extremely hard to emphasise how amazing our local shellfish can be! We hope to see you again soon! More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

We had mussels, house smoked salmon and a pasta. All 4 dishes were delicious. Food is not expensive. The staff is very friendly and you have a great vue on the harbor. This is really a must go.

Helpful?
Thank babsdelhi2015
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you !!! More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Have had many fantastic lunches at the Slip Inn,it was a perfect drive from Picton and lunch destination,so was soo looking forward to lunch today. Arrived to a new menu,the drinks menu was bigger than the food menu.Dont have an issue with a reduced menu if the food is good. Was looking forward to the open steak sandwich I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynneneilson
Samantha B, Front Office Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Lynne, Thank you for your feedback. We will certainly look into why the fish was so dry. I am a little confused regarding your comment about the fried wedges, but again we will certainly investigate. No we have not changed hands, but we have recently instigated some major changes to focus more on supporting our local suppliers – which... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

We had lunch at slip inn on our way to Blenheim. The service was attentive and we enjoyed the view over the Harbour and watching boats move in and out. My husband had the seafood chowder and this was the best we have ever had. The chowder had a great range of seafood. My mussel fritters were less impressive but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Trish M

Travelers who viewed Slip Inn Cafe also viewed

Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Slip Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $22
Cuisine
Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Delivery, Takeout
Good for
Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Havelock Marina | H, Havelock, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Havelock
  • Phone Number: 035742345
Description
Slip Inn Cafe is the only waterfront cafe in Marlborough. We are renowned for our relaxing cafe atmosphere, stunning views, friendly crew and for our extensive offering of tasty house-made fare, served all day, breakfast, lunch, dinner, pizza, platters and nibbles, many mussel dishes to choose from, gluten and dairy free and vegetarian options and a huge selection of drinks to enjoy featuring many local wines.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Slip Inn Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?