We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Food - Picture of Al 43, San Gimignano

Photo: Food

Beautiful setting let down by mediocre food and appalling service
Prachtig decor met zicht op San Gimignano
Oester bedolven onder hazelnoot
Consigliato. Servizio eccellente. Stella meritata.   Piacevolmente sorpresi dal Vino ( una vernaccia della cantina Panizzi riserva 2014).
Stunning view
Consigliato. Servizio eccellente. Stella meritata.   Piacevolmente sorpresi dal Vino ( una vernaccia della cantina Panizzi riserva 2014).

Other Recent Reviews

btoma wrote a review Jul 2019
Bermuda6 contributions12 helpful votes
My worst Michelin experience of 100+. The meals started badly with the way in which staff declined some basic requests including not letting 6 of us order 2 a la carte dishes each even when offered to paY tasting menu price. Worst part of meal was when they over cooked foie gras
Read more
Date of visit: July 2019
Response from LocandadellArtista, Owner at Al 43
Responded Jul 17, 2019
Dear btoma, Thank you for taking the time to write a review here in TripAdvisor. For it is between the bad reviews and the good ones that each potential guest can make their own decisions. We take great pride in our service and food, and take into consideration your criticisms and in fact, in our two years of existence and in the 6 months since being awarded a Michelin star, we have received a small handful or poor reviews and none with such harsh words as yours. Therefore, as the owner, i thought it opportune to sit down with our wonderful staff to discuss the particulars of your evening. Firstly, as you did not make the reservation, but it was made by Mr. Blank, the host of your party, he accepted the terms and conditions of his reservation both clearly stated in the reservation process and again in the confirmation email: Parties of 5 or more guests will choose the same tasting menu. It is not a matter of price, but as our evenings are fully booked, in order to deliver the high quality of service and food that we demand of ourselves, these are the conditions. We are sorry that you were apparently unaware, but your host was. The Foie Gras of which you speak, was personally inspected by Chef Maurizio Bardotti before brought to your table, as he does with every dish. The correct temperature of the fine delicacy was perfectly attained to maintain both its "pinkness", fragrancy and flavour. It was you who asked for it to be returned to the kitchen to be "cooked more"...which the staff humbly did to satisfy your request. By the way, the time between sending it back and it returning to your table was 12 minutes not 40 as you exaggerate. I personally know that our wait staff is exceptional as guests tell us every day, and write in so many reviews, except for yours, crediting them with excellence. That is because they love their job, this restaurant and you our guests. That they did not satisfy you, i am deeply sorry. That they did not apologise to you, i do not quite understand as in our eyes, they had not made a mistake. It is always possible a staff makes mistakes as do all humans at work, but we have other reviews for the same evening all of which are at the highest level and mention our excellent service. I also understand that your party was very unhappy upon arrival that you were not seated on the terrace on an evening where it had rained and had further rain in the forecast. We wish to ensure that our guests experience a perfect evening from beginning to end and for this reason, you were not seated outdoors but in the comfort of our dining room which affords the same marvellous views as the terrace. I appreciate that you have dined in 100+ Michelin starred restaurants but by judging from your other TripAdvisor reviews which i thought pertinent to read to understand you better, you have not awarded any restaurant or accommodation a 5 star rating. I hope that in the years to come, you find restaurants that meet your particular needs as we have tried to do, albeit unsuccessfully. Warmest wishes, Baker Bloodworth
Read more
Been to Al 43? Share your experience!