We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owner description: The Palladian Basilica is a public building facing onto the Piazza dei Signori. Its name is linked to Andrea Palladio, who redesigned it, adding the famous loggias with serliana...
moreOwner description: The Palladian Basilica is a public building facing onto the Piazza dei Signori. Its name is linked to Andrea Palladio, who redesigned it, adding the famous loggias with serliana openings in white marble to the existing Gothic building. The building on which Palladio worked was the Palazzo della Ragione, built in Gothic style in the mid-fifteenth century. The upper floor is entirely taken up by an enormous hall with no intermediate supports, where the Council of the Four Hundred met. The copper-lined, inverted ship’s-hull roof was inspired by that of the Palazzo della Ragione in Padua. The Gothic facade was originally clad with diamonds of red and straw yellow Verona marble, which are still visible behind Palladio’s addition. A loggia surrounding the building was commissioned after its completion, but continually delayed due to various structural difficulties and the nature of the ground beneath. At the beginning of the sixteenth century the double order of porticoes and loggias, though not complete, collapsed. The Council called on many leading architects of the time to resolve the difficult problem of its reconstruction. They included Jacopo Sansovino, Sebastiano Serlio and Giulio Romano. The project was awarded to Andrea Palladio (1508-80) in 1549, following a competition, and he worked on it for the rest of his life. It was completed posthumously in 1614. The reconstructed building was called a basilica by Palladio himself, who had been inspired by the model of the Roman basilica for civic use. The building has three independent exhibition spaces that are used to host architecture and art exhibitions of international renown.
Owner description: The Dominican church was built in 1261 to house the relic of the Holy Thorn donated by Louis IX, king of France, to the bishop of Vicenza, the Blessed Bartolomeo da Breganze. The...
moreOwner description: The Dominican church was built in 1261 to house the relic of the Holy Thorn donated by Louis IX, king of France, to the bishop of Vicenza, the Blessed Bartolomeo da Breganze. The Gothic interior, with chancel by Lorenzo da Bologna from the second half of the fifteenth century, houses many important paintings and sculptural works.
These include Giovanni Bellini’s masterpiece “The Baptism of Christ”, in the Garzadori altar, attributed to Rocco da Vicenza, and the “Adoration of the Magi” by Paolo Veronese. There is also a “Madonna of the Stars”, by Lorenzo Veneziano and Marcello Fogolino, a "Magdalen and Saints" by Bartolomeo Montagna and a “Virgin, Child and Saints” by Giambattista Pittoni. The apse is furnished with a fine wooden choir, carved and inlaid by Pier Antonio dell’Abate. The frescoes by Michelino da Besozzo in the Thiene Chapel are among the earliest decorations, dating from the early fifteenth century and offering a mature example of the International Gothic style.
Attraction type: Points of Interest & Landmarks; Churches & Cathedrals
Note: This information was accurate when it was published, but can change without notice. Please be sure to confirm all rates and details directly with the companies in question before planning your trip.