Archeological Park Castellaccio overlooks Lentini from south. It...read more
Archeological Park Castellaccio overlooks Lentini from south. It extends on two hills, Tirone and Castellaccio. Tirone hill hosts a rocky church, Santa Lucia, and its precious XIII century frescos; during XIV century, queen Eleonora established there Saint Claire Monastery, destroyed by 1693’s earthquake. Going through the itinerary, it’s possible to see a watch corridor, and, in the underlying San Mauro valley, the remains of Greek city wall. A moat, carved in the rock for a depth of 15 meters and a width of 20, separates Tirone and Castellaccio hill. Here raised the Castle of the emperor Frederick II of Swabia, built in 1239 by his architect, Riccardo da Lentini. Lentini was also the birth place of Notaro Jacopo, the inventor of sonnet. The Castle had a very long life: it was damaged and repaired many times, because of its strategic position, even after two terrific earthquakes, in 1542 and in 1693. It is possible to see a section of a wall, still preserving the Lapicidi (masons) marks: sign, cut on every single stone of the wall, saying who has carved it. The Triquetra Arx still stand Castellaccio hill, it is a triangular-shape tower, whose vertexes, according to the legend, where pointed towards the three extremities of Sicily. On the rock, there are some rooms showing the sign of destructions and reconstructions: near one of them, archeologists found the skeleton of a soldier dead in 1693 earthquake. On the top of the hill there is also a little church for the garrison; other sections of wall whit embrasures and “piombatoi”, large and deep cuts in the rock, to throw down stones and hot oil. At the center of the fortress, there is the Sala Ipogea. A steep stairway brings to a rectangular room covered by a barrel vault with pointed arches, lightened by airshaft windows and having no other exits. The use and the meaning of this room are still mysterious.