The lighthouse on Lady Elliot Island was built in 1873. Standing at...read more
The lighthouse on Lady Elliot Island was built in 1873. Standing at approximately 17 metres, the white and red lighthouse was pre-fabricated in England and shipped to the island in pieces. It was the first lighthouse in Australia with a timber frame and weatherproof cast iron external cladding. The lighthouse was decommissioned in 1995 when it became too short for the surrounding vegetation and a new solar powered, fully automated tower was built. The original lighthouse was placed on the Commonwealth Heritage List in 2004. The Lady Elliot Island Lightstation Heritage Management Plan was developed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (GBRMPA) in March 2012 to protect, conserve and manage the Commonwealth Heritage values of the Lady Elliot Island lighthouse. Unfortunately, the lighthouse is not open to the public but is often the focus of history and photography buffs. There is a little museum in the adjacent building containing historical information and memorabilia.