We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers: Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kristiansten Fortress is an important part of the City of Trondheim's identity, and an area with excellent environmental qualities. Kristiansten Fortress is often used for various cultural events and the city's inhabitants use the area for recreational purposes. On the night of 19 April 1681, Trondheim experienced the biggest and most destructive of many town fires. Afterwards, King Christian V asked Major General Jean Caspar de Cicignon and his chief of staff Quartermaster General Anthony Coucheron to prepare a new plan for the city and its fortification. A completely new network of streets was built, with wide streets in accordance with the Baroque ideal and fortifications around the city centre. The result was a fortress town based on the Continental model, surrounded by fortified ramparts to the south and west, and with two tower fortresses – Munkholmen out on the fjord to the north of the city and Kristiansten, on a hill above the city . Kristiansten was completed in 1684.
The Church of Our Lady in Trondheim was celebrating its 800th anniversary in 2007 on the evidence that the church was mentioned for the first time in written sources dating from 1207. It was restored in 1739, but parts of the thick walls of the Church are obviously much older. The church is always open for prayers, meditation or just a place to spend time.
Trondheim's execution ground in ancient times. Benedictine monks built a monastery on the island very early in the 11th century, probably one of the first two monastries in Scandinavia. In 1658 it was converted into a prison and fortress, later becoming a customs house. Its most famous inmate was the Danish Count Peder Griffenfeld, who spent 18 years as a prisoner there. Today The Monks' Island is a popular recreational area, with a nice beach and a restaurant.
Stiftsgarden, built during 1774- 78 by the ambitious widow and privy counsellor Cecilie Christine Scholler, it is the largest wooden palace in Scandinavia. Guided tours every hour on the hour during summer. NB! Closed during royal visits.